We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanderbilt Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bayfront Inn 5th Ave(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Fifth(Naples)
US$462
US$283
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Central Naples(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$108
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$594
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
171
51
10
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
51
10
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle club restaurantbeach boxvanderbilt beachcondo unitgulf sidejunior suitepaddle boardsfull kitchenbeautiful beachsmall hotelfront rowthe ritzwatching the sunsetflorida vacationfront officesmall kitchenlonger stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent 2 nights in room 13. We had an angle view of the gulf. What I mean by "angle view", is that the room is situated, where the couch, etc. are pointed towards the TV. You have to maneuver around to see the gulf, thru windows. Other gulf front hotels, you have sliding glass doors, that allow full views of the gulf. It's not a criticism -- it was nagging at me, when I was in the room, that for the best views, you have to go outside. I liked that I did not have anyone above me. Nothing is worse, than someone flushing over your head, talking thru doors, or clunking around. It was very quiet. The A/C is central, which is another plus. The kitchenette was functional, although, you can only make a cup of coffee. To get more, you had to go to the registration area at 8am. The pool area was smaller, but nice.
We liked going down to the concession for new towels, chairs and umbrella. The customer service was excellent. Everyone was helpful. I rented a SUP for $25./hr. Saw some dolphin.
In Naples, you are in the historic area, marina or on the beach. About a 25 min ride from the hotel to the marina area.

Room Tip: Room 13 - on the second floor; gulf view; central A/C. Top floor. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitebirdofparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have been visiting this same hotel for 25 years. If you're looking for quaint and charming beach atmosphere this is it. It's the only smaller hotel still on Vanderbilt Beach and still under the same family ownership, third generation. Many of the guests are now second and third generation. The restaurant on the property is four star; you can have dinner and watch the sunset. The landscaping is very island like so you feel like you're in your own little oasis. I typically go each February/March and it's welcomed after experiencing Minnesota winters. This hotel only has 30-40 rooms on the beach side so reserve early. They do have a condo unit across the street which is great for families.

Room Tip: Due to the age of the property there is no elevator so if you need accessibility specifically ask for first floor. Don't wait till the last minute to make reservations during high season because many of the guests are repeat guests and they've guaranteed reservations months earlier.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cashmn1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Staff was awesome but leave at 1000pm. Our room was very nicely furnished and updated but the ceilings were popcorn the walls beat up and the doors really gross ala bad early 70s. And mildew and dust smelll Which was such a contrast it was weird. Def an old motel with outside doors and concrete. Pool small and shaded but clean. Saw a rat on wall but that happens on beach property. Restaurant on beach was convenient and pretty good with friendly service. The beach is next to the public area so we were right next to iPod
Boom box with our chair and the other hotels had literally no people!this was pretty expensive place. Same as ritz but the advantage was 2 bed/2bath -which was why we stayed there. Valet guys were great. No fitness center but have a tennis court. Overall nice service but you just can't make a motel truly a Naples beach resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My family and I stayed at The Vanderbilt Beach Resort in May 2013. This was our third visit here and have enjoyed it every time. The first two times we stayed, our condo was updated and lovely which made me wonder where the negative reviews came from. This time we stayed in a condo that wasn't as updated. I guess not all the condos are the same in terms of aesthetics. That being said, the condo was clean, A/C worked great and the beds were very comfortable. We have stayed at the Ritz next door many times which is an outstanding experience. However, when we travel with the kids, you just can't beat the extra space, large outdoor covered lanai, full kitchen and full living room this place has - all at a very reasonable rate. Something to be said for not tripping over each other and having two full bathrooms. The beach is full service with towels, chairs and umbrellas which are all included in the rate. Parking is included in the rate as well. Washer and dryer right in the condo - priceless. There is a Publix and several good restaurants that are less than a 3 minute drive away. The beach attendant, Sean, was awesome with the kids. He took the initiative to offer the kids beach toys without us asking and entertained them every chance he had. We often had the pool area all to ourselves. We have never had a problem using the restroom in the restaurant while we are on the beach. The Vanderbilt Beach Resort, while not luxurious, is so convenient and reasonable, I don't know if I'd stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Vanderbilt Beach Resort is "Old Florida," meaning it's not a new, concrete monolith on the beach. It's a small, family owned hotel and restaurant (The Turtle Club) located right on on of the prettiest stretches of beach in the Naples area. It's neighbors include the Ritz Carlton, Waldorf Astoria and Noble House's LaPlaya.

The hotel rooms are located in the main building that also houses the iconic Turtle Club Restaurant, with seating so close to the beach that many tables are right on the sand! They are clean, comfortable and are a great value.

We stayed in the condos located right across the street. Our 2 BR, 2 BA condo overlooked the bay, but we had ocean views too. The rooms were large, comfortable and the condo was well equipped, Sliding glass doors opened onto a large lanai. We were less than a 3 minute walk to the beach.

The VBR is family owned, and George, our host, tends to everyone's needs and makes sure that your stay is everything that you had hoped for. Many guests return year-after-year-after-year.

The Turtle Club Restaurant is a favorite with guests and locals alike, and many celebratory events are held there. The bar has a menu of the requisite "beach drinks."

The beach itself is marvelous! Sugar white sand, aqua-colored water and VBR's terrific beach service with lounges, umbrellas and drink tables. It's a 30 second walk to the bar for a drink refill. A 5 minute walk down the beach in one direction takes you to the beach bar at the Ritz Carlton. Five minutes in the other direction is the beach bar at the LaPlaya.

Five minutes away at the intersection of Vanderbilt Beach Road and Tamiami Trail (US 41) is the Mercato - with a Whole Foods, dozens of restaurants and bars and boutique shopping. A Trader Joe's is also close by.

Not only is the location and service GREAT, but the VBR is one of the best values in Florida!

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms are in the building that also houses the restaurant, and there can be a lot of foot traffic. The condos, just across the street, are roomy, comfortable and a GREAT value!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews