We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Its difficult really to put into words just how perfect this BB actually is and how incredible the owners are. This was my husband and I first trip to Florida without the rest of our family so we picked a new place and a different type of accommodation. As a travel agent I have to admit that I am quite picky and spend a lot of time choosing where will stay. From the minute I emailed Brett it was clear that there was no decision to be made. The efficient and professional service we received before even getting there was exceptional. I could not decide which room to book and he was very patient in helping me make the right decision. The place was easy to find for new guests with a welcome spread of drinks and cakes, much appreciated after a long trip from the UK. Taylor helped us with our luggage and showed us around our room. The jacuzzi was incredible after 15 hours of travelling. The beds are exquisite and it took no effort to drop off to sleep very quickly. The next morning we were welcomed by Sheila, who In my opinion is the biggest asset in the Black Dolphin. I have never been made feel so welcomed and at home anywhere, ever. She hand cooked and served everything we asked for along with the other guests that you naturally strike up conversations with. It was like joining a new family and sharing all your ideas and stories. We were fortunate to meet the rest of the family over our stay and on our final morning Sheila wasn't there but she had already relayed to Taylor what our normal order was and he was onto it. The dock was a lovely addition where we were able to sit out and watch the dolphins in the evening. We also used to do this in the mornings but from our beautiful balcony instead. The location was perfect for us. We walked to one of the main streets one evening and had a lovely meal and the beaches are all very close by too. As my husband is a runner he also judges every place we visit by the ease and scenery of his morning jog. Sheila recommend a couple of options to start him off and by the end of our stay he had given the area a definite 10/10. If you want beautiful, luxurious rooms, with the ultimate in attention to detail along with outstanding hospitality then the Black Dolphin has to go to the top of your list. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone we meet. My only regret was that we were not able to say goodbye and thank Sheila before we left for her wonderful hospitality and breakfasts .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for sharing with us, in considerable perspective - your recent experience as our guests at the Black Dolphin Inn. As an international travel agent, you are uniquely qualified to evaluate our facilities, services, and amenities- and we are so eternally gratified by your one word descriptive title: PERFECT. In many ways, the Black Dolphin Inn is a reflection of a growing trend in the hospitality business - one that favors inclusiveness to exclusiveness. Our service goal is to work constantly and quietly and to provide the highest level of attentive and professional service - without being pretentious and overly formal. Our staff and family take a great deal of personal pleasure and pride in delivering an exceptional guest experience and your very flattering comments regarding our great food, facilities, and location are truly appreciated. Further to your review, I could not agree with you more that Sheila is our biggest asset - as she embodies the graciousness, genuine hospitality and southern charm of an exceptional host which contributes to our patrons feeling more like "house" guests than "paying" guests. Lastly, Sheila was terribly disappointed that she was not there to say goodbye upon your departure as well and we will make sure that this does not happen again on your next visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you so much for such an incredible review that was so "perfect" on so many levels.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
287
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

These guys have nailed how to present and deliver a perfect B&B. It's not hard to see that this family has gone to very great lengths to assure that every detail is perfectly executed. The design and decor of the place is warm, clean, and subtle. The hosts, Sheila and Brett, are very easygoing and attentive. They make you feel as if you're an old friend visiting their nicely appointed home-- appointment I might add by Sheila's impressive garage selling prowess. It's just an easy place to be in. I will be going back here many times in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosGarcia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for posting your recent guest review on TripAdvisor. Since we opened in late February, 2013 - proper execution ,a strong guest service orientation, and attention to detail have been our strongest attributes in separating the Black Dolphin Inn from it's competition. As you pointed out, we have gone to great lengths to ensure that every detail is perfectly executed - and your recognition of this is greatly appreciated. Along the same lines, we are most grateful for your kind remarks regarding the performance of Sheila - who has been instrumental in creating a warm and inviting atmosphere that serves to make many of our Black Dolphin Inn guest's feel like an extension of our own family. Again, thank you for your positive comments regarding our operation and we are so pleased that you plan to return many times in the future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place is a gem. For starters, it is beautifully decorated with tremendous attention to detail. That said, if you are looking for quilts, potpourri, and kitsch, this is not your B&B.

The owners are warm and laid back. Whether you want to socialize or enjoy total privacy, you will find it here. The breakfasts are delicious, and there seems to always be some sort of delicious treat laid out for guests, from cupcakes to biscotti to fruit. This was our second visit to Black Dolphin, and we very much felt like we were visiting a friend's home. The location is lovely, very convenient to downtown New Smyrna. Bring your paddle boards or kayaks for an easy launch from their dock. Or just sit on the dock and enjoy the seemingly endless display of dolphins and water birds. Brett, Sheila, and Scott also warmly welcomed our big dogs. We are looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbhemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Its always great to hear from our guests - especially when they return for a second visit. Thank you so much for your insightful review and for pointing out how unique we are when compared to other B&B's. At the Black Dolphin Inn, our goal is to provide a cozy sanctuary between the intimacy of a B&B - and the indulgent comforts of a boutique inn. As with some B&B's where intrusive questions can sometimes be the norm, we pride ourselves on making our guests feel comfortable - whether they want to socialize or enjoy total privacy. In other words, our inn is stylish without being intimidating and where you can sense a profound feeling of home.Further to your review, thank you so much for your very kind remarks with respect to our waterfront location, close proximity to Canal Street and where you can almost interact with the dolphins as you paddle, canoe, or sail the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway just off of our private dock. It was truly a pleasure to have you back for a second visit, along with your 2 wonderful dogs, and we look forward to earning your business on a future visit.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

A beautifully kept bed and breakfast, gorgeous interior in all the rooms and hosts that make you feel so so welcome. To watch dolphins swim along the estuary from our room was the icing on the cake. We couldn't have asked for anything more and can't wait to visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. We have been waiting for the British invasion and it has finally arrived on the shores of New Smyrna Beach! Thank you so much for your kind review and gracious comments regarding our interior design and our guest driven service culture. The Black Dolphin Inn is striving to become a destination to discover rather than just a place to stay - and being able to watch dolphins play in our estuary is just "another brick in the wall" in making this a reality. Having you as our guest, was for us - the "icing on the cake" and we look forward to your return in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Black Dolphin is an amazing place to get away and relax. Brett, Sheila and Taylor are amazing hosts. We had heard the Black Dolphin was a great B&B, but it exceeded every expectation. It is not your typical B&B and is truly the perfect place to get away. The decor and furnishings invite you to kick back and relax. To top it off, the shrimp and grits were off the chart delicious! Chef Joe is a master in the kitchen. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for sharing your recent weekend getaway experience at the Black Dolphin Inn via your TripAdvisor review. We appreciated your laudatory comments regarding our amazing facilities and service culture that compliments our warm and inviting ambiance. Thank you for recognizing Chef Joe for his "off the chart" shrimp and grits, and as you pointed out - he is truly "a master in the kitchen". We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you seek a place to relax and rejuvenate both the soul and the senses.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the Black Dolphin Inn for our anniversary on November 2nd and had a wonderful time. The property is beautifully decorated with unique pieces in every room, the views are fantastic, breakfast was outstanding, and Brett and Sheila were gracious hosts in every way. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theolliesofwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for choosing to visit the Black Dolphin Inn to celebrate your recent wedding anniversary. We were very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful time - and we can't thank you enough for your positive comments regarding our interior design, fantastic water views and our outstanding breakfasts. It was certainly a pleasure to serve you and your decision to return for a second visit - is the ultimate compliment for which we are immensely grateful.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

When I had called to make a reservation, they bent over backwards to give us the best rate possible. Gave us a week day rate for a Saturday night stay.
When we arrived, we were delighted by the sheer beauty of the place. I've never really been interested in trying a B&B, but this place was amazing! Showed us to our room, helped with our luggage, and suggested nearby cuisine that we should try.
The rooms were beautiful, clean, newly renovated, and very cozy!
We visited the dock to watch the dolphins -- just beautiful!
The place was conveniently located close to several great restaurants. We called a cab to get to and from the restaurant, and our fare was only $10 - a small price to pay.
Cozy bed, beautiful, clean bathroom with jetted tub.
Amazing breakfast!! Made to order. Highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 211Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you so much for taking your valued time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was so great to hear you say that you were "delighted by the sheer beauty of the place " - despite your initial reservations about staying in a B&B. We are so pleased that you would highly recommend the Black Dolphin Inn to others and that you found your guest accommodations to be beautiful, clean, newly renovated and cozy. Your other kind remarks with respect to the amazing cooked to order breakfast, close proximity to several great restaurants, and the dolphins at our private dock were most appreciated as well. in closing, thank you so much for your enthusiastic endorsement of the Black Dolphin Inn and we can't wait for you to return.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#2 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#4 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Property: Black Dolphin Inn
Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing