We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here every year and have a great time in New Smyrna beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very well kept resort .Rooms have just been redone and are great...There are 2 pools and you walk right on the beach.....Tiki bar serving food and cold drinks...non alcohol..Walk for miles on the beach or in town..
You can walk just about everywhere and enjoy a small town on the ocean....Excellent resturants..

Room Tip: All rooms from 2nd floor up have a balcany..
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deervalley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was not fancy but was clean and had a pretty good view and very easy access to the beach. All of the pathways to the beach were clean and nicely landscaped. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. They do not send a housekeeper during your stay, which some people may see as a negative but we were fine with since we generally decline housekeeping service anyway. We were always able to get a parking spot close to our unit. Only negatives I had were that the internet did not really work and the blinds in our bathroom were broken/hard to open. Everything else worked great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Unit #1014 and other units along the backside of the property should not be available for exchange to Interval members. Recall the scene at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark when the all of the heavenly visions take a turn for the worst as you realize where this room is located. The building where this unit is located is likely the original manager’s office for the old motel prior to renovation. The porch overlooks the dogleg of the rear parking lot, the entrance to the main beach access road, the coin-op laundry facility, the maid station, and the path to more-appropriately situated units. There is no ocean view whatsoever, while the location behind all of the other units, combined with the steady traffic flow during the day, ensure that you won’t be troubled by the sound of the ocean, either. There’s a small patch of mulch in front of the porch where the property’s electric transformer and gas main are located. The parking lot and main road runs along the side of the building where your bedrooms and the trash dumpsters are located (we awoke to the garbage truck at 8am one morning). The hallway to the property’s new building runs along the other side of the unit. Everyone walking by going to or from their cars has a direct line of sight into the unit, as well as the guest bath which is situated directly across from the front door so you can wave at folks while relieving yourself.

The unit itself features a master bathroom so small you have to stand diagonal to the vanity in order to brush your teeth without bumping your arm into the wall and an older, rust-stained bathtub. The guest bath also features a tiny vanity, i.e., there is minimal space for personal items. Otherwise, the unit has two queen size beds (no king, sorry) and a limited amount of dated furniture, including heavy wrought iron chairs around the dining table with some of the sliders worn down to screws that cause the chairs to rattle loudly on the tile floor (as do the chairs in the unit above you as you’ll become aware). The TVs in the living and guest rooms are old 19” bubble screens. The larger LCD in the master bedroom is located about 6 feet past the foot of the bed and is the only one with a DVD player.

To the unit’s credit, the unit is generally specious, if oddly configured, and the kitchen appears to have been updated with granite countertops and relatively new appliances. However, when we checked in we found that the kitchen’s water faucet wasn’t installed correctly causing the water to comes out of the main faucet in fits and spurts, while the hose attachment didn’t work at all. We brought these and other maintenance issues to the attention of the front desk, including the filthy windows (not that you’d want the view anyway) and deck furniture among others. The sink was repaired on Thursday and the other issues went unresolved during our week despite being logged on Monday morning. The wi-fi drops in and out from minute to minute and is so unreliable you will need to buy into one of the other local networks if you need a reliable connection.

As for the rest of the property, the larger of the two pools and the hot tub were closed to replace then tile (during spring break week no less; even more frustrating was that they were re-opened on the day we checked out). The smaller back-up pool was overwhelmed by the volume as you might imagine, and the heater went off line rendering the pool un-swimmable for about a day. The security gate access to the pool was propped open all week and the staff did not walk through to check out wrist bands. Also, no (free) mid-week maid service, limited-hour towel exchange, and no fitness room (although one is apparently in the works).

The sad thing is the property has a lot of good features and a great location, and we felt that if we were in the newer building or one of the bungalows farther forward, our experience here would have been far more satisfactory. But we did not get to stay in any of those units – we were stuck in #1014 which we suspect is a standard peak location for Interval guests based on our experience with the manager who clearly had a lot of experience handling the guests placed into this unit and others along the back side of the property. If you have already exchanged into this property, I would get a guarantee in writing from the management that you will not get a back-side unit for your premium trade or contact Interval for a refund as their interpretation of the leeway in the “view not guaranteed” clause is stretched to its illogical extreme. If location or easy access to your car is all you need – this gem is all yours.

Room Tip: Stay away from 1014 if you value any sense of peace and quiet, and stay elsewhere if at all possible...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We took a chance through Interval with our Marriott trade for a place on the beach during spring break. The Coconut Palms 2 was no Marriott. The pros, a smooth check-in and really a problem free stay. The cons, the cleanliness of the room, the smell in the room, the bed comfort, the broken utensils in the kitchen, the "tube" tv in the bedroom that was not clear, a toilet that would never stop running, and the main pool that was closed all week.

We did love the location to the beach and the main road with all the shops. It was on a driving section of the beach, but was still good.

At the end of the day, it was a week on the beach and overall relaxing.

I would not return to this hotel on a future trip. I saw many others that I feel would be the same or better in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xo-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Being "jaded" Marriott owners, your first impression of the unit (2014-Thatch Palm Building) is small, totally not glitzy, could use some touch ups. The view, not so bad :) we see lots of ocean, for a Interval Certificate room. Very happy for that! And, then, you get your stuff unpacked. Sit down and breath in the salty breeze and say, ahhhh. We are on vacation and all is good in the world. Embracing the simplicity of the unit and the resort. Noting the other guests all appear relaxed, which is good. Walking along the great New Smyrna Beach is awesome! Found a quaint waters edge bar nearby, called Toni & Joe's and may have to hit that up. Flagler street is just down the road and a quick beach walk to access it too, with many restaurants and shops. All good. Yeah, the water pressure in the shower is "weak", but it cleans ya! A few amenities are provided for your stay like shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bar soap, dishwasher soap, a days worth of coffee-yes no filters-so bring your own-no worries, dish soap. All good. Hide a bed is ok...I am sleeping great with the fresh breeze thru the night. All good. So the bad reviews, take em with a grain of salt. You are on vacation! Oh yes, check in went very smoothly! And this building has a big deck for sitting with several deck chairs and chair side tables.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank decoratingplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have been vacationing every winter at Coconut Palms Resort 2 for the past 14 years. We are owners at the resort and find it very comfortable. We enjoy the location, close to downtown, and walking the beach is the best. The sunrise is beautiful and good food is easy to find. Getting away from winter every year if even for a week is great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The ONLY positive to this condo (Royal Palms, an adjacent bldg) is the view of the ocean. The units are dirty, bathrooms have mold, the floors are filthy, the furniture is worn and uncomfortable and much in the kitchenette area was in need of repair or replacement. I would never choose to stay here again!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
97 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#8 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing