We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of deep fried food but not greasy taste!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston's Fish House

Boston's Fish House
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve only the highest quality and freshest seafood with fabulous service. Whether you are looking for a New England favorite seafood like Ipswich clam bellies or grilled Salmon, we're the place for the best seafood in New Smyrna Beach.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lot of deep fried food but not greasy taste!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

All of the plates or the most of them are deep fried. The result is surprising as it does not feel or taste greasy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    138
    86
    55
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great scallop sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We called in for a quick lunch when arrived in New Smyrna. We were a little concerned because the food is all deep fried in batter. However we needn't have worried the batter was light and the food was tasty and plentiful. The sandwiches come without any garnish or lettuce - just fried scallops and a roll with a side - otherwise we might have scored it more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEMMBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food is always excellent, large portions, even having to wait to place our order was well worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank joycieooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just okay really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

If I would sum up the problem here, I would say it's the young people that work here. Our first time here and they expected us to know how it worked. Upon coming in the door, we were ask if we wanted a menu. Huh? Then we had to order first before being seated and pay beforehand. She said that's how they do it in Boston? Hmmm, interesting. They had an attitude with us from the beginning as if they were tired of explaining all this to people. Sorry we had never been there or else we would have known you had to stand in the middle of the floor to look at a menu. The food was okay I guess but getting the food with plastic forks and throw away containers was a little weird. I felt like the prices should have reflected better dinnerware. We sat by the window and all I could notice was the dust, windows that needed to be washed and curtains that were stained. Sorry, I guess it was worse the more I thought about it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Touristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinsville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish Very Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We ordered what we thought was small. My wife ordered the Cod sandwich and I ordered the Haddock sandwich. Service was a little slow but it was a busy Sunday night before Easter. I must say that was the best piece of fish that I have eaten on New Smyrna Beach and the fries were also great. The meal would have been great, except for the drunk at the next table who very noticeable; after I said something to the manager they handled the situation with the utmost dignity and poise. I would give them a 10 for diffusing an obnoxious patron. Kudos to management, now just get those times down for delivering the meal. We will be back to the best fish on New Smyrna Beach. See you soon.

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston's Fish House also viewed

New Smyrna Beach, FL
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 
New Smyrna Beach, FL
 

Been to Boston's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing