We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff and property. Would not return with an infant or toddler.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and property. Would not return with an infant or toddler.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am potentially helping all of the adult only travelers right now who don't want to vacation around infants. Full disclosure with this review, some of what I learned on vacation is from my own inexperience traveling with a child and from my lack of real research into what the hotel or location would have to offer for a one-year-old. Overall the Ritz is of course the Ritz--beautiful and grand and service-oriented.

We returned from a 4 night stay this past week. As so many have stated, the staff at the Ritz cannot be surpassed--we were treated with the utmost kindness and respect. The staff also showed sincere interest and affection for our child. Never once were we made to feel out of place. The beach was really calm and pretty, and easily accessible from the hotel. We ate at Terrazza for breakfast daily and ordered great food from the menu; we were greeted daily by Miranda who went out of her way to accomodate us and our baby. We had continued great experiences at the Sandbar with bartenders Ken and Natalya. All food was good. We did not get to eat at the lobby bar, H20, or "Dusk" so I can't comment on those locations.

We came to the Ritz because of its reputation for being extremely family friendly. My regret is not looking into what we could do with an infant. My reason for 4 stars: There is a kid's club area that every staff member told us to check out, (Nature's center I think) but it is closed during the day so that only older children can attend pre-paid programs--they offer one hour as an open house for anybody but it is from 4:30-5:30 pm which is a terrible time at least for our child who is napping or eating during that hour. There is no other play room, playground, or play area where we could take our younger child. There is a playground about a mile up Vanderbilt Beach Rd that we drove to one day.

Also the room we had, while really pretty, was a small room. We did have an ocean front which was really nice especially when were grounded in the room. I had the desk moved over slightly and had 2 chairs removed so we could put the crib in the corner and have some space otherwise. Another reviewer had mentioned there is only one sink in the bathroom--normally this wouldn't be an issue, and it wasn't major, but we were sharing our small bathroom counter and sink to make a half of it a bottle cleaning station. My spouse and I took turns--while the baby napped one of us would sit on the balcony (morning only--too hot in the afternoon) while the other would hang on the beach. I think a suite or club level would be more ideal so you could have your child in a separate room and still relax, but these are of course more expensive.

Finally, I thought Naples was pretty--but not immediately convenient for exploration. We drove to the 5th/3rd street area each night after our baby went to bed (don't worry we had an awesome sitter) and we had a great time sitting and walking--but for anyone who doesn't realize, it is about a 15 minute drive and what I imagine would be an expensive taxi. I loved dinner at Sea Salt and wish I had

So lessons learned--a beautiful hotel with great service--would be great for couples or ladies weekend particularly if you want to beach and relax and maybe go out one night. May also be good if my child was older and could take advantage of the kids club during the days. Please feel free to message me if you have any specific questions about traveling with an infant.

Room Tip: Ocean front was really nice Don't recommend small rooms for an infant or toddler
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    361
    136
    50
    24
See reviews for
494
621
34
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ORLANDO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel set the standards for excellence. They have just completed a renovation that is amazing. Everything is exceptionally beautiful and the customer service is outstanding. This is the best example of perfection.

Room Tip: Rooms with a gulf view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This property is immaculate, it's beautiful and the staff is fantastic. We had a wonderful weekend, the staff went above and beyond to create a wonderful Mother's Day. My mom truly enjoyed herself. The rooms are great, the food is fantastic, a little pricey but you get a lot of food for your money and it was delicious. They honored a late check out and we were able to enjoy the beach and pool before we departed. After we left the property in good spirits, I checked my bank account and they had overcharged me three times so I called and they told me there is a $200 incidental placed for EACH person in the room. The front desk clerk did not tell us this. I know it's the Ritz and it's known for being very upscale and expensive but that is the dumbest thing I've ever heard. It was a whole mess and they had to call my bank to return my funds. Highly inconvienent since I was traveling, the only thing they did was comp our valet. Other than that mishap, it was a great weekend!

Room Tip: Get a pool and ocean view room! awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Plan to stay at the hotel. There is very little to do outside of the hotel complex. You can plan a relaxing stay, never leave the grounds and never get bored. The Concierge Level rooms are the best value. If you don't get any spa treatments, at least, pay for the spa access so that you can enjoy the uncrowded pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctravelerq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just came back from a long weekend at the Naples Ritz and it was perfect in just about every way. We have two small children (under 4) and we were treated so well and accommodated in every way. My only complaint is that the pool was closed for 8 hours on Saturday due to a child not making it to the bathroom on time. I would have expected free drinks or something else to make up for this happening on a holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it for the breathtaking sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scari_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is one of our favorite Ritz Carlton properties. It continues to offer great service, elegance and sophistication with a very relaxed beach attitude. Not pretentious at all like other properties and wonderful for families. The hotel seemed to have a renovation done recently which was very tasteful and casual yet sophisticated. We love the pool area and the beach and find this property very relaxing and welcoming. The service in this hotel is excellent and is more than up to RC standards. The food in all the restaurants is top quality and not over the top expensive. The only feedback on this I would add is the menu at Gumbo Limbo used to be a little more interesting than it is now. Overall, a great property and one that we will definitely return to soon. Oh and our daughter loves the little snack and ice cream store off the lobby which always has great treats for a kid's sweet tooth or coffee for the adults. We really enjoyed staying at this resort again and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restefania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed here almost every year for ten years and the hotel is going down hill. The service was terrible. We checked in at 130pm and they told us our room was not ready and they would call us on our cell phone when it was, well by 530 when I I was still outside at the pool waiting to get my room I called the front desk and the lady was not sure why we had no room, she gave us a room and then we had to wait AGAIN for our bags even though I was told they were being sent up, I had to call the bell desk and request them. The best thing of all was my 400 massage I booked a 50 full body and a 50 min scalp massage and the therapist gave me a mediocre massage in which he cut my time short by 15mins, then when I got up to the front desk to pay they had already included a 22percent gratuity for this therapist who did not deserve that amount of tip which equalled 400 dollars he was given over 90 dollar tip! I will not be back and I agree the place is overpriced for the level of service . All the beds are old with load of toppers that make you feel like your feet are higher then your head. Food is mediocre. The renovation they did is below average! The original hotel was rich and elegant and now they put cheap furniture and painted all the rooms light blue, it looks like a holiday inn. Then I remembered last year when I was there staying on the club level they put us by maids service closet and we were woken up all hours of the night and at 500 am when the service people started setting up breakfast. I vowed I would not be back last year so this year was it for me! Never again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kpoukosdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRitzCarltonNaples, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Naples, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for being a loyal Ritz-Carlton, Naples guest and taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the resort. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience that you outlined in your TripAdvisor review. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service and facilities for our guests and learning that your overall visit did not meet your expectations is truly disappointing. I will share your comments with our Ladies and Gentlemen to make sure they are not repeated.

Once again, I apologize for this unfortunate experience and truly hope that we will have the opportunity welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jon McGaunn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Pelican Bay
#1 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing