We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't Impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of JJ Fin's - CLOSED

JJ Fin's
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wasn't Impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Not your typical bar food, the menu was impressive, however the descriptions and the actual product were not what we got. When you order a Bruscetta Flatbread with fresh tomato, basil and gouda cheese, with balsamic drizzle that's what you expect. What we got was flatbread with pizza sauce, some kind of cheese, (may have been gouda) and what appeared to be canned diced tomato, sprinkled with basil flakes and no drizzle, all this for $9, a little overpriced I think. If we wanted pizza we would havle gone to a pizza place. The black and bleu burger was ok, however they used some type of cheese sauce as opposed to real bleu cheese, and the lettuce appeared wilted, usually burgers are served without the top on, so you can see what you got this was served together so you really couldn't see what you got. Overall, I would expect a waitress to be a little concerned when you order something and don't eat it, instead she asks if you want a box, really. Yes we took a box so we could show our son what this place calls bruscetta, (He cooks at an italian restaurtant), he thought it was a cheap pizza. Needless to say we won't be back too soon, or at all. I'm guessing after a few beverages anything would be acceptable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Avoid this place place at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

What a horrible Mother's Day brunch. It should have been clue when we saw other patrons bringing their dogs into the resturant, but they went to the outside bar so we didn't give it a second thought. The waitress Kristina was incompetent and rude. She had a difficult time splitting a bill between two different families. When we pointed out her mistakes, she argued with us and then said "I guess, I'll change it." Our main courses were average but our sides were ice cold. My son ordered a medium well prime rib steak($15). It was raw and yes an argument insued with our wonderful waitress. Don't waste your time or money at this place and Kristina get a new profession.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluecollardad95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Variety - Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Clams, steamed shrimp, steak/gorgonzola flatbread, cuban sandwich and drinks. All four of us were pleased with our food. We shared garlic/honey grilled wings that were scrumptious and fried green tomatoes that weren't so green. We will definitely be returning. Like most other restaurants in NSB, dress is casual. Each couples bill was around $40., which included three cocktails.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaDPapaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosby, Tennessee
Level Contributor
499 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“First and last time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This property used to be Pub 44 and was popular among the Biker Crowd and other late night party types. On out visit on Monday, April 2 at 6PM there were about 16 people in the main dining room and another 12 at the outside bar area. One dining room was completely closed off and the only person at the oyster/sushi bar was the attendant.

Victoria, our waitress, took our drink order for Blue Moon draft beer only to come back that they no longer carried that popular brand. We placed our order for a chicken wing appetizer and two 14oz medium rare Prime Rib dinners. After two minutes Victoria showed up with our entrees cooked medium well indicating our appetizers would be out in a few minutes. The entrees were sent back and came back out at the same time as the appetizer. The "cook" told Victoria that the first beef dish was medium rare, but the "a jus" on top changed the color to medium well. This revelation fell on our incredulous ears leaving us to wonder about the intelligence level of the staff at this fine place. To top it off, the wife's portion was 10oz instead of the ordered 14oz.

We asked for our bill which came out very quickly, but was for the wrong amount. We had presented a promotional coupon at the beginning for a free appetizer and two for one beers. The bill was for the full price of all items.

There appeared to be no management on duty so we paid out and got out.

You need to save your money and write this place off of your itinerary when you are in New Smyrna Beach.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterling heights, MI
Level Contributor
205 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty fried seafood and good portions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Apparently this place has been remodeled recently and at least the fried seafood (which is all we ordered on both occassions we ate there) is very good with sizeable portions. I think the caesar salad actually had homemade dressing. The place is large and can accommodate a lot of people.

Helpful?
Thank timetraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JJ Fin's also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing