We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Resort”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I am originally from New Smyrna and my husband and two young children (6 and 1) came down to visit my parents. The Islander was reasonably priced, has spacious rooms, amazing location, and a friendly staff. This is a family oriented resort and the pool is bustling during peak times of day but everyone was always polite. You have direct access to the ocean and the resort provides chairs for the beach as well as toys for the children. The staff is friendly but ask questions because they have services (like movies for rent) that I was unaware of until our last night there. They no longer have a restaurant which was disappointing but you are close enough to everything for that not to be too inconvenient. We stayed in a studio and it was truly more like a one bedroom. The bedroom was separated by slatted doors and the living/dining area had a queen pull out sleeper that was very comfortable. We had a full stove, dishwasher, fridge and freezer as well as all the dishes we could need. It is helpful to know that you do not get maid service everyday so it is more of a vacation rental than a hotel but if you need anything like fresh linens or towels all you have to do is ask. You get one cleaning service mid week. I loved our stay and I never wanted to leave. At this point we are considering buying a timeshare week there so we can enjoy it every year. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms do not have a balcony only ocean front rooms do. The rooms on the first floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewSmyrnaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    75
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We just finished our week here at the islander beach resort. It's an old place but well kept up. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was great and right on the beach. Being able to look out over the ovean every day was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylornt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were here only for an overnight to go to a wedding. Overall older, but nice and well equipped property. The beachfront location is perfect. Be sure to note that they strictly adhere to their 4:00 PM check in time. Some draw backs for us: We were in a studio, so room did not have a balcony. The bed was extremely uncomfortable (hard), so I ended up on the pull out couch for the night. Small issue, but they did not offer shampoo, but did have soap. The kitchenette had everything you would need to stay for an extended period of time. No restaurant on site, but a quick drive to several good ones.

Room Tip: I would reserve a room with a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful beach !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslanderGM, General Manager at Islander Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Getting the perfect mattress for all guests is difficult. We'll install everything from pillow toppers to bed boards to new mattress sets make our guests mattress firmness to their liking. Please let us know if you are uncomfortable so we can make adjustments so you can have a good nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Check in was quick. Our room was clean and neat with a picture perfect ocean view. The pool and two hot tubs were cleaned daily. The kids enjoyed playing gaming and making crafts with Eric and Ryan. I even played bingo on a rainy day and won! We were a walk away or a short drive from anything we needed. This was our best family vacation we had in a long time. We even had thing to do on a rainy day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8675309J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we had booked an ocean front room and I must say we were not disappointed with our view! The hotel is a bit dated, but the property is well maintained and is kept very clean and tidy. Our room was about 400 sq. ft. but the way it was laid out is seemed much larger. There were just the two of us, but our room had a queen-size bed and a sofa sleeper that would have accommodated two additional adults. Our room had a full kitchen, a living room with a flat screen TV and a bedroom with another TV. Our view of the ocean was spectacular. If I had one negative to point out it would be the size of the bathroom--but it did serve the purpose and there was plenty of hot water and the shower worked well etc. There was a lovely swimming pool and two hot tubs to choose from and each day there were activities if you wanted to participate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landdwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here for a week mid April 2013. We had exchanged our timeshare to this resort. Initially we were booked into a side unit although this had a partial view. We asked if we could change to an ocean front unit and were very happy that they could do this.
We had a good size 1 bedroom unit with an additional pull down bed in the lounge area. As there was just the two of us, this wasn't used. Nice full size kitchen with dishwasher and a second bathroom off the lounge.
Fabulous views from our east facing balcony, overlooking the pool and beach. Perfect for breakfast in the sun !
The unit was a little tired looking and the sliding door between the master bedroom and lounge would not have given much privacy if another couple were sleeping in the lounge area.
The bedroom had no windows so it was pretty dark in there and the bathroom was typical of a Days Inn with only the toilet and bath area having a door. These were the only negative points however.
Plenty of activities taking place throughout the week, tailored for all ages.
We would return here.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front not ocean view. This should get you one overlooking the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The location on the beach was fabulous, and the beach was nice enough to take a good walk on. The pool area was very spacious and many lounger chairs for people. They also had sitting chairs on the beach for guests to use. They had 2 hot tubs - one for family use and one for adults only. They also had a bean bag toss game and shuffleboard off to the sides on the pool deck.

Flagler Ave was very fun to visit. There were many fun restaurants, boutiques, and shops to visit. Barracuda's off of Flagler near the ocean had excellent food and service. Ask the front desk about the free golf cart taxi. He accepts tips and was very fast and friendly!

This place has an amazing location. It isn't too far from the craziness of Daytona during Speedweeks, but gives you the relaxing part of the vacation. It was in a safe neighborhood. It is an older building, but most places along the ocean in that area are. It was nicely modeled. The kitchen had enough supplies we needed to cook our own meals. The balcony was FABULOUS. We had a great view from the 5th floor of the sunrise every morning. The murphy bed and pull out couch bed were comfortable enough for that style of bed. The only thing we didn't like was the master bedroom did not have a window to view the ocean. Also, the bathrooms were a little small, but again, many of them are in those buildings. It was nice to have the sink and mirror "outside" of the bathroom. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call in advance and request an ocean view room. They were very helpful when we called a week in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing