We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sports Bar and Average Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merk's Bar & Grill

Merk's Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar and Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Best food in town? That's a bit of a stretch. Been twice now and left both times saying I could have had a better dinner somewhere else. The menu advises their wings are Jumbo, another bit of a stretch. Jumbo they are not and just average. The Pierogies were overdone and I can only assume by the taste they were frozen not made in house? There are a lot of very good bar and grills in NSB so I will think twice before going back. Now the atmosphere was good and people seemed to be having a good time. Really good selection of beers and drinks were also good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeB4281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    78
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Merk's is a local watering hole where you are welcomed and treated well. The drinks are reasonable, the food is delicious, and the waiters remember your name and what you drink. A great place to unwind!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HollyRose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to hang with the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Merk's has been in New Smyrna Beach for a few decades. Very popular place for the locals with great bartenders and servers. Huge selection of craft beers and taps, moderately priced menu with many great choices from seafood to burgers. Best place to watch NFL football games on Sundays, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeGlobalLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar with Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is just your average sports bar that happens to have ok to very good food. If you happen to like ahi tuna and want the ahi over cooked, this works if you get the ahi Cajun bites. I asked about it before ordering (vs. ordering the regular ahi) and then asked that it be prepared very rare since bites might come out too well done and they came out too well done. I kind of expected that so it was ok but I wouldn't recommend ordering it. My husband had the Po Boy and it was HUGE and he said it was very good however overall the whole experience was just average. We will still try this place again but we won't have expectations of a 4 or 5 star experience. Do not, though, expect to sit outside unless you smoke. Every table had at least one ashtray and they were not at all clean. It would have been nice to sit outside however inside at this place is a better choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Virginia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome bar and grill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We went here with family and had a great time and some great food. I had the po boy, which was the best and biggest one ever! We all shared some of their Frankenstein wings, which were so good that we bought two bottles of sauce. Others had burgers and the grande burrito and loved them. They had tons of options for beer....I had Shipyard Black IPA and it was great. This place has a great atmosphere and great service. We even met one of the owners, who was a wonderful, friendly Scottish fellow.....thanks for such a great time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WVhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Merk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing