We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort But Unnecessary Nickel-and-Diming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
397 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort But Unnecessary Nickel-and-Diming”
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Having had several pleasant stays here over the past decade, I was disappointed to find a lack of sensitivity to customer relations, particularly in this economy when luxury hotels should be glad of the business. My group of six friends visited for a tennis and sun getaway and had a nice time overall. However, when one is paying over $500 per night per room, it is annoying to be nickeled and dimed for things that cost the hotel nothing.

First: trouble with late checkout. We had scheduled tennis lessons with the hotel's pros from ten o'clock to noon on two consecutive days, including our checkout day. Because the standard checkout time is noon and we had hoped to spend some of the afternoon by the pool and then shower, change and get ready for our evening flight, as soon as we arrived at the hotel, we asked for a late checkout of 4 p.m. (which I have never had a problem getting at other Ritz hotels). We were told that a 4 p.m. checkout would incur a charge for an extra night. We then asked if we could have a 2 p.m. checkout instead, and the response was that we would be charged for an additional half-day for the privilege of having the room for two hours beyond the noon checkout. All the hotel would agree to was a one-hour extension of our checkout time, until 1 p.m. Later one of our group returned and spoke to the manager, who conceded to a late checkout of 2 p.m. She was told that the hotel would be nearly filled with incoming guests on Sunday. As it turned out, when we left the hotel at 5:30 p.m. on Sunday, the entire place was empty. Why, then, was the hotel to so rigid in refusing to allow us a 4 p.m. checkout?

Our second complaint was the shower fee. The hotel's gym is on the ground floor of the spa building. The only showers in the building are on the spa level, inside an area containing a locker room as well as a whirlpool, sauna, steam room and lounge. Because we would be leaving the hotel late Sunday afternoon and the late checkout had become difficult, we concluded that we could shower in the spa building (since we would no longer have our rooms) after spending some time by the pool. However, we learned that the hotel policy is that the spa showers and locker room may only be used by guests who purchase a spa service; those who do not purchase a spa service must pay $35 per person to use the showers. This struck us as ridiculous. (By the way, we had spent nearly $400 per day on hotel tennis fees.) Luckily, our group member who managed to get us an extra hour for late checkout was able to get "day passes" from management permitting us to use the spa showers -- one pass issued to each of the three hotel rooms, entitling two guests per room to use the showers. Did this go smoothly? NO. When we arrived at the spa, the spa receptionist said that each pass was only good for ONE person, not two. After some polite argument, we were able to convince her that the three passes had been intended to cover all six of us. We took our showers, but the experience was unpleasant and stressful, for no good reason.

Finally, the restricted pool area. One-third of the poolside area around the "quiet pool" (adults only) is a cabana area available only to guests who pay the $495 daily cabana fee. The daily cabana fee includes lunch for four, massages for two, beverages, and some other services. The cabanas are set back on a raised terrace; down on the lower deck area along the pool's edge are about a dozen of the same sun lounges that surround the rest of the pool. When we got to the pool at about 2 p.m., all of the chairs were taken, except for those in the cabana area, which was completely deserted. We asked the pool manager whether we could just sit on the sun lounges as no other chairs were available. Of course, the answer was "no", though no one at all was using the cabana area -- it just remained empty. They did eventually bring some chairs from another area and jam them into a corner next to the building, so at least we had a place to sit. There was no effort to make us feel welcome, or try to work out a solution that made us glad to be spending money with them.

While it is true that each of these complaints is small in itself, when added together, they made us feel that the level of customer service was not what it should be. In an economy when many are thinking more carefully about where to spend their vacation dollars, this Ritz should be more attuned to its customers and how they feel they are being treated. All we want is to be appreciated as guests. Are you listening, Ritz Naples?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    360
    136
    50
    24
See reviews for
494
621
34
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Just returned from this hotel after a three night stay. This is a lovely property with beautiful rooms and exceptional service. The staff seemed to be genuinely nice and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. (Unfortunately, they could not control the weather but I'm certain they would have tried.) Yes, it is pricey but we truly felt we were at a 5 star property. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington,NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed the week after Easter. Booked the cheapest room but upon arrival was upgraded to an oceanfont room. Beach is nice. Water was warm enough to swim. Ritz charges $25 a day plus tip to sit in a beach chair. Pools are nice. Tennis courts are great. There are a # of restaurants on site but the best is the sushi bar. Flew into Fort Myers (RSW) which is $60 cab ride, each way, to the hotel. Very relaxing, we never left the hotel. Rooms are elegant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I just came back from a fantastic vacation at The Ritz Carlton Naples beach resort. From the valet to every staff member, the most meticulous of details were met. I highly recommend their new restaurant called "Bites" located in the lobby. The tapas menu was SUPERB, as were the cocktails. You must try all the tapas on the menu. Service by the international staff was formal, friendly and attentive, as expected. A must-stay on any trip to Naples.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisvilleSuze
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz for our 1 year anniversary the first week of June. This was an ideal time to be there, because it was not crowded at all. There were always open chairs by the pool and plenty of beach space. We were very happy with the hotel ammenities and restaurants. In fact, we only left the resort once, to visit the Turtle Bay restaurant about a block away (we recommend that restaurant too). The staff at the Ritz were always on point, and we were wished a happy anniversary by practically everyone on our first day there!
The main drawback was that the hotel is not very close to the Ft. Meyers airport. The hotel does not offer a shuttle so you either have to take a taxi or car service to/from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The Ritz Carlton Naples is now one of our favorite destinations! The service, food and accomodations were great and the staff was very accomodating to our 15 month old daughter. The hotel is very family friendly but didn't feel like it was crawling with kids. The Grill (and 1/2 price wine on Sunday) was fantastic. The Terrace was good for breakfast but we didn't have any other meals there. The pool restaurant had a wide menu selection and the attendants were attentive. Golf at Tiburon was great, as was the spa. We took advantage of the Reconnect Package and the $100 credit per day and breakfast for 2 made us feel like we got a pretty good deal. We went with a Coastal View room and couldn't have been happier - we had a fantastic view of the ocean. The hotel is good for a couples getaway, as well as a family one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, N.J.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a quick two-night get-away from the cold weather. I have to say that this is possibly one of the nicest hotel stays I've ever had. The location is great, the rooms are pretty, up-dated and very clean, and there is nothing they have not thought of to make your stay comfortable. But what impressed me the most was the level of service throughout the hotel. Whether you were checking-in, having your room cleaned, dining at a restaurant or by the pool, there was nothing they wouldn't do for you. They seemed to have double the amount of people serving you, pleasantly and politely, as any other hotel.

We also ate at The Grill, and the food was wonderful, the wine superb, and again the service was impeccable. The Terrace was great for breakfast, the pool-side lunch was fantastic, but I wouldn't recommend the island-themed restaurant by the beach. It was very noisy.


Is it expensive? Yes. But they don't nickel and dime you for everything either, so you don't have an additional hundred dollars on your bill at the end of the day. Overall, great value for your money!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhfsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
819 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,410 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Pelican Bay
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,203 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Naples

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Address: 280 Vanderbilt Beach Road, Naples, FL 34108-2371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#4 Family Hotel in Naples
#5 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Naples 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the pristine white sands of Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast, The Ritz-Carlton, Naples is a Five Star, Four Diamond beach resort that appeals to today’s sophisticated traveler with an array of pampering amenities. With stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico, the resort offers a variety of innovative dining experiences, a luxurious, 51,000 square-foot world class spa, two heated pools, a high tech entertainment lounge, an interactive environmental children’s program and a wide selection of beach activities and water sports. Only three miles from the beach resort and accessible by a convenient hotel shuttle, the 295-room Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort is ranked as the #1 golf resort in Florida by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and as one of the 15 best luxury golf resorts in North America by Golf Digest. The golf resort is home to a pair of 18-hole signature Greg Norman golf courses at Tiburon and hosts the annual PGA TOUR Franklin Templeton Shootout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Ritz Carlton
Ritz Naples
Ritz-Carlton Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing