We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf city”

Gnarly Surf Bar and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone number on their take-out menu is 386-957-3844.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surf city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Fun watching the big screen TV's of surfing. Good burgers and shrimp tacos. Service was very good. Picnic style tables both inside and out on the porch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's okay......better places to go in NSB”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Thought we'd try this restaurant this evening, kind of wish we hadn't. I ordered the Roadhouse Burger. It was okay but nothing spectacular. My wife on the other hand wanted to try something out of the ordinary so she had the Lamb Curry tacos.......and wish she hadn't. When they cam out, the look of them was not appetizing but she said she'd live with that but when she bit into them, the lamb was COLD! Just to verify it wasn't supposed to be that way, she asked the waitress who stated it should be hot (which it wasn't, it was cold even to the touch of a finger). The only reason I gave this place a 2 was due to the fact that they did replace her tacos with a fish sandwich which was fairly decent (according to my wife). To top this off, the check came to $21.30 and I gave the waitress 2 $20s which means I should have got $18.70 back in change. Upon receiving my change, all they gave me was the $18......I guess they didn't think I should get the 70 cents back as well?!?!? Well, that 70 cents was going to be part of the waitresses tip so she missed out on that part.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friedshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Wait Staff - Relaxing Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Easy, breezy place to have dinner. Super relaxing and the food is delicious. Surfer videos play on multiple tv screens. This is a very laid back establishment. The wait staff are attentive yet let you enjoy the wonderful food. We will go back again and again (we're locals and love this place!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coach126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The atmosphere and the bar scene are great. The food is good if you want a quick (but pricey) meal. The menu is limited. They have really good fish and shrimp tacos. They do not have a full liquor bar - beer and wine only. It is a great place to just go and listen to music and have a beer but if you want a nice dinner out I would recommend trying some of the other fabulous restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate after the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I went here after spending the day on the beach and the food, service, and Yeungling on tap hit the spot. Got a chance to chat with the owners and she was awesome. Gotta love home grown and owned places. Try the deep fried mashed potato ball and fish tacos

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madrussian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gnarly Surf Bar and Grill also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Gnarly Surf Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing