We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in "Old Florida" style & Good Restaurant on the grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing in "Old Florida" style & Good Restaurant on the grounds”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We visited the Port of the Islands Resort during the first week of June. I was pleasantly surprised by the appearance of the resort as we drove in. It is located right before you hit the Florida Everglades preserve area. I loved the red clay tile roofs against the pale yellow buildings. There are multiple buildings on the grounds which is wonderful because it is not overly crowded and a very relaxed atmosphere. There are the most beautiful palm trees and plantings that remind one of how Florida used to be. I loved the very clean pool and it also was surrounded by beautiful trees and blooming shrubs. I found the entire grounds to be very clean and well kept.

My room was lovely and looked like it was recently updated. Included was a clean jacuzzi tub with a large shower that always delivered hot water at full stream. Hardwood floors and a what looked like brand new mini kitchen and bar area. The room was larger than most hotels and suited for 2 people. The good size flat screen TV swiveled so that it could be seen from the sitting area or in bed.

We ate every night in the restaurant that is located in the main building of the resort. It was great to not have to drive anywhere to eat or have drinks. It was just a short walk from our room. The menu had a nice variety of food including crab cakes, ribs, steak, chicken, fish and specials. We really felt at home in the bar area of the restaurant and ate there instead of the large dining room. My only complaint was the acoustics were bad and forget about intimate talking (lol). Fun was had by all on the one night they had a singer with guitar that got folks up to hand dance including a cool dude with an "Old Men Rule" shirt on! The party was over by 9pm which is appropriate for this style of resort. As I mentioned - relaxing!

I saw all ages enjoying themselves at the resort including romantic couples and families. There is plenty to do including the everglades adventures which can be booked in the resort and leaves from the marina - just steps away. The area was a great place to visit - Marco Island, Naples and Everglades City. This is not on a beach but you can drive to the Marco Island beaches in 10 minutes.

The rates were reasonable and the resort was clean and quiet. People were friendly but there was plenty of privacy. If you are one who likes to have their adventures during the day and relax at night you will like this resort. If you like a safe, relaxing place to stay - this is it!

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor of one of the buildings - not in main building. It was steps away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeepRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear KeepRocks,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Resort and for taking the time to give us your review. I'm extremely pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. We truly do strive exceed expectations and give each guest a special experience. I'm very happy to know that we could do that for you. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    176
    70
    33
    41
See reviews for
112
214
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed in. We stayed in a cottage which was very clean and had a small kitchen. The bathroom has a big shower. The pool is big for a hotel and has nice greenery all around, the grounds are kept very clean. The staff was friendly. If you want to get away from it all and just relax this is the place. It is sort of in the middle of now where but Marco Island is a short drive away. I would recommend this place too anyone. We rented kayaks from Capt Joe who has kayaks in the marina and went on an informative tour.

Room Tip: Get a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonBlack65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we were a little worried about this resort, but decided to give it a try. Very happy we did! We arrived on a Saturday night at about 9:00pm. There was a lady working the desk who was very polite and helpful. We stayed in a little cottage room by the pool. The room was very clean with a mini stove, microwave, and refrigerator. The water pressure in the shower wasn't bad at all. The porch area in front of our room was big enough to store 2 paddle boards and 2 bikes. The resort is very quite and we didn't have any problems leaving our boards and bikes on the front porch. The canal out to the ten thousand islands was filled with marine life. We saw manatees and dolphins everywhere. The area is absolutely beautiful and a short drive to Marco Island and downtown Naples. There isn't much directly around the resort. We stopped by a Publix (15 - 20 mins away) after checking in to have food and drinks to snack on and for breakfast. Breakfast isn't served till 8:30 which is a little late for those of us who like to wake up early and get out on the water. The social room is nice at night or if it's raining with a large TV and a couple of pool tables.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are spacious and have a nice screened in porch. They also have a mini kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southfloridapaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear SouthFloridaPaddle,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort. I'm very happy to hear that your check-in was pleasant and that you enjoyed your well equipped room. Our hotel is special, we are located in the Everglades and as you know has easy access to the 10,000 Islands which is a wildlife wonderland. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived after dark for a one-night stay to discover that everything was alive and well: Receptionist on duty, restaurant/bar open and lively, etc. Obviously, management has been listening to reviewers about complicated entry at night and no services. Our room was on the second floor of the main lodge building. It was surprisingly well appointed, clean, and quiet. I would have liked to have screen doors on the french doors leading to the commonly-shared balcony so we could listen to the night sounds and catch some of the cooling breezes. But the air conditioning and fans worked perfectly, as did the big flat screen TV and fast internet. Comfortable bed. The shower was disappointing--really low water pressure on hot. Looking around the common areas of the lodge in the morning, I could see that some maintenance was required such as the main stairway carpet needed cleaning and things needed a general spiffing up. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night, nor did we have breakfast, so I can't comment on the food/service. I do think breakfast should be available much earlier than 8:00 a.m. We had a great night's sleep and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. But the property has amazing potential which may not have yet been realized. More work to do here!

Room Tip: The main lodge has rooms on the second floor with no elevator. Book elsewhere on the property if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Wahzah,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Port of the Islands Resort & Marina. I'm excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable and relaxing. We do listen to all our guest's comments and take action to improve our services. We are happy to know that our recent changes have been making a big difference. Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your review.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely entrance hall with high ceilings and large fireplace. The room was the smallest of the 4 hotel rooms we stayed in Florida but okay for the 4 of us. Lovely pool. Enjoyed the snooker/pool room and card tables. Fitness room was basic but okay. Peaceful location on the marina and good for the drive to Marco Island/Naples. Tried to reduce hotel washing but cleaners took our pool towels each day and we had to get new ones from reception. Some reception staff were really helpful and friendly and others .... The real selling point was the restaurant with incredibly friendly staff and a great quality and priced menu, went there both nights as we were looked after so well. If I were to suggest improvements, it would be for there to be spare pillows in each room - 1 per person isn't always enough, to remove the large piece of furniture holding the TV to make more space, put in a full length mirror and find an easier way to track down reception staff when they aren't in the office. Good basic hotel, would consider it again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have a door to the outside veranda which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Can not believe we could not check in as reception lady sitting outside eating & she told sharply she was on her break.Went & had a lovely meal in the restaurant [not owned by hotel so the food & service was great] until it suited her to check us in. We did not get the room we booked so I tried to explain this at reception but she could not have cared less. I asked for the manager but he was not available,she had no phone number for him as he didn't like being disturbed at the weekend.!!This was not a cheap room & I've had better customer service from Motel 6 !!! The room had many maintainance issues............. broken towel rack, really noisy air con,tape over a light switch. The room was dirty,cobwebs hanging from ceiling & staircase needed a serious clean. Such a shame as I'm sure the hotel was once lovely ................... now just a run down old place with rude untrained staff. Will say though the lovely lady I spoke to the next morning was great & really apologetic I will never stay here again & would advise other people to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwigypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Kiwigypsey,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. All guest feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve our property and services. I apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. You should not of had to wait to check-in and I'll be looking into the situation. Thank you again and we do hope to give you a better experience next time.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I am surprised that this Resort did not rank higher in Tripadvisor, for it is a first class facility. Great pool area, bar-b-ques, and birds galore. It's also a perfect spot to commence an Everglades adventure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelWL22GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStream-Management, General Manager at Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear MichaelWL22GS,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Port of the Islands Resort. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be beautiful and well taken care of. You said it perfectly, we are the perfect place to stay if you are looking to explore the Everglades. We are surrounded by trails, a multitude of tours and have direct access to the 10,000 Island for world class fishing. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Locke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
Moorings
Best Western Naples Inn & Suites
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#19 of 59 in Naples
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
625 reviews
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort

Property: Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
Address: 25000 Tamiami Trl E, Naples, FL 34114-9602
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Port of the Islands, we provide guests with amenities to ensure a comfortable experience. With a heated outdoor swimming pool, charcoal grills and a chickee hut for scenic picnics, an ample fitness center, a game room with poker and pool tables, and a marina, guests have the opportunity to engage in a wide range of exciting activities. The full service marina and ship store located at Port of the Islands features a boat launch ramp, live bait, fishing equipment, as well as limited snacks, drinks and sundries for a day on the water. Guests can also enjoy the food, drinks, and even karaoke at our on property restaurant, Angler's Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Of The Islands Resort And Marina Hotel Naples
Port Of The Islands Everglades Adventure Resort Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing