We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it so much, we've purchased two weeks of the timeshare!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Ontario
1 review
“Loved it so much, we've purchased two weeks of the timeshare!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

My parents used to bring me to the Islander when I was very young. I loved it then and love it still today! We visit each March with my parents, but have recently purchased 2 of our own weeks. The staff is fantastic, the kid's programs are great, and being able to sign out 'extras' like crock pots, cribs, highchairs, etc. is so convenient! Each year we find neat and exciting places to check out in the nearby area such as the nature drives, sugar mill, acquariums, Fort in St. Augustine, etc. The beach out front is always clean and great for wave diving, etc. We love this area!

Again, if you're looking for a hopping night life...this is not the place for you! Next door is a little tiki hut...but that's pretty much it. For those with kids, this place is fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Druske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    27
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
69
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

As usual, the Islander was great. For those people writing a negative review, all of the negatives have the same theme....Its a BEACH FRONT resort...All Beach Front resorts have sand...sand and salt water mist create paint chips, dirty floors, etc. The Islander does a great job keeping up with these issues. Its just a great great resort. Even the kid in the evenings that cleans up around the pool is friendly. The bed was comfy, the hot tub wonderful, the view is 2nd to none, and the pool is great. We love it and we will continue to go year after year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCATS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

The good news--the view of the ocean from the room is awesome. The staff was friendly.
The bad news--the place itself, especially the bathroom., which you can barely turn around in. It's very old and desperately in need of renovations.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is our 13th vacation to the Islander Beach...we live and work in Chattanooga and love to get away to New Smyrna Beach. There may be newer hotels, but the Islander has the ambience...the view of the ocean, the wonderful staff, the comfortable rooms... We look forward to our trip every year and get excited when we begin to smell the ocean and see "our" home away from home waiting for us. I personally love the water aerobics class that is just one of the many activities available to us during our stay. I have come to know the local members of the class and look forward to seeing them every year...it's like visiting family. My husband and I can not get enough of the ocean and sit on the beach every day, even getting up to watch the sunrise some days....it's just a matter of getting on the elevator, out the door and down to the beach. Well, I'm back to work and starting to plan next year's vacation at the Islander Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boogieboarders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Although this place was nothing like a snootie French Riviera flat, it was comfortable and very family oriented. The location was awsome. The Beach, which is out the back door, was clean and Kid Friendly. If you are looking for a reasonably priced resort that gives you Bang for the Buck, this is where you want to stay. The activities kept my kids busy and the surrounding area has the feel of a quaint small beachside village. After my visit to the resort and this area, I am looking at purchasing in this area.

You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theory50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We have been to the Islander many times since 1982. Then, it wasn't a timeshare, just a hotel.
If your looking for great night life, go elsewhere. If your looking for a beautiful setting, with great views, immaculate rooms, excellent staff and a quiet setting, this is the place for you.
The waterfront rooms have a balacony to sit out on and have your coffee while watching the beauty of the ocean waves. The pool is excellent. Always clean with plenty of room for tanning or just sitting to ejoy the day. Its a short walk or drive to Flagler Ave. which has lots of little shops and places to eat. Near the Islander, there are many fine restaurants with great food and great service.
You have a complete kitchen, with everything you need if you decide to stay in and the bedroom faces a huge window which looks out to the ocean.
I now live not to far from the Islander and have been there many more times, just to get away for a few days. To me, its the best.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

My husband and I bought our timeshare at the Islander Beach Resort about 25 years ago and have swapped out a few times to other resorts, but always came back to the Islander. Our children, now 14 & 19, have been going since they are infants, and can't wait to see the logo on the side of the building as we drive towards the Islander each year. It's what they look forward to each year....a week of fun, sun and relaxation after a busy year of schools, studying and sports. We love the fact that the rooms are always clean and the kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, glasses, pots & pans, blender, toaster, full size stove/refrig/dishwasher, and everything else you could want to prepare simple meals. The front desk and maintenance staff are always courteous and helpful and swift to respond to your requests. This is the perfect place for a family vacation. New Symrna is a small town that boasts a beautiful beach that is NOT packed with people. We lived in Orlando for several years, and New Symrna was the beach we frequented at that time. We usually travel in late July/early August, so it is hot. But we go to Florida for the beach, and although we are within 1.25 hours from the Orlando attractions, our kids had no desire to leave the beach. From time to time we'll go to the intracoastal just over the Dunlawton Beach in South Daytona and rent jetskis for a few hours. You can fish off the main pier in Daytona as well, or even surf fish right on the beach in front of the Islander. For surfers, you can surf in front of the resort, or for the best surfing, head to the north end of New Syrmna. There are many restaurants to choose from in New Symrna as well as nearby Daytona. We find the "down and dirty" restaurants offering fresh steamed seafood to be the best. Next door to the Islander you'll find casual outside dining with live entertainment on the deck on week-ends. A great way to wind down, have a cocktail and light bite at a low cost. Within a half mile are two grocery stores.

The Islander is not a five-star resort.....it is a comfortable place to bring your family...a place where everyone is friendly; a place where your children will make new friends and have a great time, whether swimming, playing in the sand and surf, or participating in one of the events sponsored daily by the resort. A lifeguard is stationed on the beach directly in front of the resort.

We have often thought of selling our timeshare, but our kids forbid us to do so. If you are looking for a place that is hustling and bustling with tourist attractions, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, friendly place to enjoy the sun and beach that is away from the maddening world, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing