We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty Reds is Always a Fun and Delicious Time”
Review of Dirty Reds - CLOSED

Dirty Reds
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dirty Reds is Always a Fun and Delicious Time”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Dirty Reds is a cross between Louisiana and Texas Barbecue. She, Red, is working hard to insure her guests have a positive experience. My friend and I go at lunch on Thursdays when they have $1 a rib specials. Very rich and spicy. Our wives feel it is too spicy for an evening meal but it sure is good.
That is why we have started going for lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hard to find & hard to forget!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Tucked away in back corner of a strip center off Atlantic Blvd in Neptune Beach (near the beaches of Jacksonville) is a little joint worth trying, and in my case I've found it worth going back. Look past the auto-parts store facing the street and back in the corner you'll find a real-deal Mom and Pop Southern/BBQ/N'awlins style home-cooking type place. There is no Dirty Red. Joe and Lisa, the couple who own the place just liked the name. The food can be a major-league hit, the best stuff you've put in your mouth lately, or there might be a swing and a miss. There are inconsistencies and the general feeling from the staff is a little bit overworked. But when they get it right it's pretty darn good. There is quite an array of styles of BBQ ribs out there, different folks like different ribs. I happen to like the dry-rub baby-back ribs at Red's. They can be a little fatty, but the meat is tasty and the flavor is right-on. Their cheesy grits are another of my faves. The seating is wood pick-nick type tables, stools at the counter, and one booth that I always try to snag. They could use some more booths. Check it out though, the owners are super friendly, the beer is cold, and the food makes you think you're eating at somebody's house who likes to cook for folks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesomeness! Friendly and good food. ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome! I love New Orleans and this place Smells like New Orleans. Wonderful smells of creole cooking. Friendly staff. Good service. Really good food. The only thing they don't have right now is boudin but the manager said they are in the process of changing the menu. We look forward to trying the boudin. For appetizer we had the jambalaya egg rolls. They were excellent! Louisiana seafood dip was good. The Shrimp and crab Etouffee was the best I have ever had! And the dry rub ribs brought back memories of childhood in Texas! WE WILL BE BACK! I highly recommend Dirty Reds!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure for Louisiana comfort food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just west of Penman on Atlantic Blvd, hidden in the corner of a strip mall, is the merging of southern comfort and Louisiana favorites. Once you've been there, you'll be back. Owners Felicia & Joe know most of their customers by name, which is part of the charm of this place. Shrimp, brisket, ribs, red beans & dirty rice, traditional LA dishes, and awesome sides! The regulars will say they haven't ordered anything the did love. Last night's special was fried chix & waffle. Chicken was great, with light flavorful batter and juicy meat.

Try this hidden gem! Dirty Red's isn't just a bar/grill, it's a foodie den !

Helpful?
1 Thank JimandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome Cajun”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This place was some of the best cajun food I have ever had.

We asked the waiter (Kevin) to just bring us a range of food and didn't order anything specifically... it was a good choice as Kevin brought some of the best Cajun food we have had, from Jumbalaya and Gumbo to Jumbo Chicken Wings and Smoked Charred Wings. Everything Kevin brought us was fantastic and full of flavour.

I would highly recommend you give this place a try, even if you need to detour to get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Reds also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing