We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice Vacation”
Reviewed 7 November 2005

My husband and I stayed at the resort through Interval International's timshare exchange program. We were celebrating our one year anniversary and had never been to Florida prior to this. We stayed in the 6th floor of the main building and it looked like it had been recently remodeled. The furnishings were nice, except the beds were a little on the small and hard/flat side. The staff was excellent. The resort was very convienient to a number of restaurants, nice beaches, and Walmart/grocery stores. We had a nice time by the pools and enjoyed a smoothie from the tiki hut. We tried a number of restaurants such as Breakers, PJ's, Blackbeards, The Bagel Shop, Peanuts, Zeno's Candy and JB's. We had fun at Peanuts on Tuesday's "Comedy Auction" night and had a great burger at Breakers. I will never ever recommend JB's as the place looked like the biggest dump I have ever been in and the food was the same. The rest of the restataurants were average at best. We spent a day at Canaveral National Beach and loved it--very inexpensive day and we found the best seashells and photo opportunities...well worth the couple of bucks to get in. All in all, the resort was alright, food was alright and atmosphere was pretty laid back. I can't say that it was the best vacation I ever had, but at least I was with my wonderful husband.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    115
    65
    43
    48
See reviews for
155
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Stayed there for honeymoon. Room was not ready when we arrived, cushions on sofa & chair could have been cleaned. Air conditioning didn't work properly, contacted front desk, waited 2 hours, called back and asked them to let us know what was going on. Finally maintance man showed up that evening, bad peronality and disposition, told us he had to call air cond. repair tech., then told us he would have the front desk get back with us. Next day I asked the front desk what was going on, was told they would check on it and get back with us. Air cond. repair was their that evening while we were gone. No one said anything, left us a message, or anything. Finally, on the third day the air cond. techs showed up, and were supprised to see us still in the same room, since they told the front desk they were not able to fix the problem that evening, and would have to come back the next day.

Contacted property owners after I arrived back home, left email, phone number, and address. Never heard back from them to date. Can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Smyrna Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2005

Our Visit to Coco Palms II was four days three nights of sheer bliss. My husband and I checked in on Thursday afternoon with the plan to merely reside at the resort ... go out for all dining and entertainment ... this DID NOT happen. Rather upon arrival we were met with such excellent courtesy and hospitality ... we were impressed! Our room accommodations could not have been better, we were on the 2nd floor corner room which boasts a double balcony, one in the living area and the other in the bedroom! The most beautiful sights of the ocean @ dawn and dusk not forgetting during the daylight hours. The enclosed photos are from the room, sunrise ... the bed, daylight the balcony. We changed our plans and opted to cook for the entire weekend. So very romantic dining on the balcony in dim light (turtle nesting season) perfect to go with the lobsters, shrimp and steak that he cooked. We highly recommend this resort, the staff were all great very accommodating! There is but one way to share the impact we had there ... we bought immediately during our presentation!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator,Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2005

We had reservations for a one bedroom in main building but were offered a two bedroom in one of the off beach buiidings. It only took us about 3 min. to get to pool or beach. Activities were great, lots of complimentry food etc. I even won at bingo. Every thing was clean and in good shape. It rained a lot but we still had a great time. Girls at tiki hut were fabulous, very friendly and helpful.We travel a good bit and this was one the nicest.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank moocow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2005

My wife and I went to visit some family in the area and wanted to stay by the ocean. After scouring the internet for hotel option in NSB we landed on this hotel because it had "studio" rooms (not two bedroom condo suites) and allowed us to stay for just two nights. The price was decent for the area ($89 per night I think).

We stayed in the same building where the main office resides (Coconut Palms II) and it appeared to be recently renovated. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a sliding glass door facing south but you could still see the ocean from the room. The room itself was clean and in good repair. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave and sink.

The only criticisms that I had were the decor is a little cheesy and the bed was of typical motel quality. It was also not very soundproof, so we could easily hear our neighbors sneezing, cooking, speaking at times...which wasn't an issue per se (not disturbing), but it could be if there were some partying types.

The highlight of the hotel is that it has two pools right on the ocean - which is great since the beach is submerged at high-tide.

The people were very nice and we had no issues at all with our stay. I would definately stay there again for the price, location and amenities.

Another thing to note is that the same property management company operates many hotels along the beach, so ask them about them when you call - they may have availability at other places too.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2005

We traded a week with Interval and just came back April 17, 2005. After I have read some of the reviews, I was worried that we might get one of those units from hell. Hurricane Francis had done much damage to the resort and many units were newly remodeled. The resort has several buildings and I’m not sure how many unites in what building had been remodeled. We were fortunate to get a new unit in Royal Palms where all units had been remodeled. Everything inside our unit appeared new and we were very pleased with our stay.

There is no beach during high tide in front of the resort. If you wait until low tide, the beach is very wide. Most of the beach accesses were closed but you can still drive in near the north end where the sand dunes are.

The restaurants were very crowed after dark and reservations are recommended. All the restaurants we tried were good: Norwood’s, PJ’s Sea Shack, JB’s Fish Camp, Sea Harvest (the restaurant is damaged but the carry out is open), China (carryout and eatin) and Oceans Seafoods where you can order cooked food from the counter or buy quality seafood to take home to cook .

I am attaching two pictures: Sunrise viewed from our unit and Beach View from the north end by the sand dunes.

Helpful?
28 Thank honeynbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2005

Stayed at Coconut Palms the week of March 21. We were in the 2 story unit (Travelers & Thatch) that is right next to the main tower. We were very disappointed in the condition of the unit. The furniture needed replaced, or at least a good cleaning. The rest of the unit just felt used, dirty and badly in need of refurbishing.

On the positive side, the pool area is very nice, the staff is friendly, we were pleased with the variety of family activities offered by the resort, and the beach area was nice (as long as it wasn't high tide, when the beach would disappear.

Our best meal, by far, was at the New Smyrna Steakhouse. All others...Chase's, Shells, Spiro Pizza, Norwoods, Pappas Dive-In, were disappointing. The Breakers, which several reviews mention, was closed due to what looks like needed repairs from hurricane damage.

Helpful?
20 Thank twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hotel
The Salty Mermaid Oceanfront Hot...
#5 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Beach Resort II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Beach Resort II

Property: Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Address: 611 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2738
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Palms Beach Resort II 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Palms Beach Resort II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Coconut Palms Beach
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing