We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice location, but.........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The good: location, location, location. Situated right on the beach. Two nice swimming pools. Friendly and helpful staff. Towels can be exchanged, free of charge, on Mon, Wed, and Fri.
The bad: Ventilation - The AC is located in a small closed against the outside wall. The only vents into the rooms are at the top of the closet and the return vents are at the bottom. No vents in the bathroom.The only way to get air into the bathroom is to continually run the NOISY vent fan. Also, the thermostat is located on the wall about two feet from the AC closet. No hot water for the first six of our seven days. Continued complaints finally got us hot water on our last day. Otherwise we had to run the bath faucets about 10-15 minutes to get some hot water. This generally didn't last long and we were back to a lukewarm shower. This unit was advertised by Interval as a full kitchen but the mini-dishwasher and the wet-bar sized sink do not qualify (IMHO) as a full kitchen. Rooms are much smaller than we are used to.
The strange: Numerous signs around the pool area stating "No food or drinks" with the concession stand selling food and drinks is located in the middle of the pool area. Go figure!

Not a place I would return to.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view and then cross your fingers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    115
    66
    43
    48
See reviews for
155
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We own at this resort and booked a 2 bedroom. Checked in and were told we were in the Royal Palms building, 3 buildings away! We were also told there was limited parking, no kidding! There are probably 25 units in this building with 10 parking spaces. Alternate parking was across the street and 1/2 block down, with only 4 spaces unless you parked on the lawn. We had to park across the street most of our stay and it rained a lot. Really not fun.The floor was dirty on arrival and the broom in the unit had no handle so we couldn't even sweep up. There was no shower curtain in the master bath so a call was placed to maintenance. They brought one and put it up. When we requested help with the clock in the master, they were unable to help with setting it. We did laundry one day and wanted to sit outside the laundry room at the table there but the ash tray was full of cigarette butts and other disgusting trash. Smelled so bad we had to leave. Wasn't cleaned until 2 days later. As an owner, I am disgusted at being put in another building and one that was so disgusting!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Smyrna Beach hotels

Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

i noticed that they are trying to do some renovations,but not fast enough!!! out 5th floor room was a good size, nice balcony, furniture in good condition, except the old dresser in the bedroom - knobs kept falling off everytime i tried to open the drawers. kitchen appliances JUST OLD!!! built in microwave didn't work, so they stuffed a little one in, sideways on the counter. ice maker in the frige didn't work, we had to buy ice in order to have cold drinks.....even some ice cube trays would have been nice. grounds are well maintaned....most of the staff is friendly....pools are nice, right on the beach and tons of restaurants nearby.....close to major highways, walking distance to flagler road that features tons of little shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the high rise building.....the bungalows and next door 2 buildings are dumpy, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a 1 bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. When we opened the sofa bed all the coils in the mattress were visible by the eye. You did not even have to put pressure on the coils. We had to double up on a blanket and mattress pad in the shoulder area to keep the coils from poking you everywhere. Once in bed you could not move or more coils would poke you. The resort should offer these units with a foam mattress cover. The bed was unbearable. I should have made a complaint at the time, but I just tried to make the best of the situation. WiFi was not the best. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't.

Room Tip: Pull out sofa bed has mattress with coils visible and unbearable to sleep on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

It was our first time to be guest there ,,,beautiful property,staff was great,,We stayed in a studio ,had a slight problem but they moved us immediately in 15 minutes!!!maintanance on the property very well taken care of !!!!,,

Room Tip: 1 bedrooms have a nice balcony,,studio has small balcony but you cant sit on it but has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachballbetty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. From the time we checked in till the time we left the staff was great. When we checked in Cheryl was friendly and very helpful. We requested an oceanfront view and we had a great view. The rooms were clean and the furniture and appliances were fairly new. The only negative thing was the ice maker did not work and we reported the next morning after we checked in and it was never fixed( actually we reported it about 3 different times ) . The pull out couch was very uncomfortable as all pull out couches are. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentinebabynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Coconut Palms is one of the 4 resorts operated by Interval. Coconut Palms faces the ocean beach area and has access to shopping and site seeing within 1/2 hour drive. The resort is more like a hotel with good service. It has two pools, one being warmer then the other and a little deeper. The property goes out onto a private beach and play ground area as well as a bbq area inside the courtyard. The Ocean beach is accessible from the pool or parking areas. The only thing we did not like was the music at the pool side. The music has only been introduced in the last 2 weeks according to one of the interval representative. Most people liked the calm relaxing atmosphere the pool used to offer. There was also smoking allowed in the pool area. yuck! The cleaning staff was very friendly. The only maintenance problems we had was one of the burners on the stove was not working and one of the drawer handle knobs was loose. We had a smaller room with a small corner balcony facing the pool and the ocean. The bedroom was small for a queen size bed and a full size dresser. There was only about a foot between the closet, the dresser, the wall and the bed. The living room was comfortable size except for the sofa it was slung back in the middle.
We had a tour with Jeff of Interval who was very informative and able to answer all of our questions. We had our meeting in one of the two bedroom suites away from the loud sales centre. This Interval location is almost sold out and may be complete by September. Good location for people who like the sand, surf, beach life and more.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units have larger rooms with Queen size beds and more living room space. Since peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hotel
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hot...
#4 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Property: Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing