We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Food - Slow Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrimp Basket

Shrimp Basket
Ranked #8 of 77 Restaurants in Navarre
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu encompasses a great variety of original seafood and local favorites. Ranging from shrimp, fish, crab claws, and crawfish, we also provide po-boys, chicken, and sandwiches for land lovers. Don't forget about our specialty Roasted Red Pepper Bama Sauce over Fettuccine pasta! The goal at the Shrimp Basket is to provide enjoyable, affordable service to each and every one of our guests at whichever restaurant they choose to dine in. This is accomplished by our professional and well-trained staff working together to ensure that your memories are the best that they can be at the Shrimp Basket. It is no surprise that our popularity has magnified among locals and tourists alike as we continue to expand along the Gulf Coast. We are grillin', steamin', and fryin' for you!
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent Food - Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here often since they opened 3 or so years ago. It used to be better than it is now, I think. It's not bad, it's just not great. You get waited on quickly, and most of the servers are very nice, but it takes FOREVER to get your food. It had gotten so bad we quit going for awhile. And the seasoning they now use when you request your seafood grilled is extremely salty; I ask them to do mine mild or leave it off altogether. I guess it it hadn't been better before, my comments wouldn't sound like complaints.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ecflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    178
    91
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
583 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Maybe I ordered the wrong thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I ordered crab cakes because of other reviews but, sorry to say, I was very disappointed. Not much crab meat or taste. Probably should have tried the shrimp! Service was friendly and good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank houstontravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Some items are GREAT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

went there with two couples for a lunch and I had the crab cakes grilled which were great! the grouper they claimed to be fresh was definitely frozen and it was like a tire very rubbery and definitely not fresh. The oysters were good. Service was very good and patio seating was nice

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1porkchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary esther
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Plenty of fries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The popcorn shrimp platter I ordered was filled with fries and very few shrimp buried underneath. Tasted okay but a handful of shrimp for $11 is not worth it. Will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jumper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughters boyfriend was hungry for a shrimp po-boy so we decided to eat here. I ordered the fried whiting platter and it was very good. The beer was cold, the quantity of food was more than expected, and everyone in our party was well pleased with what they ordered. The order took a while to get to us, but they were busy at the time. The waitress was friendly and joked around with us. We will be sure to go back the next time we are in Navarre.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Us4cityfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrimp Basket also viewed

Navarre, Florida Panhandle
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
 
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
Navarre, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shrimp Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing