We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I just returned from my second stay here at VBR and it was great. I was happy to see that the bathrooms were updated and they looked great. The water pressure was much better than last year. They are working on the outside to support the balconies and spruce up the appearance of the exterior. I'm hoping by next year that will be complete and then a new coat of paint. The beach is the best and you have to love Gulf Shore Drive. You are surrounded by multi-million dollar property at this resort at an affordable price. You can't beat this location. If you don't stay here then at least go by and check it out, maybe then you'll make it your next choice when you return to Naples.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1234SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Thought i would share my letter to the hotel after departure.

Dear George "Asst General Manager",
This is waaay overdue, but wanted to send you a big compliment on your great property.

We absolutely loved our stay, it was like 7 perfect chamber of commerce days in florida!!! My husband was close to golf, i could play tennis easily, and renting bikes was super easy! This was perfect as we had one car to share.. so when he took it, my 5 year old and me had loads of things to do...
I loved the beach area and the staff at the beach desk, very cheerful positive guys. Maria our housekeeper was very polite and quick. We loved our room, and it was SO easy with a 5 year old, pool, beach .. just a perfect room with a separate space to put her to sleep early. We also loved the pizza place around the corner and had a blast fishing off the dock by the tennis court, caught a catfish! As well as renting a pontoon from the little marina behind the lighthouse.

We also very much appreciated twice getting outside seating at the turtle club for dinner, it was nice that they save a couple spots for resort guests! Just wanted to say thank you and we WILL be back!
Jocelyn R

Room Tip: we chose a room on the beach side, we preferred being able to walk out the door to the beach and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palmjzarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Loved it here! Stayed in May 2012 and it was awesome! Everyone is friendly and the little coupons they gave us really saved us some money. The restaurant there is a must. I also recommend going on the Ferry boat ride. You will see a lot of dolphins and sunset. The restaurant across the street is also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanieg0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We just returned from three nights at the VBR. Our one bedroom gulfside apartment was in great shape with new tile floors and an updated bathroom. Cabana service was very attentive. The Turtle Club has always been a family favorite and we had dinner there twice and lunch once. If there was any downside to our visit, it was that we had no incentive to leave as we had stocked up on provisions at the nearby Trader Joe's before checking in.

Room Tip: No reason to spend extra on view if in the main gulfside building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim_POrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Great location and resort hotel and condo side facing the bay!! Resort provides chairs for the beach and restaurant indite has good food! Great location not too over populated romantic as well as great for families too!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had booked 2 ocean/gulf view rooms.
Confirmed the above the night before and was told all was right in the universe.
Upon arrival we were told that our booking was non existent
They stated we could have one of the dual room condo units facing the canal with no price reduction that is the best they could do . The room is shabby to say the least run down is more like it. The front door lock didn't work properly. The furniture was abused, Couches ugly and worn, bathrooms dated and just plain yuck. Kitchen worn terribly. This place reminds me of the rental duplexes in northeast Philadelphia which is lower income area in Philly.
The only thing I was impressed with so far has been the valet probably want to get you separated from your vehicle before you realize how crappy this place is and this is after being here for only 30 min.
Now I'm not on the snobbish side I've been in the army and eaten MREs in the dirt also camped with the boy scouts as a scout leader and work as a fire fighter so I've lived on the rougher side.
I will post up again in 24 hrs to up date

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanderbiltbeach, Owner at Vanderbilt Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

We were surprised and disappointed by this review. We have no record of this guest staying with us and management was never notified by this guest of the problems described in this review. We are committed to maintaining and improving our property for the enjoyment of all of our guests. In the Spring we replaced all of the carpets in the living areas of our condominium units with new tile, and in September we just concluded a renovation of our hotel bathroom units. We also completed a complete redecoration of our beachfront restaurant in September. While we understand that tastes can differ, the suggestion that our property is somehow "low rent" and that we provide poor service is simply not an accurate description of our values or of the experience that we provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had a nice time at this resort.Unit was nice,updated and everyone was very friendly.The pool and hot tub were great.A few little complaints but nothing major.Will come back to stay again just because of the great view and amenities.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank jandbtangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
936 reviews
North Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Pelican Bay
#4 of 59 in Naples
1,348 reviews
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanderbilt Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanderbilt Beach Resort

Address: 9225 Gulf Shore Dr, Naples, FL 34108-2098
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
#24 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £150 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vanderbilt Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Beach Resort has been welcoming guests and their families for over 50 years. Our pristine beachfront location provides a tranquil escape from modern worries. Wake up to the gentle sounds of the Gulf of Mexico in our beachside one-room efficiencies, one bedroom apartments or waterfront condominiums that overlook the Vanderbilt Lagoon. End the day with dinner at our award-winning Turtle Club Restaurant or watch the sun set over the Gulf without ever leaving the Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Vanderbilt Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Beach Hotel Naples
Vanderbilt Beach Resort Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing