We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiling in New Smyrna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Clemente
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smiling in New Smyrna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were holding a surf contest in New Smyrna Beach and our original hotel messed up our reservations. They suggest this new B & B that had just opened and they just happened to have two rooms available. We were blown away when we pulled up to this beautiful Spanish Mediterranean mansion right across the street from the Indian River. We were greeted by the proprietors, identical twin brothers Scott and Brett Smith, who quickly checked us in and showed us to our beautiful rooms. The rooms were the most spacious I have ever had with 10 foot ceilings and large spa like bathrooms. The rooms were furnished with the brothers' collections of mid-century modern furniture and lamps with extremely comfortable beds and linens. Our rooms faced the grass courtyard area that would be perfect for an intimate wedding. We regret that we had to leave at 6:30 each morning for our contest and missed, what we were told by other guests was, a sumptuous southern breakfast.

The owners and staff were very accommodating to all of our needs and really went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They even let us borrow a fishing rod and reel to cast a few lures into the river one evening. I can't say enough about this property. It is the perfect place for a romantic weekend, wedding, honeymoon or fishing/surfing get-away. We look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn !

Thank you for passing along the "good vibrations" from southern California. New Smyrna Beach is indeed pleased to have been the host site for the annual ESA Surf Contest - which is just one of approximately 35 sanctioned surf contests that are hosted each year on our beaches. Its no small wonder that New Smyrna Beach was recently ranked as one of the Top 20 Surf Towns in the world by National Geographic.

We are so grateful for your kind and generous remarks about our rooms and food and beverage operations - including your special recognition of Chef Joe - who will be as pleased as I was to receive your favorable comments.

We still have a fishing pole waiting for you to use upon your return visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. I can assure you that we will have some great fishing stories to share with you - including the over-slot redfish which was caught off of our dock about 2 weeks ago.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
285
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were at this botuque hotel/inn for opening week-end and cannot praise it enough. We live in Jacksonville, FL but wanted a "getaway" weekend and chose this unique property because of it's location. It fronts on the river in the historic district in New Symrna Beach, FL. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious. Remote controlled blinds on skylight windows with a very large bath tub sitting in the middle of the room were just a couple of the unusual features.

We were late risers one morning and had a made to order breakfast in an open kitchen manned by a chef, not a cook. Breakfast was great with eggs, bacon, two type of sausage, hashbrowns, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit bowl and blueberry pancakes. The next morning we had busquits with sausage gravey, bacon, fruit and creame brule french toast. EXCELLENT BOTH MORNINGS!

We had an upstairs room with a large balcony that we were able to watch sunset wine and sunrise coffee in the morning. The whole weekend dolphins played right off the Inn's private dock in the river.

The owners were on site and the staff was excellent. We will be back. Great experience and money well spent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but you might want the river view up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank howard170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for staying with us during our opening weekend on February 22nd. You were our first registered guests to ever occupy our Luxury Bay Front unit - and we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed this accommodation. The free-standing Kohler Bath tub - centered on a tiled platform directly under a breathtaking cupola with remote controlled shades - is truly a unique design. This unit type is quickly gaining popularity with our repeat guests - as well as our "special occasion" guest who is looking for originality - and a splash of intimacy and romanticism.

We are also most grateful for your generous comments regarding our Southern breakfast,exquisite views of the Indian River, and the quality service levels that contributed to your very favorable impression of our operation.

The next time you feel the urge for a quick "getaway" from Jacksonville, please do not hesitate to call us as we would welcome the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We only toured the inn several weeks ago. it is a knockout! Plan to stay there in April, if we are lucky enough to get in. The full Southern breakfast sounds like it`s right up our alley, we love having our food cooked to order and if my husband catches a fish, the chef will cook it for us.We will send you a report as soon as we stay there. New Smyrna Beach is our favorite place to visit. It takes less than 2 hours from the Villages.

Room Tip: Get a room or suite with a view of the intercoastal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Floridahoney34356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for conducting a tour of the Black Dolphin Inn - just days after our grand opening on February 22, 2013. Our historic estate, which was constructed in 1947, was the winter residence of William Stratton , the co-founder of Briggs and Stratton - a Fortune 500 company..

Our full southern breakfast, which is cooked to order - is already generating some buzz on the local dining scene. Our shrimp and grits, lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry compote, and sausage gravy served on homemade cathead biscuits- represent just a small sampling of the many different breakfast specialties that we serve on a rotating basis over the weekend (s). And yes, we will be happy to cook your fish - which can be caught right off our dock on the Indian River.

Thank you again for visiting the Black Dolphin Inn and we do hope that you will return for a overnight visit so that we can show you the true warmth and hospitality of our intimate inn.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new smyrna beach
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We highly recommend the black dolphin inn , We love our stay and I can't thing of one negative about our weekend,the service was great.We had on river view bedroom ,and the bedroom was the best I've ever had....it was all good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daytona-fishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for taking your valued time to share your recent experience at the Black Dolphin Inn. We were delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the service was great.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#2 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#4 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Property: Black Dolphin Inn
Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing