We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Dolphin Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Va Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Super unique property, absolutely gorgeous, extremely nice owners.....can't wait to stay again! Our room was huge with double king beds that were so comfortable we didn't want to get up. But we are so glad we did.....only because the breakfast was phenomenal! They have a chef come in, is made to order, and the creative breakfast selections were delicious. Nice location on the water with lots to do. We are driving distance so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 757Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your recent visit to our award-winning boutique inn and for taking the time to post your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your generous remarks regarding our spacious Courtyard View unit type, the comfortable beds, and the delicious and creative breakfast selections from which to choose each morning. We look forward to your return visit and we promise to do our very best to help you build another memorable experience at the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
277
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our family visits New Smyrna Beach frequently because we have family in the area. We had never stayed in a hotel in the area, but decided to stay at the Black Dolphin Inn. The Inn was beautiful and had a great location! The breakfast was fabulous and the service was incredible. I would highly recommend staying at the Black Dolphin Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallorygd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn. Thank you for taking your valued time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor. We place a high priority on providing service that is genuine, gracious, and attentive and I am so pleased with your comment that our service was incredible. Your positive feedback regarding our beautiful inn, great location, and fabulous breakfast is very much appreciated as well. We hope that the next time you plan to visit family in New Smyrna Beach that we will have the pleasure of your company on a return stay at the Black Dolphin Inn. Again, thank you for such a great review.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am rarely at a loss for words, but the black dolphin inn took my breath away. This gem in NSB takes the term bed and breakfast to a whole new level. It is one of the most exquisite hotels I've stayed in. The decor is stunning, the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. There are not enough accolades that I can give the owners and the staff. Brett and sheila, you are amazing. You not only have a natural born ability to make guests feel instantly comfortable, but your son Taylor is a reflection of your hard working, down to earth, generous spirit. Breakfast was phenomenal. Loved the afternoon cookies and flavored waters. This B&B has surpassed all those that have come before, and should be the standard for those that come after. Just amazing.

Room Tip: Loved the bay front suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank de c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for such a wonderful review that literally took my breadth away - as it so elegantly described the execution and corresponding elements of our vision to create a superior lodging product and guest experience at the Black Dolphin Inn. To me, striving to be a 5 star property is more about a mindset rather than adhering to a certain standard - and it is through or genuine and personal engagement with our guests and our ability to creatively respond to their needs that has positioned our ownership group to take the Black Dolphin Inn to the next level. I was so pleased with your generous comments regarding the physical attributes of our award-winning boutique inn, but more importantly - I was extremely touched by your kind words regarding our entire team who work endlessly to exceed the expectations of our guests. Your review was just amazing and we can't wait for your to return to the Black Dolphin in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a beautiful B&B. From the time we pulled up to the front of the home we could tell it was going to be a pleasant experience. The main entrance was breathtaking. Everyone at the B&B was very nice. We enjoyed getting to know the owners and their family. Our room was very clean and the décor was very tranquil. Breakfast was fantastic each morning. It was nice to end the night with a couple beverages at the bar. Make sure you go out on the private dock to watch the boats and dolphins or do a little fishing. The B&B is close by the historical district and just a short ride over to the beach. We will definitely be back so we can stay in another room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottScribner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for making our award-winning bed and breakfast your lodging product of choice during your recent visit to New Smyrna Beach. I very much appreciated your insightful reference to our "breathtaking" entrance and sense of arrival that created such a favorable first impression of our boutique inn. I am also grateful for your positive remarks regarding the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of our guest rooms, and the fantastic breakfast that you were served each morning. I firmly believe that the Black Dolphin Inn has evolved into a place to discover, rather than just a place to stay - and your thoughtful comments were a further validation of this. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we thank you for your acknowledgment that you will definitely be back for a return visit to the Black Dolphin Inn.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We simply loved the property! Owners and staff made us feel absolutely at home. The property is ideally located in front of the river, close to the beach and restaurants. It is exquisitely appointed with Art Deco pieces and the property well maintained. The breakfast selections, prepared by the house chef, are exceptional. This is a gem and we will definitely go back. Thank you to Brett and Shirley!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your recent visit to our award-winning boutique inn. We very much enjoyed being the beneficiary of your wonderful review and appreciated your generous remarks regarding our location, exquisitely appointed units, and the exceptional breakfast that was prepared by Chef Joe each morning. I am so pleased that our staff made you feel absolutely at home and we can't wait for you to come back soon and often.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Going to the Black Dolphin Inn was one of the greatest vacations I have taken. The place left me speechless. Beautiful location, gorgeous design and excellent accommodations. Behind it all is one adorable family. I cannot wait to go back. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We thank you so much for sharing the love, love, love - at our award-winning boutique inn. As hoteliers, we recognize how precious our guest's time is and we know that they do not want to waste it on a so-so stay. It pleases us immensely to know that we helped build a wonderful memory of your recent visit to New Smyrna Beach and that you enjoyed one of your best vacations ever at the Black Dolphin Inn. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to having you return in the very near future.

Brett P. Smith
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Every now and again you discover a real gem as a traveler. The Black Dolphin is one of those. It combines classy and homey in one special place. Who ever come up with the interior and exterior designs has a special talent. The remodeled architecture is also amazing. We stayed in a lovely room. The setting along the river is beautiful and the resident dolphins showed up as we relaxed on the dock. Breakfast was yummy. Big recommendation!

Room Tip: Rooms at front have balcony with great views. Rooms at back are quiet and near a lovely courtyard. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cegdoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Each morning of every day, I look forward to the receipt of our TripAdvisor reviews and I can't thank you enough for your fabulous overview of your recent stay with us. I believe as you do, that the Black Dolphin Inn is an undiscovered gem and I very much enjoyed your insightful comments regarding our amazing architecture and interior design which contributes to the classy - yet down home feel of the Black Dolphin Inn. I also appreciated your generous remarks with respect to our lovely accommodations and "yummy" breakfast - not to mention a nod to our dolphin residents that makes our inn such a magical place. Thank you for the "big" recommendation and we hope that you will return to the Black Dolphin Inn the next time you plan to visit New Smyrna Beach.

Brett P. Smith, CHA
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#2 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#5 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Property: Black Dolphin Inn
Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing