We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place on the beach”
Review of Sea Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Smyrna Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Villas
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy place on the beach”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sea villas a quaint spot on the beach, for a quick get away on the weekend. Nice comfy 2 bedroom with kitchen. Great family time steps from the beach. Woke up to gorgeous sunrise. Beverly at front desk was a pleasure to do business with, she met all of our wishes upon arrival, no questions asked.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jscrubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Hill, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Sea Villa condo experience was adequate. We had a great vacation and thoroughly enjoyed our week in New Smyrna, but that was because of family, beach and activities. The accommodations at Sea Villa neither detracted from nor added to the experience. It was average and that was just fine for us.

The condos were clean and stocked well with dishes and cooking utensils. The best thing about the condos was the generous starter kit of soap, dish detergent, toilet paper and paper towels. Our starter kit lasted us the entire week. However, it does not include shampoo, conditioner or anything you would normally expect in a hotel bathroom. Make sure you bring all the toiletries you need! The master bedroom had a sleep number bed, but I think it had a leak as it had to be reinflated every evening.

Despite being located on the beach, there are no beach towels either in the unit or available from the office. Housekeeping services cost extra, although they do exchange bath towels twice during a week stay, so that was very convenient, although you must do it on their schedule!

The beach is an easy walk and very nice in front of the condos. The pool, however, is small and shallow. They also do not allow alcohol in the pool area. That might make sense during spring break, but it strikes me as a very silly and unnecessary rule during family vacation season.

The internet service was slow and spotty from our condo. We ended up using mobile hotspots from our phones if we needed access. This could be a problem if you planned to do some telecommuting. However, to their credit, Sea Villas recognizes this and will let you test it out for free. We got bad reception and did not end up buying the internet service.

Two problems of note:

1. The key cards malfunctioned twice during the visit. Since the office is a half mile from the complex, that was a pain to get the keys reprogrammed.

2. The sliding glass door to the patio did not lock. This was cause for concern as we constantly had to leave electronics and other valuables in the condo with no security.

Room Tip: Try to get upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rspcoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Early January is perfect in New Smyrna Beach. The weather was great, and there were no crowds. The crowds start appearing in late January, we were told.

We did an exchange through RCI. You can go to the website of the resort to see where your unit is located. We would have been in a first floor unit on the far side from the ocean. The resort calls it partial view, but I doubt we would have seen the ocean from inside our unit, and our patio would have been right in the open, not in a private area. We decided to upgrade. This took some work. I called the resort three weeks before our stay, and they said to call RCI because they could check their inventory. RCI had nothing else available, so I e-mailed the resort. Two people responded that I needed to call the resort a few days before check in. Beach view units cost $125 to upgrade and Beach front cost $150 (for the whole week). Tax is an additional 20 percent. When I did call, they had availability for a beach front, but they almost put me on the ground level again, though it would have been the same price. Luckily, we got an upstairs beach front unit, #215. There is only one other upstairs beach front unit, #235. Both units have a great view of the ocean, and we would have been disappointed in another unit. We watched sunrise from our deck almost every morning.

The kitchen is very well stocked, but when the dishwasher is open, there is room for only one person. The supplies for the week were adequate, except we bought another roll of paper towels.

We didn't like the layout. The tiny dining room area is triangular, and there is barely enough room for four chairs. The bedrooms and guest bath are all together in one hallway. Our guests would have liked more privacy. They also found the pullout chair-beds to be hard and difficult to sleep on.

Service was adequate and usually friendly, although my husband was scolded when his key electronic stopped working. That was a bit belittling.

I would say, if you can upgrade to a second floor beach front unit, you can have a great stay. Otherwise, you might prefer another resort.

Room Tip: If you have an RCI exchange and aren't, beachfront, call the week of your stay to upgrade for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We have stayed at Sea Villas for many years and have enjoyed the generous assistants who have always been willing to find rooms when we needed them for additional families or found availability at times other than our scheduled week at reasonable prices. It has easy access to the ocean and a small pool which children love. This is a nice place for families and friends who enjoy the sun, people and a casual, homey place to cook, eat and sleep.
Sea Villas provides a kit of basic items for the kitchen which always makes us feel welcome. We have also found that usually the people who stay there are friendly and even generous. We had a couple switch rooms with us so a member of our party could be on the first floor.
Our place has always been very clean and neat. It's nice to be able to cook. have guests, and enjoy a relaxed week away from our hectic life. We always ask for accommodations there if we are coming to New Smyrna Beach.....It's a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have been going to Sea Villas for more than 15 years. While it is not the most luxurious resort possible, it is very nice. The views are great, the beach is fantastic and the quiet atmosphere is very relaxing. We have been to many resorts and this still remains one of our very favorites!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hobbscows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Well the previous 2 reviews had my wife ready to cancel our reservations!

Not sure where the guys below (Traveler36177 & charliewindsor)stayed, but our room was plenty big enough for our family of 6 (yeah I said six- 3 under 9 and one 13 year old).

We stayed here the 2nd week in June after spending our 1st week on the Gulf side and this place is the best! The beach right out the back door for 24 hour access is outstanding. The office is open normal business hours and the owners are available for any issues. The wi-fi is $11 for the week but ours was free since they did not have change for a $100 in the office they just gave it to us(this is indicative of the attitude they have here) Towell exchange 2 times a week and on site laundry is just down stairs in each building. There are no roads to cross to get to the beach and the beach is pristine with (at least for our trip) waves just right at low tide for the little ones and slightly larger for me and the older ones at high tide. I am sure there are some atractions around here but we just went to the beach and the pool.

The pool is shallow and smallish but just right for the younger ones and a sand free place to sun bathe.

Very clean and a fully functioning stocked kitchen.

The 2 kids beds were fine in the 2nd bed room and there was a sleeper sofa that was in good shape and the master bedroom had a sleepnumber mattress (not our choice of mattress but many people do like them - just not for us) there was also a full bath for the master bedroom which was nice.

All in all a GREAT place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank captainengine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!

They say that these are two bedroom units. The second bedroom has chairs which slide out into the most uncomfortable cot that you have ever been on!

Notice there are no pictures of the pool. That is because it is tiny and about 2 feet deep. You can hear everything that is going on in every unit. One building is across the street from the beach. Balcony / front area is tiny.

When you arrive on Friday, here is what you can expect. Nothing. You can’t check in until 4:00. The office closes at 5:00! Who came up with that one? When we arrived, they have an after hours check in box with a lock on it. It was unlocked and anyone could come up and grab your key card. We called them to let them know that it was unlocked and we could not lock it back up. There response: “So what, not my problem”

We got to our unit. No toilet paper, no papertowels, nothing. Then we noticed a bag on the counter with all of the “stuff” in it. We had to stock our own unit.

Checked the second bedroom. Had the chairs from a torture chamber. My parents were flying down on Sunday to stay and would NOT have been able to sleep or be comfortable on those “beds”. The door to the room could not even open with the chair / bed extended.

We contacted the management. The responsible person would not even get on the phone to talk to us. Told us that it was RCI’s issue, not theirs. Had units in other properties available but would not let us switch without paying full price for them. Had the worst attitude of any resort that I have ever been in.

Internet costs $10 for the week. If you don’t mind tiny rooms, tiny deck, kiddie pool, across the street from the beach, steps, stocking your own unit, non-existent uncomfortable beds and rude, unhelpful management, this is the place for you.

RCI thankfully moved us to another property that was excellent. Discovery Beach Resort in Cocoa Beach!! Go there instead.

Room Tip: There are not best rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveler36177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Villas

Property: Sea Villas
Address: 2201 Hill St, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3325
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in New Smyrna Beach
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Sea Villas Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Sea Villas New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing