We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the beach, but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right on the beach, but not for everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

First, let me say, there are 3 buildings that are part of Coconut Palms II. We stayed at the Royal Palm building, which is at 801 S Atlantic Avenue. The main building is a couple of blocks north.

We stayed in condo 3403, which is on the 4th floor. It had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and faced the ocean. The view was beautiful, and the balcony was big enough for 4-5 people. The condo itself was clean, and roomy. The living room furniture was comfortable but well used. The beds were very comfortable. The couch was actually a sofa-bed, and my kids slept comfortably on it. Our only problem with this was that both bedrooms had 2 queen beds, no twins. So, with 3 kids, 2 had to share a bed. This is not easy with kids who are 14, 11, and 9. They don't like to share.

The kitchen was very frustrating. There were only 2 burners to cook on, and no oven. It did have a nice convection microwave, but you can't cook a full size pizza in it. Because we have kids, we plan to cook a lot while we are on vacation, and it was hard to cook for 5 people in that kitchen. The sink was big and shallow, and there was very little counter space. The dishwasher looked somewhat new, but did not clean the dishes very well and the bottom rack had to be lifted up and rolled out, and one of the little wheels on that rack kept falling off. And the top rack had this weird flat area where nothing could go but utensils. Not very efficient at all. (I brought my own dishwasher tabs, so I can't blame the cleaning on the detergent, it was the dishwasher). The refrigerator was full size, and the ice maker worked after a slow first night. The skillet provided was non-stick, but the only spatulas were metal. And you could tell that this skillet had been scraped by a metal spatula many times. The coffee cups and glasses were tiny. Fortunately, I brought my own cups. Otherwise, all of the other cooking utensils and dishes were adequate for our needs.

The tvs in the bedrooms were the old style, but in good shape, so no real complaints there. There is a newer flat screen in the living area, and a regular dvd player. Wi-Fi service is supposed to be free at this resort, and upon check-in they give you the information for it. However, it never worked the whole time we were there. I called the front desk and they said that they had called an IT company to come and fix it, but as far as I know, it was never fixed. We tried to access it every day and it never worked. We used our phone as a hotspot and accessed the internet that way.

The pool area was clean and user-friendly. The pool at this building only went to 4 feet and was not heated. Morning swims could get a little chilly, but overall it was a nice pool. It could have used a skim for bugs every morning, but rarely saw anyone from the resort at the building or the pool. Also, there was no spa at this building. The other building had a larger and deeper pool, but I'm not sure if there was a spa at that building or not, as we never went over there.

The elevator at this building was slow. And one morning a housekeeper had the elevator blocked on the 2nd floor for most of the day, so no one could use it. (She would then take the stairs to the upper floors, keeping the elevator blocked)

Another issue we had were the luggage carts, there was only one. ONE!!!! When we checking in or out, get ready to schlep your stuff because it is hard to get the one cart they have.

Parking - there were only 10 parking spaces at this building and 1 handicapped space. If there were no spaces, you had to park down the street and across the road at another building. Another thing that isn't very convenient when unpacking or bringing in groceries.

As a general rule, we are not very picky and would stay here again. The beach location can't be beat and you can walk to Flagler Avenue easily from this resort. But some of the info about the kitchen and the beds would have been nice to have beforehand. We were also disappointed that this resort does not respect the turtle nesting rules like some of the others. The people at the front desk didn't even mention that it is turtle nesting season and people are not supposed to be on the beach after dark, or shine direct light on the beach.

Again, a nice, clean family place, but do your research. (We did not have anything to do with the sales pitch and it wasn't even offered to us) And if you are a super picky person, do not stay here. But if you are looking for a clean place to stay on the beach, with a decent pool and a great view, this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmatda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    115
    66
    43
    48
See reviews for
155
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the CPBR2 in mid-April (we exchanged via II) and had an absolutely lovely time. After reading some of the reviews we were a bit nervous and called in advance to check on our 2BR room and found out that we did not have a view. Since we no longer needed a 2BR, (we had exchanged to get a 2BR as we were expecting guests one or two nights when we first booked, but the guests' plans changed), we talked to Frankie and traded the 2BR for a 1BR and a view and we were very happy with our view. We faced east overlooking a bit of the parking lot, but on the 2nd floor that never bothered us. We could see the lower pool area and lots and lots of beach and ocean! It was great. The room was very lovely - maybe the bathroom was a bit small, but there was plenty of closet space to hold all of my bathroom products. Other than the fantastic room and view, we also met great people! Hanging by the pool with them every day and exchanging stories about the cold weather and SNOW we were missing out on up north :) - did I mention it was April? What a fun time! The other great thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance to GREAT establishments. Tony and Joes is just a building away, Breakers is about a 3 block walk - either on the beach or the street and Flagler Avenue - only 3 blocks away - is loaded with fun shops, restaurants and bars! We will definitely go back as we barely scratched the surface on seeing everything there is to see in NSB!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori_stevens21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in May for a week. Our room was great. The view from our balcony was awesome, south side. All the staff was great. We go every year for our R&R. The air-condition noise in the room is the only issue but at least it was cooling great. This Beach is one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was a lovely hotel with sharks selling time shares ! We made a deposit and changed our minds within days (about 2) and fought for months for our refund. No one would return calls. It got to the point where we had to threaten everyone from the salesman to the desk clerk before anyone even acknowledged they had our money. We finally got it back but it was quite the lesson.

Room Tip: Help travelers choose a good room? Look out any window and find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Smyrna Beach hotels

Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent three nights at the Coconut Palms II. I was part of a sales package, and they were pretty good at selling. We agreed to buy, and then found out some of what was promised was simply not true. We cancelled a couple of days later and sent all the materials back, after informing our sales agent, Doug Goodrich, that we did not want to proceed. We have spent the last 3 1/2 weeks fighting to get out money back. There should have been no problem. But no money. We are going to get an Attorney, and if need be I will picket Coconut Palms II until they return our substantial deposit. Don't be as gullible as we were. It's just too much money - think of all the other vacations you could take if you don't buy a timeshare. I'm noting that our room was poor, but then it was free.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conniefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very well kept resort .Rooms have just been redone and are great...There are 2 pools and you walk right on the beach.....Tiki bar serving food and cold drinks...non alcohol..Walk for miles on the beach or in town..
You can walk just about everywhere and enjoy a small town on the ocean....Excellent resturants..

Room Tip: All rooms from 2nd floor up have a balcany..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deervalley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The room was not fancy but was clean and had a pretty good view and very easy access to the beach. All of the pathways to the beach were clean and nicely landscaped. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. They do not send a housekeeper during your stay, which some people may see as a negative but we were fine with since we generally decline housekeeping service anyway. We were always able to get a parking spot close to our unit. Only negatives I had were that the internet did not really work and the blinds in our bathroom were broken/hard to open. Everything else worked great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hotel
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hot...
#5 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Property: Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing