We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely best place to stay in New Smyrna Beach! A home away from home!!”
Review of Buena Vista Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Smyrna Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buena Vista Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely best place to stay in New Smyrna Beach! A home away from home!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Love the location....so convienient to everything New Smyrna has to offer. I stayed in the Hibiscus unit....so comfortable.....cozy living room, beautiful galley kitchen with large dining table. Bedroom was spacious with attached bathroom. The owners were very friendly and accomodating to all of my needs while I was here on vacation. The courtyard/gardens were so relaxing, great place to read a book or just relax. Outdoor grills were great to have if I wanted to grill some fresh caught fish! Walking distance to the beach and many shops on Flagler Avenue. I would recommend the Buena Vista Inn to everyone wishing to visit New Smyrna Beach!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    27
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
61
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This is my 5th year visiting this small, privately owned, "vintage" Florida motel. It is just the spot for meeting-up with my snowbird friends and enjoying the "old Florida" atmosphere. Conveniently located next to an INTERCOASTAL WATERWAY park, where I watched dolphins close-up in the morning, It is also within blocks of the ocean and several nice restaurants.

This motel is a great value for Seniors, always clean and freshly painhted, quiet, homey and with a choice of full or limited cooking facilities.

The delightful owners, BOB AND KATHY, are very friendly and accomodating, working diligently to make your stay a memorable event.

This place grows on you. My favorite feature ot the motel is the plush, tropical landscaped, enclosed courtyard, complete with gas grilles, umbrella tables and liesure chairs. It is a perfect spot for picnics and enjoying your friends. As Kathy, the owner says, "it is meant to be used".

I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slawrence42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed for extended periods of time between Sept 2010 and Feb 2011; Owners very approachable, rooms were very clean and we recommend BV to all our friends and family coming to Florida. Beautiful courtyard, walking distance to Flagler Ave shops and beach. We will come back every year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I had never been to New Smyrna Beach before. We were not yet married at the time and found a location to get married and someone in the area who had a wedding business, so we started looking for hotels. We chose this hotel because it looked cute. Although not on the beach, you are right by the Intracoastal waterway and there is a park in the back. The room was very cozy and much like being at home. It was nice having a refrigerator in the room, as well as a coffeepot and pretty much everything was supplied for you, other than food/drinks. We did not have any problems with anyone and the courtyard was fantastic. You don't get daily roomservice (cleaning, etc.) but the owers are accessible during business hours if needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I had my concerns after reading reviews but I went ahead and booked because it is pet friendly, and space was limited in the area. We had made arrangements for a late arrival, the office closes at 7PM, the owner had everything set up making it very convient to settle in for the weekend. After passing through the couryard and thinking "Gee this is cute", I must admit I held my breath expecting the worse when we opened the door to our room. Our room DID NOT smell, it was 'Old Florida' beach decor, very comfortable and clean. After a good nights rest we enjoyed the park out our backdoor. How nice to wakeup, fix a pot of coffee, and watch the local fisherman along the intracoastal. While not the Ritz we enjoyed the laid back charm and did not have any problems at all...We will be back the next time we're in New Smyrna!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The owner is very rude. The rooms smell like a diaper pail that has been in the sun all day. Since my dad has COPD we did not want him staying in a room with poor air quality. The owner refused to let us out of the second night's stay. Although she was paid the full amount she continued to crab about how we ruined her day and that this never happens. Well after reading some TripAdvisor history it has happened. Additionally the linens were yellowed and the comforter has not been replaced for decades. The carpet was stained and there were dead cockroaches right outside our door.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank inlovewithsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgar20, Owner at Buena Vista Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
This women did not stay w/ us. Her parents were a late arrival and did not show and daughter cancelled for the next night. If the room were re-rented we would issuse a credit. The daughter was to call on Monday, instead she emailed that bad reviews were posted by her.
Please look @ our webb sites, my husband and I believe it speaks for itself.
Best,
Kathy and Bob, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I would never recommend staying in this inn because of the rudenss of the owners. It's hard to believe a small business can survive with such poor customer service. Rooms stink, air conditioning units contributed to health issues.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gropius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
854 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
958 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
359 reviews
8.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#8 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
8 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Inn

Property: Buena Vista Inn
Address: 500 N Causeway, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-5281
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing