We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, clean and affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed July 20-24. We don't have a timeshare here. It is a great place for all. Lots of families. Rooms are clean. Staff are friendly and always working hard. Right on the beach. Games and fun all day by the pool (some cost a little $). We had a 1 bedroom, pull out couch and Murphy bed, full kitchen. The one and only thing that could improve was check in time is 4p, no earlier. But we made it work. Right on the beach. My kids had a blast!! See ya next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lbryan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Islander Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was appauled that there was a manditory 4p check in with no earlier release of rooms even though we were there at 10am. 2pm is a normal check in time. I work more a major hotel chain and we try to accomidate our guests as early as the room is ready. They also make you sign a release that you have a manditory check out of 10am. That gives the guests a total of 13hrs a total of $10.22 an hour to rent this room. I was able to get a day pass and parking tag which was good since we lived out of the trunk for the day. After we got our room, there were notes on things that if we used them (like paper towels) we would have to replace or pay for them. We also had to do all our dishes or would be charged for that as well. There was no shampoo or conditioner supplied in our room. I was told by the front desk that I would have to go to Publix down the street after waiting all day to check in because their 1 an only ice machine was down. I was very unhappy especially having to get up so early to clean in order to check out so they could have 6 hrs to clean for the next guests. Also, they do not make balcony rooms available to paying guests that are not part of a timeshare. I heard guests in the lobby who felt as we did about the 4pm check in. As they released the rooms, there was a lot of people in the lobby waiting around for their turn.

Room Tip: Plan on living out of your suit case if your only going for 24hrs. Plan on getting up early for che...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MrsBeasly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Long ago we bought a timeshare at the Islander. As our boys got older we decided we would travel to different destinations each year, so we sold our timeshare. After one year at Myrtle Beach, SC the boys begged to go back to the Islander! So, now year after year we are "renters" rather than owners at this wonderful resort.

Every year we go, there is something in the lobby, units and/or property that has been updated. The staff is fabulous and the place is very clean. There are activities for all ages that you can get involved with or pass on.

What do the kids love the best about this place? The fabulous ocean just a few steps away and the huge, deep pool is outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BooneVacationCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were in the #3 studio apt., which was supposed to sleep 4. Believe me, it really could only hold 2. There was a very small, cramped "bedroom" with queen bed, dresser, overlooking the ocean. The kitchen area was so small that there was hardly any countertop on which to prepare food. The table was a very small, dropleaf table, that if we had pulled it out to use would have taken up so much space one could not walk around it. There was a pullout sofa instead of a murphy bed. I have Never in my life slept on such a bad bed. It felt like we were sleeping directly on the bars and wires. They brought up a waffle mattress cover to put on it, but that didn't help at all. We had to close it up and my husband slept on the closed sofa, which was hard because it was way too short for him, and I slept in a recliner chair. However, the floor space was so small that once the recliner was opened it was hard for someone to get to the bathroom. We have stayed in other units at The Islander. This one was the smallest I have ever seen. It should be relabelled to sleep 2, not 4. Of course the pool area was still very nice.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep 4, don't get a room with a pull-out sofa. Make sure it has a murphy bed in...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Florence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is an older resort that is very well maintained. The pool area is outstanding. Something for everyone. Staff is very friendly. The reason for not a better rating is, I called several weeks before arrival and stated that my husband is handicapped and walks with a walker and cannot walk very far and requested a room close to an elevator. The desk clerk said we were assigned room 202 and yes there was an elevator. What she didn't say was that room 202 was as far away from the elevator as you could get. When we arrived, I called the front desk and was told that they were fully booked and could not change rooms. As a consequence, my husband spent a lot of our stay in the room. Over 100 +plus rooms and they could not find one room close to an elevator? We are exchange owners from Bluegreen and I guess we are used to staff that is more accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our Six Floor View was amazing, staff was great, things for our Senior Boy's To do.....Thanks to one of the Board of Directors for helping me find this great Room. To Dana, we had a blast, Tom, thanks for the Autograph........ We will see you all Next year,,,,,,Indiana is too Cold.. Thanks for the great Time "Islander Rocks"...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean front for 5 nights, and didn't want to leave. The view was amazing! The pool was clean, and they play volleyball and bingo and have a great Sunday line up with contests for the kids and adults. Ice cream by the pool, tye dye shirts poolside, and they also have an adult only area. Great hotel! Will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamamia12Copley_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
372 reviews
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing