We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC class in sleepy New Smyrna Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“NYC class in sleepy New Smyrna Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our stay at the Black Dolphin Inn was, without doubt, one of the best ever. We stayed in the Luxury Bay Front room with a spacious porch overlooking the river. The room was spacious and the jetted tub was a super bonus. This is a new Bed and Breakfast so everything is pristine and state of the art. The main lobby/living area looks into the kitchen where Chef Joe whipped up a wonderful breakfast. The owners are great hosts and, obviously, take pride in their Inn. Their attention to detail creates a setting which lends itself to relaxation. We would highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: We recommend the Luxury Bay Front, Room 203, although all the rooms seem to have a view of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for your recent visit to the Black Dolphin Inn and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. As a senior reviewer with over 75 posts on TripAdvisor, you bring an enormous amount of experience and perspective - in terms of evaluating our operation on a multitude of different levels.

We loved your reference to NYC class in New Smyrna Beach - because it suggests a certain level of sophistication and cache in our vacation lodging product which was designed to reflect the elegance and amenities of a high-end boutique - while eschewing the standardization of many global hotel lodging products that criss-cross the American landscape.

Our guests have described the Black Dolphin Inn as the new "W" of bed and breakfasts and our signature interior design has been mentioned in the same context as the hip and chic Morgans Hotel Group in NYC - because of the level of detail, customization, and our ability to strike the right balance between design and functionality.

We thank you so much for your personal endorsement of the Black Dolphin Inn and we hope that you will come back soon and often.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
277
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Truly amazing accommodations overlooking the intercostal! Owner operated and simply the nicest family you could ever meet! Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. All the amenities of a hotel. Amazing chef for the brunch. Simply the best huevos rancheros I have ever had. PROPS! Conveniently located right off the causeway.
If you are in New Smyrna don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbMeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for describing the Black Dolphin Inn as the "best B&B that I ever stayed in" - what a great compliment which means so much to us.

Our recent ranking as one of the Top 10 B&B's and Guest Houses in Florida by the Guardian, an international media organization - is a strong indication that we have developed a great vacation lodging product where we offer the intimacy and comfort of a B&B - with the high end amenities and indulgences of a boutique inn.

Further to your review, Chef Joe is truly an amazing chef and he will be delighted to hear that the huevos rancheros were the best you ever tasted. Next time you plan to return, give us a call and we will work this breakfast specialty into our rotating menu in anticipation of your weekend arrival.

Thank you again for such a terrific review and please come back to see us the next time you need a quick getaway weekend from the Winter Park/Orlando area.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

This was our second time staying here. The rooms are so beautiful, most have balcony rooms overlooking the Intracoastal Waterway where you can sit and watch the dolphins feeding and big boats cruising by. Great atmosphere. Brett, Sheila, and Scott are great hosts and have an eye for detail. Look at the pics on the website and you will see this is no ordinary inn.

Room Tip: Any with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSBfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings again - from the Black Dolphin Inn!

It;s always great to hear from our guests - especially when they return for a second visit to enjoy the facilities and services of the Black Dolphin Inn. As a repeat guest, your constructive feedback means a lot to us - and we are glad that we did not disappoint.

I appreciated your positive comments regarding our attention to detail and the photography on our website (www.blackdolphininn.com) as we continue to evolve our internet marketing platform. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of a third visit in the not so distant future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Black Dolphin Inn for a few nights and appreciated the service provided by the staff! The environment is has a very homely feel being run by a family. The rooms were extremely clean, had unique decor, and had all the modern amenities that one would need. Breakfast was freshly prepared per request and the staff made adjustments to accommodate for individual preferences. If you are looking for a getaway or non-chain establishment, I would highly recommend the Black Dolphin Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AP820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for providing us with a wonderful perspective of your recent visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. We were pleased that your favorable impression of our operation was in alignment with our objective of creating a residential feel within the context of an historic setting - complimented by a host of of modern day sensibilities and attentive personalized service.

Thank you for mentioning our ability to adjust our breakfast menu to accommodate your individual preferences - as our ability to seize that moment of opportunity is what hospitality is all about. Our staff is committed to ensuring your comfort and well being, and we look forward to demonstrating that to you on your next visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for work and really feel in love with this place. The neighborhood is quaint and very relaxing. The place overall has meticulous detail in the decorations in the common areas as well as the rooms (each room had a different theme). The place is clean and the staff is very accommodating. I really liked the fact that there was not a lot of people in and out - it had an intimate feeling and somewhat calming energy (coming from a big city, it was a welcomed change!). I definitely plan on staying here in the future for a weekend gateway - it's well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christie00617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

I very much enjoyed your favorable comments with regard to your recent visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. Your satisfaction is the goal of our entire family of hospitality professionals - and it was really wonderful to hear that our boutique was absolutely beautiful and very relaxing.

While it was great to have you as our guest for a quick getaway weekend - we are even better for long term stays. Please try to take advantage of our TripAdvisor "Free Night" Midweek Special which offers a great value proposition for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us through your TripAdvisor post and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful. Incredibly relaxing, and an amazing getaway. Wonderful chef on site to prepare delicious breakfast.. The owners are so wonderful and so accommodating. The place is so clean and newly renovated. This is one of my favorite places ever to stay in New Smyrna Beach, Fl, and we have been coming here for years! I would highly recommend this getaway without any reservation! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 22vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for taking your valued time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback regarding our delicious breakfast, cleanliness of the facilities , and the tranquility and ambiance of our boutique inn is most appreciated.

We can't wait for you to come back either - and we hope that you will continue to make the Black Dolphin Inn your favorite "getaway" in New Smyrna Beach.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work retreat. Owners were incredible and looked after every detail. Decorations were top notch with modern furnishings and breakfast was wonderful. Great location and view. Highly recommend staying here and would advise for a romantic trip. Will definitely return.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write. I was so pleased to learn that we were an ideal location for your work retreat and that our high level of attention to detail was evident from the decor and modern furnishings to the excellent breakfast that you enjoyed.

The best gauge for us in measuring our performance levels is when we hear that our guest's plan to return and will refer or recommend our property to other friends and associates. Thank you for your positive comments on both accounts.

Until your next visit, we will continue to work hard to build our business - one guest at a time.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#1 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Property: Black Dolphin Inn
Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing