We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING place !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING place !!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

This is an very nice place to stay. Well worth the cost and has a spectacular view. The workers are nice and the room was very clean and neat when we arrived. The pool is nice, and there is a clear wall blocking the wind and sand from blowing into the pool area. There were many activities for all ages, and even a channel on television telling the guests what activities there were. Very nice place to stay for all ages !

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaca93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    76
    29
    21
    14
See reviews for
92
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We began staying at the Islander in 1998 and found it to be acceptable for the cost of stay.
We continued going every year through 2008 and have decided we will not return. It continually got dirtier and shabbier every year. It is now unacceptable for us. Service at the front desk was good, but housekeeping was horrible! And the worst was a woman named Nancy whom sits in the lobby and harrasses the heck out of you to buy a timeshare there.The place has gotten very outdated (even after they have done what they call an update). I feel sorry for the people whom do have timeshares there.They're definately getting robbed! A very outdated, deteriorating older motel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antiquelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed at the Islander the second week of January through an RCI exchange. We were in a one bedroom unit and there were four adults and one child in our group. The unit has a decent sized bedroom and then a murphy bed in the living room and a sofa bed. Thankfully, our friends staying with us are not very demanding, because I would not want to sleep on that murphy bed. We did request a mattress topper that was delivered promptly by Maintenance, but still, it would have been odd to sleep in the living room like that. All of the living room furniture had to be moved around every night to accommodate the bed. Additionally, the bathroom was one of the smallest bathrooms I have ever been in! On the positive side, the ocean view was phenominal...also the sunrise in the morning was just breathtaking. The unit was well equipped for cooking and hanging out. There was a DVD player and a flat screen tv in the bedroom. The staff was very nice and responded to each of our requests.
There were activities posted each day for both kids and adults. The pool was heated and the two spas were quite hot. Our guys went for the Happy Hour and 39 cent oysters a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The pool area has a wind shield and is completely secure from the beach area.
If you have not been to New Smyrna before, you are in for a treat. It is a very quiet, friendly, clean, wonderful area. The beach is wide, spacious, full of shells and great for walking. At the north end of the beach, there are numerous surfers and schools of dolphins to enjoy watching. There are some great casual restaurants and little shops to explore. Our favorite restaurants were Heavenly BBQ and Touch of Italy.
We did agree to attend the Vacation Club presentation because they upped the offer from $75 to $125, but you have to travel to Daytona Beach for the presentation and then they give you a Visa gift card rather than cash, so that was a little irritating. Most of the salespeople looked like they just came out off a used car lot. I wouldn't really recommend attending this and the Vacation Voyage Venture deal was really not a good deal because if you belong to RCI, there is no additional value...plus they insist that you purchase a four week plan.
I would recommend this resort if you don't have very high expectations and are happy with a Holiday Inn type hotel on the beach. We spoke with a lot of fellow visitors and some were there for weeks and months at a time and there were certainly a lot of repeat guests.
If you plan to visit Orlando during you visit, it actually is a 90 minute drive.

  • Liked — The location and the view
  • Disliked — There was not WI-FI internet service You can't connect to the internet unless you go to McDonalds or the library
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank katezooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This timeshare is ok. Clean and well maintained. The only issues are it is far (20-30 miles from Daytona Beach) in an isolated area. Also, the internet. The Wifi was down every day and was not fixed. It was a big negative from me since I like to surf the net while on Holidays and to answer my email. I will definitely not stay there again since there are much nice places in Daytona Beach. Thx.

  • Liked — cleaniness and pool
  • Disliked — internet - no acces
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canada40Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband purchased a time share unit at the Islander about 17 or 18 years ago. We use our week every year! There aren't many time share owners who can say that. But, people who own at the Islander like to go back time and time again. The Islander is really much more of a time share resort than a hotel. When we've been there, a very high percentage of the units are usually owner occupied. Just sit around the hot tub and start talking with people and you'll learn this! I was actually surprised to see it listed as a hotel!

There are newer time share units/all suites hotels in the New Smyrna Beach area that have better floor plans, especially much larger/nicer bathrooms. Newer time shares and hotels usually have much faster elevators, too! The Islander's elevators are ridiculously slow. This is problematic on Fridays and Saturdays (check in/check out days). But the rest of the time it isn't too bad. It's just a minor nuisance.

The Islander has a couple of features that we particularly like. First, from what we've observed, it has one of the largest pools in New Smyrna Beach. It is always clean and sparkly! We love the ocean, but we generally find that the surf is too powerful to do much actual swimming. So, we spend time playing in the surf and then we swim in the pool. Second, almost all of the units at the Islander have balconies that look out over the ocean. You won't get stuck looking out over a parking lot! Third, it doesn't try to be something that it isn't. It is not a place for nightlife or tourism and it really doesn't try to be. It is a place for rest and relaxation at the beach, and it does a great job at providing a beautiful location to do this!

The folks at the front desk, the housekeeping and maintenance staff, and the activities staff have always been friendly and helpful. We have never had any problem that they could not resolve.

If you are looking for entertainment or night life, go to Daytona. If you enjoy being herded through crowded theme parks while the temperature is in the 90s, go to Orlando. If you want a place that is quiet, has some fabulous local restaurants, and a beautiful beach, go to New Smyrna Beach.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PT RICHEY, FLA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I was not happy, the service in this hotel was terrible, there was no ac in the lobby, when check in at 3.00 or 4.00, there is a line of people standing and waiting for service, and no ac in fla. is terrible, only one person trying to help people and she was sweating. Plus we were suppose to have a non smoking room and it was a smoking room. Not nice. I would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2008

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was obviously a converted motel but we lacked nothing. Nice balcony with great view of the beach/ocean. Great location. I rented a bicycle and enjoyed riding to Flagler Ave and on the beach. The beach is not crowded. They drive on the beach here, but it is not annoying like Daytona Beach.
Our air was not working on 2 morings after leaving it off all night (with the door open to hear the ocean). Both days Gary responded within an hour and had it fixed.
The mattress was very hard. They gave us an 'egg-crate' topper to use.
Hot dogs for lunch are only a dollar.

  • Liked — Location, view.
  • Disliked — Small, slow elevators.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#6 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Trillium Suites
Ocean Trillium Suites
#2 of 22 in New Smyrna Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing