We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better.......”
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I were given a gift certificate to The Black Dolphin as a Christmas present last year. WELL we just used it and WOW we loved it! The Inn itself is just the best B&B we've stayed in and we've stayed at quite a few.....the full staff were just the most wonderful people to deal with and make your stay SO enjoyable......( watch out for the cleaning lady tho.......she is a HOOT!). We loved the whole experience! Quite romantic too!!!!! But the prepared breakfast was very nice touch!!!!! Exceptionally clean...attention to detail!!!!!! 5* from us! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 204 which was a view of the intercostal. We watched boats and dolphins throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. As guest's who frequent B&B's, we are most grateful for your kind remark that the Black Dolphin Inn was the best B&B that you ever stayed in. This is indeed high praise - and we also appreciated your positive feedback regarding our breakfast, levels of cleanliness, and attention to detail. It was also nice of you to recognize Ms. Patty - who makes the profession of hospitality so much fun for us and our guests. Our goal is to provide a remarkable level of service that is so special and memorable - that it creates a compelling reason for our guests to return. We plan on holding you to your promise to return and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just got back from a couple days mini break at the Black Dolphin Inn. I can highly recommend everything about this place. The rooms are beautifully decorated - simple, but elegant. All rooms are clean and well maintained. We were warmly greeted by Brett and made welcome by all his family. They have great local knowledge that they shared with us. The inn is situated on a road, but there is no noise at night and is a lovely restful and romantic destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent mini-vacation at our award-winning boutique inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit - and we are most appreciative of your positive comments as it relates to our elegant rooms, our staff's knowledge of the area, and the high levels of cleanliness and maintenance that you observed during your stay. We take pride in our role as personal concierges to our guests and sharing information about our destination is a critical element in enabling our guests to experience all of the things that make New Smyrna Beach such a special destination. It was our pleasure to serve as the host property for your recent visit and we hope that you will return for a more extended stay the next time you plan to visit the the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend the Black Dolphin Inn. It is a beautifully restored Mansion with breathtaking views of the River. From the moment you are greeted by Brett, Sheila, & Taylor, you know you are at a special place. It is a family owned business and the attention to detail is better than any five star hotel. The rooms are all luxurious, the bathrooms are spa like inspired, and the beds hugely comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Volusia.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for recommending our award-winning boutique inn to our TripAdvisor readers who rely so heavily on the input and feedback of our guests in selecting a place to stay for their next vacation. As a family owned business, your personal endorsement is the nicest compliment we could receive for which we are most grateful. A warm welcome, gracious smile, and a nod of appreciation are those intangible gestures that translate into "defining' moments" for our guests - which serves to separate us from the competition. Of course as you pointed out , it doesn't hurt to have luxurious rooms, bathrooms that are spa like, and beds that are so comfortable that our guests want to know where we buy them from. Most importantly for us, its always about taking care of our guests and we hope that we will have the pleasure of doing the same the next time you plan to stay at the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent Memorial Day weekend at the Black Dolphin Inn. What a lovely place! It is decorated beautifully with lots of thoughtful details. There are Aveda toiletries in the bathroom, and two cozy bathrobes in the closet. We had a big jetted tub in our room. There is a little snack area where you can always find coffee, a cold drink and a different snack every day (mini cupcakes or banana bread, for example). There is a small bar in the lobby where you can purchase a nice glass of wine or a beer and perhaps banter with the host if you like. The hosts, by the way, were sooo nice, very friendly and making you feel at home. The chef is very creative and the breakfasts were G R E A T !!! I had Krispy Kreme french toast one day, and it was to die for :) The inn is on the Indian River, and there is a private dock with a sitting area. My husband and I spent lots of time out there enjoying the shade and the breeze and the view. The inn is within walking distance of Canal Street, with shops and art and ice cream, as well as the water taxi to several destinations. It is not within walking distance of the beach, but this is actually a good thing as that area is much busier and more hectic. Since you can drive on the beach in New Smyrna, you are better off taking your car with all your gear and driving right up to where you want to sit on the beach anyway (rather than walking and lugging everything). There is free parking at the inn. It is 14 rooms so just enough to remain anonymous if you want to, but not so many that you are just a face in the crowd. We exchanged pleasantries with other guests and enjoyed chatting at breakfast. Our room was the one right off the lobby. The one slightly less than gushing thing I would say about the whole experience is that while our room was just as lovely as what we saw of the rest of the inn, it was a tiny bit noisy. This is because it is right next to where breakfast is being made and served in the mornings, and right next to the bar area in the evenings (til 11pm). Neither of which is obnoxious but if you are either a late sleeper or early to bed, you might be disturbed by loud conversations and laughter. We definitely plan to go back as we do not live far away, and it makes an EXCELLENT weekend getaway, but next time, we will check out one of the other rooms. Another point to note: the roof over the private dock is home to a big "flock"(?) of bats! That come winging out at sunrise and sunset to eat the mosquitos! You want them to eat the mosquitos! But it was a bit unnerving when we were sitting on the dock with a glass of wine enjoying the sunset and suddenly they came swooping out. Really, don't be alarmed...they won't bother you. So, in summary: beautiful and comfortable place in a great location with wonderful hosts and fabulous breakfast, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoShadyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your incredibly in-depth and insightful review which so vividly portrayed the true style and essence of our award-winning boutique inn. I was truly captivated by how well you articulated and described your overall guest experience - and was truly touched by the many wonderful comments about our facilities, amenities, and our staff. As we strive to attain a high level of service excellence, we like to think that we do a good job of listening carefully to what our guests are saying - as it is the guest who helps define what is important and sets the standard that we must adhere to in meeting or exceeding their expectations. I want you to know that we are very grateful for your substantive and constructive comments - particularly as it relates to areas of our operation in which we can improve the guest experience. We vey much appreciated having the benefit of your feedback and we intend to respond proactively and creatively. In closing, we are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the Black Dolphin Inn is a great setting for an excellent weekend getaway. It was great to hear that our inn was beautiful, comfortable and in a great location with wonderful hosts and a fabulous breakfast. Again, thank you for such a great review and we look forward to creating more memorable experiences for you on a return visit to the Black Dolphin Inn

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our visit to New Smyrna began with a desire for a relaxing beach vacation for my husband and I to celebrate our first anniversary. After running through a few ideas for the week (a cruise, a resort) I put my mind to a bed and breakfast. My husband took some convincing though, wanting to enjoy some privacy while away on vacation. The Black Dolphin was literally the best of both worlds. A great rate because we stayed five nights during the week rather than the weekend, a beautiful room with the most comfortable bed and couch imaginable, excellent breakfast and snacks throughout the day, and wonderful people willing to share with you all of local secrets to maximize the stay. There was plenty of privacy, the room was immaculate and the beaches pristine. We could not have asked for a better trip and hated to say goodbye when it was all over. We would undoubtedly recommend the Black Dolphin to anyone and hope that we will be able to return several times in years to come. Thank you to the Black Dolphin team for all of your hard work in making the inn a wonderful and relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etherealBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn!. It was so nice of you to post your wonderful review - highlighted by your TripAdvisor title: THE BLACK DOLPHIN: ONE OF THE BEST VACAS IN RECENT MEMORY. We are indeed pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and that you experienced the best of both worlds - in terms of value and comfort. The Endless Summer Mid-Week package represents a great value proposition for guests like yourself who have the flexibility to arrive on a Sunday or Monday and stay a minimum of 4 consecutive nights at an effective discount of 25% off of our published rates. Likewise, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the privacy and ambiance of our inn - not to mention the immaculate room, excellent breakfast each morning as well as the most comfortable bed and couch imaginable. Our passion to create an extraordinary vacation lodging product complemented by a commitment to service excellence is what motivates us each and every day and we very much appreciated your recognition of this as evidenced by your personal endorsement of the Black Dolphin Inn .Thank you again for such a great review and we hope you will return soon and often.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I went to the Black Dolphin Inn a couple of weekends ago to celebrate my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary. What can I say? GREAT staff, GREAT facility, GREAT food, and New Smyrna Beach is a GREAT town! Our thanks to everyone at the Inn for making our stay fantastic! We can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different and very unique. Very well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for making our award-winning boutique inn your destination of choice in New Smyrna Beach. We recognize that there are many lodging options to choose from and we thoroughly enjoyed being your host to collectively celebrate your husband's birthday and your wedding anniversary. We are very grateful for your wonderful comments regarding your recent guest experience at the Black Dolphin Inn and we thank you for your acknowledgement of our "great' staff, "great" facility, "great" food, and our "great" town of New Smyrna Beach. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our family gathered for the second time over the recent holiday weekend. All rooms were unique and special. Each of us felt like we were given the best room. Breakfasts are beyond belief; unique entree every day, with traditional always available. Even our pickiest members never missed. Friendliness of owners, staff and fellow guests made for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolSmith712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. It's always great to hear from our guests - especially after they return from a second visit to share their wonderful guest experience at our award-winning boutique inn. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to celebrate the spirit of the Memorial holiday weekend with your family and that you plan to make this an annual tradition at the Black Dolphin Inn. We are most appreciative of your very generous comments regarding our unique guest rooms, unbelievable breakfasts, and the friendliness of our staff. We are committed to providing an exceptional guest experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
914 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Orange-Daytona, FL
10.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#3 of 12 in New Smyrna Beach
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £160 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing