We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy, but good food”
Review of The Garlic

The Garlic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We invite you to enjoy an authentic taste of the Tuscan countryside. Walk down a vine covered arbor, surrounded by a walled Olde World fireplace and enter a garden lush with lit trees and flowering greenery. The garlic offers one of the most beautiful settings for a delightful and memorable dining experience. We offer great food, live music, fine wine, Italian beer, and perfect martinis. Come experience the garlic for yourself.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“noisy, but good food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was complete chaos trying to put our name in for dinner. We almost left, but glad we waited. Food was very good, waiter was great. The noise level was deafening. There seemed to be another attached area where it was quieter, but was not offered to us as a seating area. Would go again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 299jerryg299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    415
    174
    94
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port orange
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Never enough Garlic”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice ambiance with the trees and lighting. Food very good, and portions large. Appetizer's are excellent, especially baby lamb chops. Go and Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I have visited the Garlic many times and to be fair in this review if your looking for inexpensive look elsewhere. The food is simply amazing but not cheap, an example would be the 32 oz bone in Ribeye. Its 45 dollars but when it shows up at your table you totally forget the price. The Atmosphere is very unique it has a Mediterranean outside setting you might find in Europe or you can eat inside.Service most of the time is flawless out of a hundred times I had two bad experiences and one of those times the manager gave us a fifty dollar gift certificate. It by far is the best place to eat in Southeast Volusia County. Ill gladly pay 90-100 dollars for two people to enjoy this food. Make sure you use the valet parking its free and speeds things up. Hope this helps

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemsonrules2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great atmosphere a bit pricey but large portions ,the wife & I sometimes split meals. Have a 32oz. steak everybody raves about, but too big for us,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Garlic breath for days”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I love the way The Garlic looks on the inside. It is charming and the lighting is nice with colorful plates and statuettes throughout. The food is good and plenty. I have had or others in my group have had the chicken marsala, shrimp and scallop scampi, sea bass, chicken alfredo, and veal piccata. All the dishes were tasty and presented nicely. It is not cheap. The cons are that it is crowded. You will wait for a table most anytime you go. The wait staff runs hot or cold and service can just take forever. The place has a reputation of high employee turnover so maybe they are just shorthanded or training newbees at any given time. The place is loud. And with the live music, it is even louder.
There is a ladies night with dinners are half price BUT that is only if the lady is sitting at the bar. The tables in the bar area don't count.
I think of The Garlic as a special event restaurant. It is not a place I would eat at frequently because it is just too expensive. The Manager is moody and can be wonderful or obnoxious. So lets hope when you go, all the stars align and your meal and service combine to make a wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank josie5689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garlic also viewed

 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to The Garlic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing