We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great church, has a lot going on! Open and giving spirit...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coronado Community United Methodist Church
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great church, has a lot going on! Open and giving spirit...”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were "church shopping" and were first attracted by the pastors, who are great. Tried different services - one is more formal/traditional, another is "blended" and more casual, and there are 2 others - and all are good, but we usually go at 11 a.m. ("blended"). Folks are friendly although I tend to be shy, and I actually appreciated not feeling "pounced on" which some places do to visitors. But there's a Welcome Center available (your choice whether or not you go in), pastors are available in the Courtyard afterwards, and in general it's a smiling and happy group. The best part, though, is that over time I've learned Coronado has a HUGE amount of activity on: you can volunteer, sing, garden, participate, work in the Thrift Shop, join a small group, be part of foreign missions, enroll your child in Day School, get your older kids involved... there's just so much. The place really has a very open and giving spirit, and that's probably what I like best.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Congregation”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We attended here twice during February 2012 when we spent the month in New Smyrna Beach. Unfortunately, other than the greeters at the door, not one person spoke with us or said hello on either occasion. The pastor was a good preacher and the music was really good, but I did not feel that this was a caring and welcoming church community. We are snowbirds and long-time Methodists very active in our church as volunteers and on church council so we know what type of welcome we should receive. We went to the other Methodist church in town and got just the opposite reception. Coronado seems to be the big money church but that seems to be it. Too bad.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Thrift Store doing Good”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We visited the Thrift Store and found it to be well run and a bit upscale. There are plans to build a larger furniture section. Take a look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahoewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Pastor and Community”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pastor is awesome and the community is friendly/welcoming. Check out their thrift shop too on Flagler Ave - really nice clothes as well as household and other items.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coronado Community United Methodist Church also viewed

 

Been to Coronado Community United Methodist Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing