We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
PT RICHEY, FLA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Help”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I was not happy, the service in this hotel was terrible, there was no ac in the lobby, when check in at 3.00 or 4.00, there is a line of people standing and waiting for service, and no ac in fla. is terrible, only one person trying to help people and she was sweating. Plus we were suppose to have a non smoking room and it was a smoking room. Not nice. I would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    76
    29
    21
    14
See reviews for
92
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2008

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was obviously a converted motel but we lacked nothing. Nice balcony with great view of the beach/ocean. Great location. I rented a bicycle and enjoyed riding to Flagler Ave and on the beach. The beach is not crowded. They drive on the beach here, but it is not annoying like Daytona Beach.
Our air was not working on 2 morings after leaving it off all night (with the door open to hear the ocean). Both days Gary responded within an hour and had it fixed.
The mattress was very hard. They gave us an 'egg-crate' topper to use.
Hot dogs for lunch are only a dollar.

  • Liked — Location, view.
  • Disliked — Small, slow elevators.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We picked the Islander for a change of scenery and something new. We got a beautiful view of the ocean, but unfortunately we also got unwanted roommates, ants and terrible customer service from the front desk team.
The first night we noticed a few ants running around in the Kitchen. My cousin, a native to Florida, informed me that is was normal to have a couple of ants due to the ocean and wet weather. The next morning we woke to a colony of 50 or more ants living in the kitchen. We called the front desk twice to report the problem. They sent a cleaning person up who handed us straws with chemicals to place throughout the kitchen. She informed us that they have ant problems in the end rooms. I was shocked that she didn't come in the room to see the problem and that she just handed us the chemicals. I was also concerned to have the chemicals laying around with my 14 month-old daughter. When we went down to the pool we stopped at the front desk and asked if we could have another room due to the problem. I also explained my concern with the chemical and my 14 month-old daughter. They showed no signs of concern of the ant issue and said in a cold tone that they were booked and would put us on a waiting list. We decided to give it until that night to see what they would do. No one from the Islander followed up with us. The next morning after finding even more ants, we gave up and checked out. Even when they asked why we were checking out and I explained it was due to the ants, they didn't say anything and showed no signs of concern. I was lucky that my husband and I are owners with Diamond Resorts, who quickly got us into a friendlier, cleaner (ant free) and updated resort.
I usually do not complain or write reviews, but the customer service we received (or should say didn't recieve) was terrible and unacceptable by any means. We would have stayed and overlooked the out dated decor if it wasn't for the ants and lack of customer service. For the money, you can stay at a friendlier and cleaner hotel or resort.

  • Liked — The ocean view
  • Disliked — Pests (ants) in our Kitchen area and out dated decor
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Withy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed at the Islander 3/15 - 3/22 and had a wonderful week! The first day I felt like we were on a cruise ship around the pool with the men's hula contest, musical chairs and caribbean music. They have an itinerary of activities most days. The area has very little traffic compared to Daytona Beach. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I really think they love their jobs!. For an older resort, it has been very well maintained, and updated. I would definitely return!!

  • Liked — fun, sun, water, pool, staff
  • Disliked — pool towels (next time I'll bring my own)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dasisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Wife and I stayed at the Islander in mid-March. Since we have never been to this area in Florida, we were somewhat hesitant, but it turned out to be a great time! The islander is a timeshare-condo-type hotel with decent rooms. We stayed at a 1-bedroom unit on the 6th floor with a nice ocean-front view. Overall, the value is very good for the ocean-front room we got.
The unit had a kitchen, a nice bedroom with almost a floor-to-ceiling window, which was great! We left the shades open overnight and woke up every morning looking out and watching the ocean. The balcony came in handy as well, as we bought some breakfast food at a nearby Publix and ate on the balcony.
There is also a queen-sized pull down bed and another queen-sezed sofa-bed in the living room.
The pool is the best item at this resort. It has plenty of room, although it tends to be full of people after 9am, but is great overall. They also provide beach towels, which is great as well. There is a ramp to the beach which is controlled with your room key - very secure! They have activities pretty much every day at the pool, such as water aerobics, voleyball, even $1 hot dogs :)
The area has many decent restaurants, we loved Norwood's, PJ's Sea Shack (the best), Garlic. There are not as many younger people as in Cocoa Beach or Daytona, so it is much quieter and relaxing. Unless there are special events going on, there is not much to do, but this is what we were looking for - a nice place on the beach.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The Cafe was not open all day
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Although the weather was a bit chilly,our stay at the Islander was really great. The entire staff from the front desk to the laundery people were super. The room and facitlities were very clean and the location on the beach spectacular. We were also in very good position to travel to other areas of interest. I hope to return again next year on my RCI week.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank CtAjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I have been going to the Islander for 18 years. Every July we stay for two weeks. The staff is always friendly and ready to greet all who walk in the door. There are always activities for the kids. They usually have a night for teenagers with music, dancing and food. Pool, ping pong and dart competitions are always happening. The rooms are spacious with great views. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony on the fifth floor. For the teenagers, the lobby is always open. It's a great place to hang out with new friends and play games all night. And of course wireless internet is available. The restraunts are pretty good. The Garlic is one of the best. I would recommend you sit outside by one of their outdoor fireplaces or by the piano inside. Another one of my favorites is Norwoods. JB's fish camp is also a great place to eat. Some of the best gator tail around. All in all the Islander is the best beach resort out there. I would recommend it to anybody who is looking to relax and have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowchik404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
360 reviews
10.0 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing