We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Guests! Horribly Rude staff- never stay here.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariner Apartments & Motel
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had an unbelievably terrible experience here. Following some nasty-looking clouds chasing a group of us from the beach, we decided to gather at our friend's rental here to wait out the impending rain. Since the places are so small, the natural place to gather was around the pool area- our children swam and we stood nearby. Let me make it clear, our children are all 10+, were very quiet and respectful, and at no time was anyone loud, boisterous, or disrespectful. We were quickly approached by a older man (from the facility) who began to yell at the group about who was staying there, what room, etc. and then told there was a no guest policy. At no time was he friendly, understanding, or polite. At one point, he was berating one of our kids about where he was staying and why was he there! When our friend who was renting there tried to make an apology for not knowing the "no guest" rule to diffuse the man's obvious anger, he raised his voice again and verbally insulted her.
This place is old, outdated, and a joke in the Naples area. The location is great and apparently enough to stay in business regardless of the behavior of the staff or the condition of the property. I have stayed in dozens of hotels/rental properties and have never been met with a "no guest" policy in the middle of the day much less been treated in that way by a staff member.
This place sucks- DO NOT stay here. There are WAY too many other nice properties in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Meegsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

My family and I booked 2 rooms here 3 months prior to staying with HELEN at the front desk who at the time of booking was rude and abnormal to deal with for a front desk clerk. We arrived with our 3 kids and were told our baby could not sleep in the same room that we booked. Helen then barged into our room and threatened to call the police if we didn't move our infant baby into the 2nd room we booked. Mind you this was with in the first hour of our arrival. She was unbelievably unprofessional and would not even explain why we were booked in rooms that did not accomidate children yet knew we booked a room for 2 adults and 3 children. We tried to cancel the non-child room and was threatened in be kicked out. The a/c is worthless and the rooms are old and decrepit. Run from this location if you are looking for hospitality, kid friendly, and cleanliness. Helen should be fired immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roadrunnerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stumbled across this brilliant little old folks home, sorry, motel. It's actually an apartment with all separate rooms. Its right next to the beach and the pier in an upmarket neighbourhood. The receptionist is a 60 year old ex- marine, so probably it explains lack of email response if trying to book on line. Lovely central garden with tropical plants and a separate pool and sunbathing area.
Decor is old fashioned but new-ish and clean, wi-fi works fine and has a new toshiba flat screen tv.
We paid $90 for a night.

Room Tip: Room 214 was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Located right next the famous pier and I block from a beautiful beach this motel is very old but well kept. Booking is only available by phone and email. Make sure you check the dates: I screwed up once and they didn't even contact me to ask me why I didn't arrive in November instead of December. They were nice enough to give me a room during the busiest season.
The best things are: the location, the heated pool and 2-bedroom suites with a kitchen large enough to accommodate a big family with kids. Will come back for lack of alternative accommodation in the area. :)

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place has 2 things going for it-price and location. You get what you pay for here! Poured concrete building means no wi-fi inside, a/c not great, nothing bigger than twin beds, tv sucked, and I think they are still using the same bedding as when it was originally furnished in the 60's! If you're on a budget, and won't be relying on posh accomodations or amenities, you can't complain about proximity to the beach and shopping and eating!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeyserSoze_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The rooms are old but clean and all equipment works, so I'd say that it is nothing fancy but very comfortable. The only drawback is that there is no internet in the rooms, but you can catch a signal once you are out of your room.
The managers were extremely friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable (not cheap and not too expensive) and since we were vacationing during the off season, we got a free upgrade. The hotel is a block from the beach and 2 blocks from the pier, with convenient access to both. No special entertainment for the kids except pool, but with the beach a block away, nothing else is necessary.
In short, we loved it (me, my wife, 2 kids and my mother-in-law). If we're in Naples again, Mariners would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Just be nice and friendly and the managers would go out of their way to help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vyacheslav1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The management are smart enough to realize that the value in the motel is not in the quality of accommodation but in the location. It's therefore stupidly expensive for what it is. I paid $230 for one night to sleep a family of 5 (2 double beds and a single).

The place is clean and well run though and I recommend a stay if you're not price sensitive.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlyBWire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Old Naples
The Escalante
The Escalante
#30 of 59 in Naples
228 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
910 reviews
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#15 of 59 in Naples
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on Fifth
#2 of 59 in Naples
2,631 reviews
Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
Trianon Old Naples
#18 of 59 in Naples
775 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Apartments & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Apartments & Motel

Address: 1295 Gulf Shore Blvd S, Naples, FL 34102-7226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner is a motel of suites (apartments) ideally located a block or so from Naples' famous fishing pier, its white sand beaches and the fabulous Third Street shops and restaurants; not to mention the Fifth Avenue shops, restaurants and theatre in the other "Olde” Naples area, nor the Crayton Cove Yacht Basin that are both close ... without being too close! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mariner Apartments Hotel Naples
Mariner Apartments And Motel
Mariner Apartments & Motel Naples, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing