We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place!”
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place really exceeded expectations. Arrrived late after a long drive from Savannah. Immediately impressed by big comfy bed and huge stylish room. The next morning we awoke to a wonderful view of the river from two balcony windows and a sumptuous breakfast!

Thanks to Brett and staff for making two tired Brits very happy, we will be back!!

Room Tip: We chose a kingsize room with two balconies, it was perfect,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeelover169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for taking your valued time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback regarding the comfy beds, sumptuous breakfast, and the stylish room with wonderful views from each of the 2 balconies is most appreciated. We can't wait for you to return either - and we hope that you will continue to make the Black Dolphin Inn your hotel of choice the next time you decide to visit New Smyrna Beach.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Black Dolphin Inn. From the moment we arrived we knew it was special. A large porch greets you before entering the common area. The owners spared no expense in remodeling this area. Attention to detail is amazing. We were greeted by the owner/manager and immediately experienced the caring and friendly attitude that carried on throughout our stay.
We stayed in the “Bay View Suite” and it was perfect. The large sleeping area and separate sitting area were very comfortable, and again, the attention to detail was seen everywhere.
The balcony, facing the intracoastal, was the perfect place for morning coffee. The breakfasts were very gourmet. We especially liked the pumpkin pancakes and breakfast casserole.
The private dock made for a perfect evening for sipping wine and watching the numerous dolphins rolling by.
Anyone looking for a pampered, relaxing get away in an awesome setting should head to the Black Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havingfun561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! "From the moment we arrived we knew it was special" - was such an awesome opening to your delightfully descriptive account of your multi-night visit with us. We were so thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and we thank you for recognizing the caring and friendly attitude that emanates from each of our staff members. It was nice to hear that the Bay View Suite, the balcony views of the Intracoastal, and the dock for watching dolphins play - was "perfect" within the context of experiencing the intrinsic value of the Black Dolphin Inn. I also appreciated your positive comments regarding our gourmet breakfasts - including our indulgent pancakes and breakfast casserole which was made from scratch by Chef Joe during your visit. Thank you for such a wonderful review and for taking the initiative to recommend the Black Dolphin Inn to anyone who is looking for a pampered and relaxing getaway.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

That's the truth. I've been in a lot of places. Here, I felt so much at home that I didn't want to leave. Brett, Sheila, Taylor, Joe, Patty - new family!! Accommodations are 5-star, food is the best I've ever had at a hotel - but the owners and staff are what will keep me coming back again and again and again. Love you guys!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank FLtravelnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! What a great review - thank you. Your ranking of the Black Dolphin Inn as the "best place you ever stayed" is amazing and quite an honor for us - for which we are most grateful. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and very much appreciated your positive comments regarding our accommodations which you described as 5 star and our food which you stated was the best you ever had in a hotel. Thank you for such an outstanding review and from your "extended" family at the Black Dolphin Inn - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Thank you to our new friends at the Black Dolphin! We had one of the most memorable Thanksgivings in part because of such a beautiful and well appointed B&B and your attention to every detail but with the added bonus of your awesome hospitality and care. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommapeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We were delighted to have the opportunity to host you and your family for your annual Thanksgiving Holiday Getaway. I am so pleased that you had such a memorable stay and appreciated your kind remarks regarding our beautifully appointed units, our attention to detail, and our awesome hospitality that you experienced while our guests at the Black Dolphin Inn. We can't wait for you to return next year and we thank you so much for such a wonderful review.

Brett P.Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Brett & Sheila run the Black Dolphin Inn with class and perfection. Brett’s restaurant recommendations were spot on. The breakfast each morning was an added bonus to a perfect stay!
The Black Dolphin Inn has a special charm, stunning views and excellent food. My husband and I celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary at the Inn. We were made very welcome by Brett and Sheila and had a memorable stay as a result. I would thoroughly recommend a visit for anyone wishing to stay in the New Smyrna Beach area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfpk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for selecting the Black Dolphin Inn to celebrate your 26th wedding anniversary. It was so good to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves - and we very much appreciated your kind words regarding our special charm, stunning views of the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway, and our excellent food. Lastly, we are most grateful that you plan to recommend the Black Dolphin Inn to your friends and associates and we look forward to having you return for your 27th wedding anniversary.

Brett P Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Its difficult really to put into words just how perfect this BB actually is and how incredible the owners are. This was my husband and I first trip to Florida without the rest of our family so we picked a new place and a different type of accommodation. As a travel agent I have to admit that I am quite picky and spend a lot of time choosing where will stay. From the minute I emailed Brett it was clear that there was no decision to be made. The efficient and professional service we received before even getting there was exceptional. I could not decide which room to book and he was very patient in helping me make the right decision. The place was easy to find for new guests with a welcome spread of drinks and cakes, much appreciated after a long trip from the UK. Taylor helped us with our luggage and showed us around our room. The jacuzzi was incredible after 15 hours of travelling. The beds are exquisite and it took no effort to drop off to sleep very quickly. The next morning we were welcomed by Sheila, who In my opinion is the biggest asset in the Black Dolphin. I have never been made feel so welcomed and at home anywhere, ever. She hand cooked and served everything we asked for along with the other guests that you naturally strike up conversations with. It was like joining a new family and sharing all your ideas and stories. We were fortunate to meet the rest of the family over our stay and on our final morning Sheila wasn't there but she had already relayed to Taylor what our normal order was and he was onto it. The dock was a lovely addition where we were able to sit out and watch the dolphins in the evening. We also used to do this in the mornings but from our beautiful balcony instead. The location was perfect for us. We walked to one of the main streets one evening and had a lovely meal and the beaches are all very close by too. As my husband is a runner he also judges every place we visit by the ease and scenery of his morning jog. Sheila recommend a couple of options to start him off and by the end of our stay he had given the area a definite 10/10. If you want beautiful, luxurious rooms, with the ultimate in attention to detail along with outstanding hospitality then the Black Dolphin has to go to the top of your list. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone we meet. My only regret was that we were not able to say goodbye and thank Sheila before we left for her wonderful hospitality and breakfasts .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for sharing with us, in considerable perspective - your recent experience as our guests at the Black Dolphin Inn. As an international travel agent, you are uniquely qualified to evaluate our facilities, services, and amenities- and we are so eternally gratified by your one word descriptive title: PERFECT. In many ways, the Black Dolphin Inn is a reflection of a growing trend in the hospitality business - one that favors inclusiveness to exclusiveness. Our service goal is to work constantly and quietly and to provide the highest level of attentive and professional service - without being pretentious and overly formal. Our staff and family take a great deal of personal pleasure and pride in delivering an exceptional guest experience and your very flattering comments regarding our great food, facilities, and location are truly appreciated. Further to your review, I could not agree with you more that Sheila is our biggest asset - as she embodies the graciousness, genuine hospitality and southern charm of an exceptional host which contributes to our patrons feeling more like "house" guests than "paying" guests. Lastly, Sheila was terribly disappointed that she was not there to say goodbye upon your departure as well and we will make sure that this does not happen again on your next visit to the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you so much for such an incredible review that was so "perfect" on so many levels.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

These guys have nailed how to present and deliver a perfect B&B. It's not hard to see that this family has gone to very great lengths to assure that every detail is perfectly executed. The design and decor of the place is warm, clean, and subtle. The hosts, Sheila and Brett, are very easygoing and attentive. They make you feel as if you're an old friend visiting their nicely appointed home-- appointment I might add by Sheila's impressive garage selling prowess. It's just an easy place to be in. I will be going back here many times in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcosGarcia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for posting your recent guest review on TripAdvisor. Since we opened in late February, 2013 - proper execution ,a strong guest service orientation, and attention to detail have been our strongest attributes in separating the Black Dolphin Inn from it's competition. As you pointed out, we have gone to great lengths to ensure that every detail is perfectly executed - and your recognition of this is greatly appreciated. Along the same lines, we are most grateful for your kind remarks regarding the performance of Sheila - who has been instrumental in creating a warm and inviting atmosphere that serves to make many of our Black Dolphin Inn guest's feel like an extension of our own family. Again, thank you for your positive comments regarding our operation and we are so pleased that you plan to return many times in the future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
876 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Orange-Daytona
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#3 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £143 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing