We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Villas. Room was nice enough and secluded from the main hotel it has a private lounging area for the building and I could walk 10 steps to the beach from my room. Sunsets were spectacular. The bar got crowded so get there early for a good view of the water.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great place for a quick get away. Golf and beach in one. Several restaurant on property. All in one resort. Nice pool and bar area. Lounge chairs and umbrella for rent on the beach. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary at the Naples Beach Hotel under the "stay two nights, get one night free promotion." We had a wonderful stay from start to finish. After returning, I read some of the critical and even harsh reviews posted here, which I want to respond to out of a sense of proportion and balance.

We like the place from the moment we set foot in the lobby. You see right through the waters of the Gulf. This is a million dollar, world-class view. I've been at lots of stunning places, such as the Fairmont Lake Louise, where when you enter the lobby you find yourself looking that the great beauty of Lake Louise. My sense of the Naples Beach Hotel lobby was the same. You stand in the lobby and you look out and see the calming and clear blue waters of the Gulf, framed by palm trees and dune grass, and you realize right away that you are looking at a million dollar view. That's why you go to a place like this.

Then, we liked that the atmosphere of the hotel was unassuming and not pretentious. We've been to many events at the Ritz. We cannot afford to stay there. I am sure the Ritz is the Ritz. But when we are interested in kicking back and relaxing-- away from the children and the cares of life -- we appreciate the understated "feel" of a beach vacation in a beach town; we don't want luxury and pretense.

Then we loved the retro 1940's (authentic) styling of the place (of a piece, by the way, with all the other pricey properties in the area). You feel like you are on Key West, or a town in the Caribbean somewhere. You expect to see a young Jack Lemmon walk out at any moment with a white tennis outfit and wooden racquet in hand. It's like the setting of a 1940s or 50s movie set in LA with someone like Cary Grant.

We also appreciated the "family" atmosphere of the place. It's a family business, and the "feel" of a family enterprise comes through, from the names on the building (Watkins), to the personal touch (the president and owner actually walked by one morning -- we didn't appreciate then who is was -- who greeted us with genuine warmth and friendliness), and, most importantly, to the way things are done, the "culture" of the place.

Perhaps because it's a family business children seem especially welcome in the resort. Our room looked out over a beautiful lawn where most times of the day children were playing -- a father playing a pick up soccer game with his three sons; some siblings throwing a football; and so on. I should say that my wife and I were there precisely to spend time away from our children, and we never had trouble finding time to be alone or romantic spots to look out at the Gulf or up at the stars. There was no competition or conflict whatsoever between children being welcome at the Resort and the Resort's potential for romance.

Can we be reasonable now about expenses? If you want your budget to consist of your room fee and basically nothing else -- then DON'T STAY IN A RESORT! Find some budget motel on Ft. Meyer's beach (they exist) with a kitchenette. If you are staying at a resort, then plan to spend roughly the same amount as your room on a daily basis on things you get and do at a resort -- drinks, meals, and services. If you don't understand this fundamental idea, then, please, do not concoct a "compaint" here based on a false premise. Keep your misunderstanding to yourself and don't criticize others based on it.

For example, a sandwich at the Sunset Grill costs $17. Now it's a huge sandwich: my wife and I split one, and she could not finish her half. Also, it comes with a big basket of fries. So arguably that sort of sandwich would be worth $17 if you bought it at Panera. But, please: you are getting the sandwich at an lovely grill where you can sit down on a comfortable stool directly overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches you have ever seen. Please don't insult my intelligence and everyone else's by implying that this fact counts nothing for the value of your sandwich. Of course it does! If you want a good deal on a sandwich, go to the Publix deli. If you want a good enough value, at your bidding, on a beach which looks like paradise, then it's not unreasonable that you are asked to pay something for that. Or, I'll put it another way: I challenge the critics who have posted reviews here to tell me where on the Paradise Coast they can find a sandwich shop right on the beach that charges less for a sandwich.

About the $10 internet fee: worked well for us. My wife and I decided to forgo purchasing it. And we were happy we did not sign up. We mainly kept our computers closed and our smartphones tucked away. What can I say about people who come to a place like this Resort and (we saw many of them) spend their time looking at their tiny smart phone screens? I think in contrast the Resort could have a very good argument, as it were, that, if you are staying there, then the burden is on you to show that you really need free internet.

About the rental fees for beach chairs and umbrellas: If you plan to use these all day, then the fee charged (for the convenience of not lugging them around yourself) is pretty reasonable. Besides (as other have pointed out): 1. the lounge chairs which they rent are top quality; 2. there is no daily resort fee anyway; and 3. if they were free, then lots of people would use them once for a short time and then leave -- leaving behind, also, their sweat, sunscreen residue, and maybe food particles and sticky residue from spilled drinks.

It's absurd to say as some reviewers did that there is nothing to do in the area or no good restaurants around. The famous 5th Avenue and 3rd Street districts in Naples, filled with top-rate restaurants, are essentially within walking distance. My wife and I one evening went to Mereday's on Naples Bay, about 2 miles away. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better restaurant anywhere, and for about half or a third of what you'd have to pay in DC or NY for something comparable. (We found the Resort's own restaurant, HB's, mediocre as regards food. But we didn't go there for the food, but for sunset dining right on the beach.)

My wife says the Spa services were first rate. When my wife was at the spa, I played golf. The course is on the easier side but some holes are outstanding. Generally it is very beautiful, with a lot of old trees and with rough which is real grass, like you'd find up north. My only complaint about the course is that the greens have an old-style, grainy Bermuda grass, which is very slow and very unpredictable. Let's hope they replace the greens soon. (By the way, there is no charge for using the fitness rooms --great cardio machines and great weight circuit. There is a $15 charge, however, for using the sauna and steam room area.)

Another issue we had was the lack of good espresso and espresso drinks. The Seminole Store makes coffees with a kind of Nescafe machine -- it gives you cappuccino like you get from those machines in lobbies where you put in some coins and press buttons for milk and sugar. We drove to a nearby Panera to get good coffee in the morning.

We had a room in the Watkins building on a high floor looking south over the Gulf. It had a terrific balcony, where we spend several hours sipping wine, reading the paper, and so on. We highly recommend that you spend a bit more and get a room like that with a view. Our room was very clean and kept well by housekeeping. We like the Key West style decor -- very calming and in the spirit of a beach holiday.

We loved our stay at the Naples Beach Hotel and plan on recommending it to everyone, as well as going back again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking south in the Watkins building on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank PerryPhilias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This property has a little something for everyone. Travelers with families can stay comfortably and in style on the property alongside those couples looking to retreat and relax. The property is very well maintained. The rooms are updated and fresh. The beach front pool and amenities are exactly what you need. A large grass courtyard is a rare but welcome relief among the very Floridian / Key West theme of the property. I cannot speak for the golf course; however, the greens were full each day and that should say something about the popularity. The sand on the beach is very fine and clean. Steps into the water you can find live sand dollars (do not take them out of the water) and shells that will catch your eye and look great atop your sandcastles. Staff was very attentive and always polite. Shopping and restaurants were close and plentiful. Gated parking was never a problem and plenty of spaces were available. My only two complaints are that coolers were discouraged from the beach and property, which as a family trip this was unexpected. Also making the reservation online was a bit cumbersome; however, the staff did not hesitate to upgrade our stay for our trouble (due to an brief IT issue on the resort side). If this is the only blemish on the resort, you should not be concerned with anything else. It is now my go to resort in the Naples area.

Room Tip: There are several buildings on site. Be sure to look at the resort map before you choose your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here in July….weather was OK…nothing you can do about rain and clouds…but the most beautiful sunsets…this is an older hotel, with multiple buildings…we stayed in the center high rise with beach views, which also included views of the dining room and conference room rooftops and air-conditioning units. Rooms are nice but extremely small. We had 2 adults and 2 teenagers so it was tight getting ready! As a beach club, you would think you would privileges to certain things like beach chairs and umbrellas. Nope. Each chair and umbrella has a daily fee. We bought cheap chairs at the local target which ended up being cheaper than a days rate for 4…lovely area, and beaches…would definitely go back to Naples…just not so sure of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in other buildings seem to be larger than the ones in the center high rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank PennsylvaniaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club for the last six years. Absolutely love the beach and pool areas. Beach bar is a little pricey but everyone is always friendly. Last time we were there they upgraded our room to a suite because we are repeat customers and bring our friends along. We have enjoyed the spa and golf course. HB's on the beach is wonderful and we make it a point to have our final meal there before heading home. The upgrades they have been making in the last few years are really nice. Have our next trip booked already and again are taking 2 other couples with us. The beach fixes everything.

Room Tip: We love the Florida wing but the Penthouse would be nice if you faced the golf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BigLarryO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Naples Beach Hotel is one of our favorites on the west coast since it offers a great beach side resort. We've stayed there for several years now for a quick summer getaway. The quality of their housekeeping has gone down a bit and we hope they'll make improvements in this area.

Room Tip: The Florida rooms can get noisy with the connecting doors. Prefer the Tower or Watkins building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyangel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
909 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,631 reviews
Inn on Fifth
#2 of 59 in Naples
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Naples
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 851 gulf shore Blvd north, Naples, FL 34102-5332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#8 Spa Hotel in Naples
#11 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#19 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#29 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £181 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From family beach vacations to destination weddings, and from group getaways to exciting meetings, The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club offers you spectacular accommodations and beachfront amenities. Our 319 guest rooms-casually elegant and supremely comfortable-include suite configurations for up to 10 guests each. With an elegant ballroom offering glorious Gulf of Mexico views and beachside event space, meeting guests are in for inspiring settings. Enjoy a seven-mile white-sand beach plus our brand new golf course which has been completely redesigned and renovated by PGA legend Jack Nicklaus in collaboration with course architect John Sanford. Other on-site recreation includes tennis, full-service spa, a multi-pool swimming complex, water sports, a complimentary Kids Club and more. Fine dining, casual fare and live entertainment can be enjoyed at our three restaurants and lounges, including HB's on the Gulf and Sunset Beach Bar & Grill, acclaimed for the area's best sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naples Beach Hotel And Golf Club
Naples Beach Resort
Golf Naples
Naples Beach Hotel
The Naples Beach Hotel & Golf Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing