We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed at the Longboard Inn before we went on a cruise. Everything from the rooms, to the breakfast, to the decor was incredible. The staff was friendly and the grounds were beautiful. An incredible place to stay with family, friends, or for a romantic getaway. The rooms are decorated nicely and the grounds are clean. Everything about our experience was wonderful. I have been in the hotel business for years and feel this place has top service, great accomodations, and has a great feel to it. If you are traveling to the area, I would stay there over any place. You will not be dissapointed! I normally stay at 4 to 5 star hotels and this place is a true gem! They go above and beyond here to make your stay a fantastic one!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trosfros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2009

Serendipity springs from the most unexpected sources -- including clogged septic tanks. On a recent trip to Florida, I wound up staying at a B&B when a friend's house in New Smyrna Beach was plagued by major plumbing problems. It turned out to be a surprising and delightful experience for both of us. The Longboard Inn Bed & Breakfast on a quiet side street in the historic district is a totally transformed Old Florida Craftsman Style house with six guest rooms decorated in colors of pure light, sea and sun. (Just go to the website -- [--]-- look at the photos and take the virtual tour to get an idea of the beauty of the place.) Innkeepers Dee and John Green greeted me with a glass of wine and a dash of British wit and charm, and it got nothing but better by the minute. Big, roomy baths with jet tubs, plush beds and robes -- comfort, beauty and more comfort. Next morning, my friend came for breakfast, and what a feast it was -- eggs Benedict, fresh gingerbread, banana bread and scones, big slices of melons, strawberries and grapes, just-squeezed orange juice, cozy-covered pots of tea and a rich blend of coffee just mixed by John. It was a heavenly mixture for the senses that kept us sitting around the table talking with fellow guests, including two families who told us they lived in Central Florida and came to the coast often to spend weekends at the Longboard after discovering it. Oh, how I envy them!
The Greens also do wedding receptions, family reunions and other special events at Rose Villa, a glorious two-story Victorian house just down the street that went from family residence to boarding house to a retreat for Catholic nuns. They call it Nuns and Roses.
[--]

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymac333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

I discovered the Longboard Inn last year when I came down on business and stayed here for 2 weeks. Recently, I came back for a leisure trip. John and Dee have thought of everything and each room is lovingly decorated and maintained. You have everything you need - private entrance, fridge, robes, hair dryer, beach towels, water and soda, wireless access, wine openers, iron, menus, maps and more. And breakfast!! Where do I begin? The breads are wonderful, coffee great and each day a breakfast to spoil you and help start your day.
I stay in a lot of B&Bs and this one is fantastic!!! A block away, their romantic Nuns & Roses is perfect for an event; wedding, birthday party - whatever. I know John & Dee would take care of you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

If you're planning a visit to New Smyrna Beach, you must consider staying at the Longboard Inn B&B. With friendly and informative owners, spotlessly clean rooms, freshly prepared breakfasts, a good location - its a must! We'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This surf themed B&B is perfect for a sleepy little surf town like New Smyrna Beach. I grew up in Smyrna and brought my fiance to show her around town and we chose this Inn as our home base. The rooms were super clean, well decorated and included private entrance. Our host could not have been nicer and the food can only be described in one word...INSANE. We were also happy we could bring our pet without the hassles of extra fees.
Hands down, the best deal in town,take it from a local.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank delliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Don't miss this one!!!

I found the Longboard Inn on line and thought I would give it a try. Everything was fantastic. John and Dee, the owners, really strive to make everyone feel special. This is such a welcome relieve to hotels where you are just one of the many guests and where noone knows you. We stayed in the Sahara Suite. When we arrived John was right there to make us feel at home. A chilled white wine and fruit plate were there for us. The breakfasts were great. Not store bought things, but homemade!! Wonderful breads, scones and the cranberry spread is something you must try.

Our suite was in the Nuns and Roses house which was built in 1897. The place was so clean!!! The big hotels of the world such come and see how they should clean their rooms!!!
Even though we live just 45 minutes away, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanford62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I had wanted to find a place that was off the beaten path and away from the commercialism of Daytona Beach. My husband suggested New Smyrna Beach because of its proximity to the Canaveral National Seashore.

Location: The inn is a fine place to stay if you are not looking for a place that is right on the ocean. The Longboard Inn is not directly on the ocean, but you can get there with about a five-minute drive. The inn is located in the historic district, which in itself is charming.

Hospitality: They are formerly British. The man in charge is John, and he was very friendly and even wanted to give us a "Welcome" drink. We had some drinks in the refrigerator. He gave us some advice as to where we could eat within walking distance. We chose to eat at a seafood pub called Maloney's that was nearby.

Value: He offered us one night for free with a two-night stay.

Decor: Each room is decorated differently. The owners (I suspect) had a hand in handpainting the furniture, which was quaint. The place was pleasant and clean.

The only problem we had with this place was the sound of a train a few times. Other than that, it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
886 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,002 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Orange-Daytona
0.8 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: 312 Washington St, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7070 (Formerly Longboard Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £108 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Inn is a craftsman style bungalow with six private bath guest rooms. We are dedicated to providing a personal, warm, friendly, and comfortable environment that nurtures the spirit and refreshes the mind, while striving to fulfill your expectations of quality to ensure your visit is and experience to remember. Prefect for romantic get away, girls weekend or family reunion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing