We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Spent Christmas here and had a very nice stay. My husband and I stayed in the Watkins building and I suggest you get a room ending in the number 9 or 10 as you have a great view of the beach and pool area. Higher the floor, better the view. Very nice balcony for morning coffee. We sometimes bought lunch out and took it back to the balcony to eat.
Room was very spacious with a microwave, small fridge, a sink, plates, cutlery, detergent for washing dishes and, of course, a coffee maker. Bathroom was huge with a spa bath and a shower where you could actually turn around without hitting a part of your body on the shower wall. Lots of shampoo, coinditioner and lotion plus a shower cap. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were fine.
There is shop just near the lobby where you can buy supplies for your room - milk, juice, breakfast sandwiches and they even make a great pizza. Not expensive at all with an indoor and an outdoor seating area. We saved heaps on breakfast and lunch.
There is an adults only pool, which we found great as there were a bunch of kids staying when we were there. Only gripe I had about the pool was that the pool guy was scrubbing and vacuuming it at 11 a.m. The equipment was blocking the walking area for guests. Not a pleasant thing to watch when all you want to do is jump in the pool and relax. This should have been done before guests were lounging in the area. The inside of the elevators were not cleaned or wiped down the 5 days we were there. Not pleasant.
Other than that, the place was quite nice. Expensive, but the view and room comfort was worth it. They also have a restaurant (HB's) and a nice bar for more casual eating.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 9 or 10 in the Watkins building are great. higher the floor, better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We were there this past weekend for a romantic visit. We had never been in Naples before, and this was an excellent experience.

Check-in was easy. We were walk-in customers, and after asking about a walk-in rate, we received a discount of @ 20%. We were pleased with this, and it was a good value. The resort, and grounds were all clean, well-maintained, and pride-in-ownership is obvious in this longtime family-owned resort! This week was a slow time for the resort, right after the New Year. The weather was perfect! The landscaping, especially their diverse palm trees, was excellent.

We stayed on the third floor, in the Watkins Building. There are different building designs in the various buildings at the resort. This building had elevators, and interior hallways. The motel-style older buildings look out onto the large grass courtyard, where many kid had a great time playing. The peekaboo view from our balcony of the Gulf was nice. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, and consistent with what you'd expect is a beach resort in decor. The bathroom, and separate prep sink area was very functional. The closet with pocket door-activated light switch was very functional as well. The mattress was EXCELLENT, and they set the king bed with 6 pillows, which is nice. The love seat in the room had a hideaway mattress, if you'd need if for a child or a third.

The saltwater pool area was EXCELLENT. We stayed in the adult-only pool. It is small, but adults tend to take quick dips only. The pool bar was nice. Their drink prices are slightly high, but in line with other high-end properties.

The beachfront bar is also EXCELLENT. Same price structure as the pool bar, but with an expanded offering of drinks and beer. The food was only so-so---average bar fare, at elevated prices. We really enjoyed watching the sunset in the crowded bar. The bar IS open to the public, not just resort guests, which is why it is so busy at peak times, like sunset.

The beach area is EXCELLENT, and well-attended. With the water temperature below 70, we didn't enter the water. The Florida Red Tide was present, but we didn't see any discoloration in the water, and no signs of problems. Many people enjoyed the water.

We did not use the golf course.


3 criticisms that ownership should address (which COULD have fairly drawn a 4-star rating):

1. WiFi-Paying customers shouldn't be getting nickel-and-dimed to pay $10/day for this service, which has become industry standard for free at MUCH lower class hotels. Fast food chains, and cheap roadside motels offer this for free. This is ridiculous.

2. Beach Chairs & Umbrellas-Paying customers shouldn't be getting nickel-and-dimed to pay for these standard items at a resort that calls itself a "beach resort". Inventory control of these items IS an issue at the public beach, of course. However, again, paying customers should be able to check these items out from the pool & beach attendants for FREE, like the towels. We observed that the beach chairs and umbrellas were dated and worn, yet you have to pay @ $6/day for each chair, and even orefor an umbrella. Again, this is ridiculous.

3-Bar Entertainment-On Saturday night, at @ 8:45 PM, expecting more of the good entertainment performers that had been there during the day, but found none.

4-Website-The resort could benefit from a more modern and functional website.

With those things being said, we DID have a great time, and certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: Use the walk-in rate! It's a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 4248MI_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I wasn't staying at this hotel but we went here for buffet breakfast on New Year's Day following a disaster at another breakfast restaurant, where we promptly left without ordering.

Staff were pleasant & the location is perfect - overlooking the golf course, sitting outside in the sun (I believe this is a temporary location for the buffet whilst the main hotel dining area is undergoing maintenence).

Choice of the buffet lets it down - no pancakes or waffles. and scrambled is the only choice of egg !! fruit wa good though..... for $22 per person it seems a bit overpriced. but i guess you pay for the location.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2shots3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife and I really liked this hotel! Rates are 1/3 of the cost off-season than on. We had a beautiful ocean view room and the property is on the water!! The pool area is nice w/ two pools and a jacuzzi. It was kind of loud though in one of the pools. The had like a mock-water polo game going on. All in all it was a nice stay for the cost but I wouldn't pay the in-season rates.

Room Tip: Ocean view during the off-season is my recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

I titled this "old time" because this hotel is family owned and has an old fashioned feel to it. Don't let that have you think out of date. The rooms in the hotel were large as were the bathrooms. They were nicely decorated and the hotel is literally on the beach. We had a nice balcony that was large enough to have a meal on and didn't make you feel confined. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were lush and comfy. The shelling at the beach is amazing (look up the low tides so you can get some really good ones) and the staff is truly kind.

I stayed at the hotel for 7 days as part of a company retreat. We had all our food in conference rooms so I didn't use the bar area or restaurant. The maids came by several times a day and turned beds down. And the groundskeepers always said hi and were polite. Unfortunately I can't afford to stay at this hotel if I paid for it myself. But if I could afford the nightly rates (which are $200 and up) I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The hotel is made up of several buildings of differing shapes and sizes, so the visitor can almost choose which style vacation is desired, from, the elegant Florida-style main building to the motel-style buildings in a U-shape around the big lawn. The hotel faces on to a wonderful stretch of beach, and there is every type of restaurant from formal to casual, facing the beach. The Pool Bar is the best, especially on the weekends when it features a Boody Mary Buffet. Missy mixes a wonderful spicy Bloody Mary, and then one has the choice of all sorts of good things to put in it from the routine celery to stuffed olives...and more. Across Gulf Shore Blvd. is the Golf Club building facing onto a very good course. In addition to the pro shop, and locker rooms there is another restaurant, a wondeful spa, as well as meeting and function rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The Penthouse building gulf side is the best set of rooms........very close to the water........the resort is pretty, but pricey, everything costs! Sunday night band and dance music is the best..............5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrett50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
941 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,662 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 59 in Naples
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#2 of 59 in Naples
1,491 reviews
North Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 851 gulf shore Blvd north, Naples, FL 34102-5332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#11 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#29 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £207 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From family beach vacations to destination weddings, and from group getaways to exciting meetings, The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club offers you spectacular accommodations and beachfront amenities. Our 319 guest rooms-casually elegant and supremely comfortable-include suite configurations for up to 10 guests each. With an elegant ballroom offering glorious Gulf of Mexico views and beachside event space, meeting guests are in for inspiring settings. Enjoy a seven-mile white-sand beach plus our brand new golf course which has been completely redesigned and renovated by PGA legend Jack Nicklaus in collaboration with course architect John Sanford. Other on-site recreation includes tennis, full-service spa, a multi-pool swimming complex, water sports, a complimentary Kids Club and more. Fine dining, casual fare and live entertainment can be enjoyed at our three restaurants and lounges, including HB's on the Gulf and Sunset Beach Bar & Grill, acclaimed for the area's best sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naples Beach Hotel And Golf Club
Naples Beach Resort
Golf Naples
Naples Beach Hotel
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing