We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Oceanfront Convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We have stayed here twice over the years while visiting relatives in Jacksonville. The hotel satisfies our needs. The surrounding area is very nice and there are many nice restaurants, tourist shops and a Walgreens within very close walking distance. We have stayed on both the first and second floors. The first floor makes access to the ocean easier through the sliders, but you miss out on the view that the second floor balcony provides. Traveling as a family we found we much preferred the first floor convenience. They have recently added a breakfast basket and coffee is available in the lobby, which we appreciated. A refrigerator is provided in the room and a microwave is provided by request. I am baffled by why they do not provide one in every room. The housekeeping was just O.K. Upon returning to our room after it was cleaned I found one bed made and the other looked like they forgot it, only the spread and sheets had been pulled up, nothing was tucked in or smoothed out. We also had a problem with using the gate key, it seems the salt air plays havoc with the lock. It was eventually fixed. I feel it should have been addressed quicker. The bar area is right next to the pool, but it didn't bother us. They have nice flat screen TV's and the rooms are quiet. All in all we are happy with this hotel and hope to return to it again someday!

Room Tip: We prefer the side opposite the Lemon bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    66
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
55
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had our wedding on the beach in front of the hotel. It was very convienent for us to stay there. Our room, 220 had an amazing view of the beach with a wrap around balcony that was very nice. The bed was hard and not very comfortable for me. It had a small fridge that was good to put drinks in. The bad part was the floors were very dirty. I got a shower-which our room only had a stall shower, no tub. By the time I walked from the bathroom to the bed, my feet were black. I had to wear sandals the whole time we stayed. They did have a nice little basket breakfast with yogurt, fruit cup, muffin coffee.
There was a great selection of nearby restaurants to choose from, and the beach was clean and not crowded!

Room Tip: Room 220 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

While driving up the coast from Daytona Beach, we were searching for a place for a night we could settle in with our kids and not have to drive anywhere for dinner. Don't let the old school Florida Salmon paint job deter you from this place. The rooms were very clean, and Bathrooms were updated along with a nice flat screen tv. Beds were comfy and AC worked great. The pool is small but well kept, along with neatly manicured landscaping. We stayed on 2nd Floor and had a nice view of everything, beach, pool, and that Bar(Which was quite busy). Unlike some beaches you will find lots of shells on the beaches here, which was a plus.

. Great location as there are a lot of restaurants, bars, and shopping within walking distance. The lady at the Front Desk even gave us a coupon for one of the local establishments.

Biggest drawback was this place was too pricey for after labor day. We also drove off with one of our room keys, and in turn we were dinged an extra 15 dollars. They changed the locks so quickly we couldn't mail to get a refund on that. The Bar could tone down the music a bit, and play something not so "Clubbish".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Sea Horse Inn is a small family run business. It does not have all of the bells and whistles of a chain hotel ,(like key cards, still have the old -fashioned key on a key chain. Remember those?) but we enjoyed our stay and will go back.

Our room was cleaned daily and the housekeeper did an excellent job, we were always tracking in sand but she made sure it was vacuumed up. The breakfast baskets were great. Just the right amount for a quick breakfast. It contained a muffin, OJ, yogurt, and a fruit cup. I also enjoyed the coffee in the lobby.
The front desk was always helpful whenever we needed extra towels or info.

Others have stated the bar was noisy in the evening but we did not find that to be so. We did not use the bar (couldn't seem to find the time) but will next visit w/o the grandkids. We got a menu from the bar restaurant , The Corner Taco, but did not utilize it either; however the menu sounded tasty and the prices seemed reasonable.

The location was excellent and is one of the main reasons we will return. Anything and everything you need is within walking distance. We never drove our car out of the parking lot the 4 days we we there!

The only negative I can comment on for us, was the gate to the beach. I understand why it is there but it was hard to juggle carrying all of your belongings and getting the key in properly so it would unlock and sometimes it would not work. Most of the time I just walked to the left or right of the hotel where the public access is and entered the beach that way.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here one night and have no complaints. The room was huge with a small fridge. All rooms overlook a grassy area and there is a beach but it could not be seen from my first floor room. The room was clean and quiet and the front desk people were friendly. For the continental breakfast you would go to the front desk and get a small basket of goodies which were tasty and more than adequate for breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We spent 3 days in May here. the location is perfect,with a gated beach access, and short walk to many stores and resturants. The staff was friendly, and accomodating. Our room was clean, and comfortable, with a great view of the ocean, pool and lemon bar. We were concerned about noise from the bar, only heard relaxing music, and muted voices. Our breakfast was fine. We couldn't ask for a better expereince for our first trip to Neptune Beach I hope there is a frequent stay program, because we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

I used to LOVE this motel. The guidebooks get it right when they say it has a great location, is reasonably priced, and is a clean classic Florida motel with the potential to be a great place to bring the family for a relaxing vacation. However, the motel does itself a disservice when it courts the clean fun, family oriented crowd while at the same time hosting an obnoxious outdoor bar scene called The Lemon Bar. The music starts to pound around 3pm and does not stop until around midnight. The bar, which used to be a small, for-guests convenience is now the star of the motel, as evidenced by it's expansion into the pool area, added outdoor mega speakers, and daily crowds that flock to the beachfront bar to drink themselves happy. If you are the type that wants to "party" and needs alcohol to have a good time, by all means come here. If, however, you are seeking an old fashioned, relaxing beach vacation where you can bring the family or have a romantic evening listening to the waves, forget it. It was more "spring break" than relaxing vacation, and I will not be back. Staff will try and tell you it's not an issue, that if you close your room doors and stay locked inside your room with your curtains closed, it won't bother you. But, why should I have to do that? I came to enjoy myself, not go into hiding! I also found, one morning, what I thought was a tick in my hair for a night hike the previous night, but it was later identified as a bedbug. Not being a drinker or "corn hole" player, nor loud or obnoxious in any way, nor wanting to sleep with bedbugs, I just didn't feel comfortable. Steer clear if you seek a peaceful, comfortable, private, quiet place to stay. It is sad to see a former gem lose its luster.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AllieNicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neptune Beach
0.1 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonvil...
#5 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Oceanfront
#6 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Neptune Jacksonville Beach Mayport Mayo Clinic NE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Oceanfront Inn

Property: Seahorse Oceanfront Inn
Address: 120 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL 32236
Region: United States > Florida > Neptune Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neptune Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seahorse Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint family owned and operated oceanfront inn. We feature many amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Amenities include a beautiful grassy courtyard with a large pool, private beach walkover to the ocean, and an award winning on site bar and restaurant. We are in the heart of Beaches Town Center which features many great dining and shopping opportunities. Stay with us and we will show you why: The Seahorse Oceanfront Inn is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Seahorse Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Oceanfront Hotel Neptune Beach
Seahorse Oceanfront Inn Neptune Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing