We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for a Golf Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Resort for a Golf Getaway”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have taken several trips to the Ritz to play golf. An excellent resort for 2-4 nights, you really never need to leave the resort. If you are planning a longer stay, you might want someplace with a more central location. The service is great and the restaurants are very good. After a day of golf, enjoy exceptional appetizers in the lobby bar or by the fire pit outside. The golf course is in excellent shape, although you may enjoy some of the reciprocal courses even more. The only negative was the bed we had was much too soft for our liking. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjr926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    379
    147
    53
    26
See reviews for
521
658
35
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband & I live locally and visit this Ritz often for lunch, dinner or occasional overnight stays. We were excited for the big renovation this year that would improve the rooms and restaurants. The renovation was a complete success - the hotel is more gorgeous than ever! But, we can't figure out what happened to the service during this time?

After staying at several luxury hotels (St. Regis, Mandarin Oriental, Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay and Ritz-Carlton Sarasota to name a few) within the last 3-4 months, I swear each resort seems to just keep topping the previous in the service department. Like many Ritz customers, my expectation for service is high and Ritz normally realizes it's all in the details. I am really sad to say that this experience was WAY off from what we're used to.

This experience may not be the norm (I hope not!) but I wished someone would have warned me, so here goes...

Let me first give compliments to those who provided great service - the check-in staff, the valet, John at The Grill and Bob at Gumbo Limbo.

It was the service at the pool, Terrazza and the spa that we were unhappy with (which was 50% of the places we visited!)

Pool: Server continually walked by without acknowledging us even after I flagged him down. Another couple he was serving finally had to point out to him that we'd been trying to get drinks for a while.

Terrazza: Honestly, they should be embarrassed by how bad the service is here. We had lunch here on Saturday. We were one of the only tables at the time and I think we saw our waitress twice in over an hour. Got a mimosa instead of a bellini (even though I asked three times if they had bellinis), then drinks sat empty, bread came AFTER the meal and took forever for the check. We tried again on Sunday for breakfast and it was even worse. Sat at a table for almost 10 minutes with no server. Had to go to the host stand to ask for help. And so it continued...

Spa: Asked to book appt for 3:30pm and was given a frustrated explanation of how she "would have to move things around to make that happen". A simple "we're booked at 3:30pm" would have been much more professional than accommodating me, but making me feel guilty about it! More importantly, I booked the 90-minute Gingerbread Mani/Pedi, but was only given a 60-minute Express Mani/Pedi AND they tried to charge me for the former at spa check-out.

In all my years of coming here, we've never experienced anything like this. I really hope this was a one-time incident, but honestly, we're not in any hurry to go back to find out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a conference at the hotel. Had heard mixed reviews but I was pleasantly surprised by everything. The staff was beyond warm and welcoming. We had 2 rooms reserved. Both rooms were sparklingly newly renovated, spacious, well appointed and offered nice views. The pool/beach areas were great. The outdoor area where our conference's welcome party was held was lovely and the food great. Went to Dusk, their late night sushi bar afterwards for some snacks which we enjoyed. The conference space was beautiful. I was looking directly at the gulf all day. And the lunch was excellent. I'd go back again, even without a business excuse, anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooMuchIsNeverEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Living here locally in Naples, Florida with the Ritz on the beach being a major center piece of this community, thought It would be cool to stay here for a weekend after its highly touted renovations.

Bottom line, highly disappointed. For $599 plus tax per night, the "funeral parlor" atmosphere of the main lobby remains. So very dark and sullen. Guest room hallways have surely been brightened and indeed sport soft lighter colors, the rooms themselves, are well strange to describe. Very avant garde , don't know how to describe, surely not tropical nor traditional either. Disappointed too know separate stall shower from the bath tub.

Food and beverage extremely expensive. A simple burger was $19.00, surely the highest in Florida. Buffet breakfast for my 4 and 5 yr old grandchildren was $26.00 each!

The pool area is "ok" surely nothing to write home about. Self parking which was previously available no longer is and a pretty hefty charge is made for valet.

Stayed at numerous other Ritz Carlton's across Florida from Amelia Island to Sarasota to Fort Lauderdale to South Beach to Key Biscayne and this Naples on the beach resort even in its freshened state in my opinion is the least desirable while commanding room rates higher than any of them.

Once is enough, no more for me!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steelmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I loved all (3) Ritz Carlton hotels I have stayed in but the service at the Ritz Carlton, Naples definitely surpasses the others! The grounds and building are impeccably maintained and the rooms are large and very nicely furnished. I liked the fact that there are two pools, one for families and a lap pool that is quieter. I loved everything about this hotel, especially the wonderful, friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Following retirement from my longtime job, I recently spent a week at this newly renovated hotel with my wife on a second honeymoon. I knew something about this hotel having stayed at the Naples RC Golf Resort in the summer of 2012 whence we had visited this RC beach hotel daily for 10 days in a row (and had a great time using their facilities with the family.) In any event, staying at the hotel with just my wife was a delight. Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived, got a wonderful welcome, and an immediate upgrade. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the renovated room was quite large, very modern, light, and airy. It was not remotely "traditional" as I had been expecting. The huge king bed was fantastic--must have cost a fortune. The special ASPREY soaps and shampoo were a treat. This is a glorious place to be if you want to be attended to and also (very much) be by the sea and on the beach. My wife and I rose at dawn daily for a one hour walk at sunrise on the beach with egrets, herons, stingrays, and even dolphins (yes!). This was followed by a superb breakfast buffet and then 12 more hours of glorious hotel, cafe, pool, beach, and bar amenities and service. The staff are well trained and never far away. Plus the hotel shops have some very stylish clothing and beachwear as well as jewellery and other merchandise, and warrant an exploration at a minimum. The only time we left the hotel grounds was to take the free RC shuttle bus to the gorgeous RC Golf Resort a few miles away! It's just the holiday I was dying to have. This may be hard to top. Rooms are extremely expensive, granted, but the hotel is unique and very lovely, with immense and very tastefully decorated public areas. Snacks, meals, drinks, etc. are generally reasonably priced. So although it costs $700 a night for a room, you can get lunch by the pool for $15-20 a person. I've started saving after this visit and already reserved for 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have stayed their a lot for work and play. First time since 45million dollar remodal. They could have spent 100 million. Suites have tub showers. 2000$ a night and tub showers "are u kidding" Very loud halls and workers are not that nice. Best beach but it was under constuction. They never mentioned it before i made the reservation. Loud at 7am. You are better off staying at the golf and using the beach or staying somewhere else. Too bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
894 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,542 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,459 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#4 of 59 in Naples
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#5 Spa Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing