We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice no drive part of beach.”
Review of 27th Avenue Park

27th Avenue Park
Attraction details
Edgewater, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice no drive part of beach.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This park has lots of parking. Has showers, bathrooms, showers, pavilions with grills and a small playground.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tprewitt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Handicapped accessible beach ramp!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

On our most recent visit, we really enjoyed this park as our home base while on the beach. There is plenty of handicapped parking, a handicapped accessible bathroom and a ramp for the wheelchair to get to the beach. Once on the beach it is a very short distance to the surf. Additionally there are two lifeguards at this parking making it extra safe!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mariathurmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great spot for kids, $5 to park on the beach”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The park has restrooms and showers, open to the public. Lots of parking. Beach parking costs $5/day. I wish I could park in the lot for free, but with two small kids and a car load full of stuff the only way I can get my gear and children to the beach alone is to pay :( Would be nice if they gave a break to cars with small children!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Our "go-to" spot when we visit the beach”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We lived in Lake County Florida several years ago and would often visit this particular beach park. When we returned back to Florida three years back (we are in Central FL), we began coming here again. If you are visiting Orlando, and looking for an Atlantic beach to visit, this is a great spot. It is just over an hour's drive and is usually a low traffic drive.

Our most recent visit was on Memorial Day. Beware if you are going on a holiday such as this, because, unless you get there by 9:30 or 9:45, it is tough to find parking. On any other day, there is ample parking in the large lot at this beach park. The great thing is that the parking is FREE! Now, those who like beach parking, you can pay a fee and park right on the beach. Even THAT was full on Memorial Day. Because we arrived around 10:15 on Memorial Day, there was absolutely no parking at the parking area. That was a first for us, and we have been here many times. So...we went through the light at the park and over one block, turned left, and there was a wide street behind an apartment/condo building. There were not any "no parking" signs, and we noticed others parking there, so we parked there; not on the grass, because that's rude, just along the cub. It's only a few minutes walk.

There is not food at this spot for purchase, but there are restaurants nearby. In addition, there are several covered areas with picni tables and grills. On busy days, people grab those pretty quickly, so keep that in mind. A lot of people have their coolers and food, umbrellas, blankets, chairs, etc. for a comfortable day.

They have bathrooms, at least 3 for women, and 3 for men. I have been there when they were out of TP and actually have gotten to where I take it, just in case. They always work, though, and are actually pretty clean for being park bathrooms! I have never been disgusted using them. There are outdoor showers for rinsing the sand off, which is great before loading into the car.

There is a small boardwalk up way above the beach, so you get nice views, and always meet interesting people there. There's a dude who is almost always at a picnic bench by the restrooms, using this glass thing to burn artwork onto pieces of wood. It's entertaining, certainly. To get to the beach, you can go down a set of wooden steps, or down the very long ramp. Therefore, if you have a stroller (which is hard to take along a beach, I suppose), a wheelchair, or a rolling cooler, it's fairly easy to get to the beach area.

I have never noticed lockers or storage. We have been to this beach many times, and have never felt unsafe, or had issues with things being taken. Of course, use common sense; someone always is within an eye's view of our stuff. There is a basketball court; usually not many people use it, except on weekends. In addition, they have a playground. The area looks very, very nice, really.

The crowd here is typically a lot of families. People are not really obnoxious acting, they are just enjoying the sun and sand. One interesting thing is that New Smyrna Beach does have a lot of shark bite incidents, but it is usually surfers getting nipped. They even have a "surf camp" or "surf school" set up during the summer, and it's fun to watch. I've not heard of swimmers ever getting attacked, and people will go out fairly far. I suppose it may have happened, but don't avoid this beach because of that! We did see a small black tip shark on a recent visit; my husband likes to set up his fishing gear on quiet days at this beach.

You do need to be aware of the rip currents because they can be bad in this area. There are lifeguards, which is a huge plus. They are very nice; my kids always stop by and visit them and ask lots of questions. My children don't do much swimming out in the water (they are fairly young). They enjoy splashing around, riding the waves, and playing in the sand. The tide change is quite considerable. The beach is very wide at low tide. It's a very clean beach, and has lots of trash cans up near the entrance. Patrols pick up the trash, and maintain it very well. For a Florida mid-Atlantic beach, THIS is the one I would suggest!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MommyTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So convenient”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Plenty of parking, clean bathrooms and plenty of parking on the beach if that is what you prefer. Plenty of shopping on the way to the park for your beach snacks if you are staying in a hotel, etc. Just a lovely time ~ even though the weather was a little too chilly for most during this 2013 spring break!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank momworkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 27th Avenue Park also viewed

 
 

Been to 27th Avenue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing