We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic New England Seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston's Fish House

Boston's Fish House
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve only the highest quality and freshest seafood with fabulous service. Whether you are looking for a New England favorite seafood like Ipswich clam bellies or grilled Salmon, we're the place for the best seafood in New Smyrna Beach.
The Villages
Level Contributor
161 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Authentic New England Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have been in the south 17 years new, but just 9 weeks in Florida. We have not had ANY fish that would remind us of New England until today. We traveled almost 2 hours to see if this restaurant had "real" fried clams. They did and they were OUTSTANDING. The other fist we saw served to other customers looked great also. We will go back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    138
    86
    55
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great for Sit Down Dining...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Boston's offers a nice selection of fresh seafood provided you are a patron early in the day. Because it is fresh; when they sell out; well you will have to wait until the next fishing boat returns with the " catch of the day". Boston's is nestled inside of a beach-side community where there is a large local crowd on the weekends to enjoy a little sun and sea. Boston's dining is indoor and sit down dining so if you want to enjoy a fresh seafood dining experience; plan your day accordingly and keep in mind that in the late afternoons they can run out of your choice favorites....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brrliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are from Boston and Ipswich (where their clams are supposed to come from). We make the journey from Ocala to New Smyrna 4-5 times a year for their once great Ipswich, whole belly clams, and shrimp. Up until now, the trip was really worth it and we have referred many people there. Something has happened and we will never return. We know what whole belly Ipswich clams look like and taste like, and these were not the real thing, despite being told by the waitstaff that they were truly from Ipswich. However, they were terrible. They were mostly clam strips (we ordered "whole belly", rubbery and had no taste. The shrimp were't much better. In addition, their prices have gone through the roof, for poor quality food. We'll have to wait until we make our yearly trip to Boston to get truly great Ipswich clams.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch-987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Never been to Boston's before, but I was impressed. I like how you order at the counter, then sit, and they serve you. It makes it easy when you have little kids, because then you don't have to wait for the waitress, and you don't have to wait for the bill... I liked that.
The food was very good. I had a fish sandwich, kids had mac & cheese - and everything was consistently good. I'll be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kariking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best Ipswich clams outside of New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

shared a captains platter with Haddock, shrimp, scallops and clams and a separate order of the clams. WOW! great meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank treebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston's Fish House also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Boston's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing