We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We stayed in the "Travelers and Thatch Palm building. (September 29-October 6, 2007)We were on the first floor, which was nice. Our room was nice. New tile floors, updated curtains and bedding. The kitchen appliances were older, but clean. The pool area was very clean, there are two pools on the part of the property. ""Lots of activites available. The beach front nice and clean. Overall this property was great. The only problem we had was the weather. We were very dissappointed, but any day at the beach is better than a day of work. There were many restaurants close by. We really enjoyed Breakers, which was within waking distance. Shopping and grocery stores were also close. We definately go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiergirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    115
    65
    43
    48
See reviews for
155
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Coconut Palms Beach Resort II, New Smyrna Beach

I booked travel thru my time share resort directory. I relied on many internet reviews, the resort web site, and all I saw big, beautiful, clean modern accommodations, (For those of you who visit the resort with the prospect of buying...I'm sure your accommodations will be just fine.) Luckily, we decided to look at the resort prior to our upcoming reserved vacation week. The main building, lobby, grounds, and view are all spectacular. I thought boy, is this going to be great. My bubble would soon be burst, however. Evidently, they have five buildings...all referrred to as Coconut Palms Beach Resort II at 611 S. Atlantic Ave. (?) I believe they show the best of what they have or advertisement. After the clerk at the desk welcomed us, she promptly advised that we would not be staying in the main building - our accommodations were in the building next door. Okay, so, how bad can it be? We anxiously went over to view the unit assigned to us. After you got by the most beautiful view, everything else was the pits. It resembled a man's camp. Really old, dirty furniture; everything was chipping, the fridge was rusted on one side. Nothing bright and shiny here...it was just plain nasty. I didn't see buys, but I'm pretty sure that's only because I wasn't there long enough. So, be careful of the bait and switch tactic. They were not willing to make any changes and at one point, I thought they were a bit rude.

We left that day, and immediately called our time share company and canceled our week at that resort. It cost me the time share deposit, but in the end it all worked out...I'm going to stay in Ft. Lauderdale at a Marriott's. We've been there before - I'm not up to any more surprises.

  • Liked — View, grounds
  • Disliked — Very dirty, advertisement misleading
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank VictorC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Smyrna Beach hotels

Erie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We just returned from a wonderful week in New Smyrna Beach. Overall, we had a very good experience. We had a two bedroom unit. Everything appeared clean enough, but somewhat outdated. The kitchen appliances were very outdated - the temperature settings were worn off all the knobs on the stove - making it very difficult to set preheat the over to the correct setting (not that I wanted to cook much, but with three teens, a couple of meals in saved lots). The beach was beautiful and not too busy. Water was very warm. The pools were very nice, although were not cleaned up very well (the same empty pop containers were left at the pool area for several days). Centrally located with easy access to the Daytona Beach area; easy walk to the Flagler Beach shops.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tlw522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed for the week of July 7 and had a great family week. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage next to the main building, a very close walk to the beach. Not the cleanest place but about average. Good activities for the kids. Great location, close walk to Flagler Ave. where the restaurants and bars are located. We would go back to this resort.

  • Liked — Location to beach and downtown
  • Disliked — No housekeeping the entire week
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hurricanecav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Our room was on the first floor, adjacent to the sales office, housekeeping storage, pool access, guest laundry facilities. With the tile floor, there was not a moment of quiet, especially as the day started. When I asked the housekeeping staff to lower their voices, one rolled her eyes and turned away without a word. An attempt was made to relocate us but that unit was not comprable. Having immediate beach access was a plus but did not make up for lack of sleep.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lv2trvlAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2007

Just got back from a week at Coconut Palms. I went with a friend that has a time share there. It is a nice place. Very clean...there was always someone wiping, vaccuuming, sweeping... The rooms were very clean. Our room was a neat set up---1BR condo attached to a 1BR efficiency. Even though the condo was on the side unit, it still had execellent views of the ocean.
This place is a short walk to Flagler Ave. I was surprised that most of the shops close at 5:00.... They do have towel service by the pool..the towels are small so I used my own larger beach towels. There are two pools. We found most of the children hung out at the smaller pool. So the big pool, which is heated was fairly quiet.
The staff seemed nice. There seemed to be issues with the wireless the week we were there....we could never get a good answer on what to do...Eventually, it was fixed or we were able to get it through someone else....
The "lovebugs" were still active and swarming when we were there. That was my only complaint.... and that is just Mother Nature!!
The town seems to shut down early in the evening....but that was fine with us as we just went to relax... I guess people drive to Daytona for nightly activities.
Great restaurants in the area!!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kindergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We stayed at the Fishtail & Fan Resort during the Week of May 11 -18th. This is a very small "Resort". It really isn't a resort it is more like a Timeshare motel. I traded my timeshare into the resort. The Fishtail has some problems...
1. Towels... there is only 6 in the room and you can only exchange for clean ones on Mondays and Wednesday... With 4 Adults it isn't many. The rest of the week SOL.... No beach towels are provided and only one roll of TP per bathroom. They will not provide you with any extras of these items. When asked all they could say was sorry we don't do that.
2. There is no staff on site after 4pm daily. We were locked out of our room, the electronic keys were not working. We went to the front desk only to find a note saying will return in the am, and and emergency contact phone number with no phone to use. Thankfully we had our cell, we dialed the number and were told someone would be there in approx. 30 mins. ... We had left a window open my mistake and climbed in.... 1 hour later someone contact our room to see if we were in yet. However.. they could not give us new keys till the AM...
3. Prior to being there ... Tropical storm Andrea had come and washed a good portion of the beach access away. The steps leading into the beach were gone. We were told that we could walk down to the Coconut Palms building about 3 resorts down and use thier stairs or drive down to the end of the beach and pay to get onto the beach. Not much help.
4. The pool area is extremly small and there is only one pool. The activities girls (2 of them) were extremely nice and Friendly as was the front desk associates when there. The people overall in Smyrna were vey friendly.
5. The parking area and lot adjecent to the hotel needs some serious cleaning, the bricks are all broken and there was a dumpster right in our view that the Coconut Palm had placed there and dumped thier trash into. Major eye sore.

The rooms themselves were very comfortable and effecient. Plently of room for a group of 4, six would be very crowded. The colors of the furniture leaves you speachless. Very jungle feeling. I didn;t know green came that bright (lol)...

If you are looking for the 50's and under crowd this is NOT the place. We are in our late 40's and we were the youngest.

ON the Postive side: The people are very friendly, this place is real quiet and the rooms are comfy. 2 Baths, 2 bedroom, sleep sofa, small deck with 4 chairs. They also, lend you beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards for the beach. we took them for a day at Daytona Beach which made it nice and we didn't have to rent beach equipment.
We did hit a lot of local resturants. Breakers on the Beach is excellent... fun and the best burger I have had in awhile. Overlooks the ocean, great beach hangout.
Riverview Grill for a nice night out was execellent. Right on the River and they have live bands on the weekend, out on the deck. Fun night out with dancing. Pricey but worth it.
JB's Fish Camp is aweful. Coming from New England... thier seafood tasted processed. Not fresh at all. Bad service and bad food. Burgers were horrible.
OM Bar on on Flagler is great.. Cigar bar, serves only wine and beer. Lot of local micro brews. Great litle hangout, Sunday is wine tasting and she has local musicans that come in/ drop in and play. Fun spot.
Flagler Ave has a lot of nice little shops and is great for walking. However, they close up shop on Sunday's and Monday's ... that was a bummer.
Overall Smyrna was a relaxing little spot on the beach. I would return to the area but not to Fishtail, maybe the Coconut Palm up the street. It looked bigger, had more to offer and it had stairs to the beach...

  • Liked — On The Beach
  • Disliked — Could get to the beach
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LinAnnBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hotel
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hot...
#5 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Property: Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing