We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE the Islander Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
canada
1 review
“I LOVE the Islander Beach Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

We come to the Islander every year, usually in March. There are about 8 different families who all go to the Islander; it is like home. The staff are great, and I would recommend the Islander to anyone!! Check it out!! :o)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    73
    27
    21
    14
See reviews for
91
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

We have stayed at many a Resort or Hotel in the world, and I can clearly state that this is the most run-down, disgusting, seedy and unsafe "resort" I have seen. It is like paying someone to get beaten up. That is why we left after 2 days, even though we had a reservation for seven! The reason why we went there in the first place was that for the period of Dec 26-Jan1 nothing was available in Orlando, or even in all of central Florida in our RCI exchange. What a mistake!

The resort is an old old building (probably of 1950s vintage) of about 8 stories. It has a number of units facing the sea and some not so. After the checkin process, when we went up to our room, the first unpleasent surpise was there (and they keep coming on and on!) The elevator was slow, creaking and small. There was even a satiric poem about the elevator on the walls. Never mind, we thought, let us go up and see our room.

When we got down from the elevator, the whole flor tiles were missing from the floor in the hall on our level. Somehow skipping that we entered our room. It was again a vintage little gem, with wall hanging rotary phones and ovens with dials thrown in for effect. The room was exceptionally small and we had to move the glass dining table towards the wall so that one of us do not bump against it inadvertantly while moving. There a sofabed and a tiny 19 inch TV in the sitting room. The bathroom was so tiny, the door would not open fully. The wash basin area was about as wide as the bathroom: sound ridiculous? But there it was! The "free wi-fi" in every room was not working in our room: and the girl at the check in counter waved that away saying that in some rooms the wi-fi was a little 'iffy". I never could connect from my room.

But our experience was about to start in the night. This 2009-2010 winter season was (and is still) exceptionally cold for Florida. And here was the surprise we found out in our frist night: the Heater does not work! I called the front desk immediately: and were told that there was no one that could help us as the front desk was closed (at 11:10pm). When I went down to the front desk all I found was a security guy patrolling the floor who clearly could not help. He however provided us with 2 blankets (and none too clean) to try and keep warm doring the first night.

Having shivered through the first night, we went out during the day and when we returned with some anxiety whether the heater was fixed or not, we found it was. Well we thought, all will be OK. But surprise surprise, during the second night (at about 12 midnight) the oven light came on and stayed on with the oven running by utself. Of course I called down to the front desk: and you guessed it! The same security guy was there who told me he could not help but promised to pass this info onto maintenence the next day! What I I found was that the oven dial was skewed and hanging by a thread and somehow that was turning the oven on by itself! Talk about shoddy maintenence and slack service.

We had had enough of this place and the next morning we checked out, abandoning our remaining 5 nights there. After all, safety was higher on our priority list and with two safety related incidents in two nights, we were not sure what the next night would bring us.

This resort is a dump, and a h*ll hole at that. Anyone who praises this resort has gotta be like Mother teresa who just wants to give away their hard earned money and who expects nothing. Or that person has to have REALLY LOW expectations. We did not belong in these two categories and we chose to get out.

Do not get into this resort even if they give it to you for free. After all, your safety is more important than getting a few nights on the cheap. And you are going to get a lot of surprises there, all unpleasent, during your stay. Be smart and avoid it all together. Look at the photos to get a look at the world's smallest Bathroom.

I have never before written a negative review like this before, but then, I never encountered a place like this before!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason_M_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

My parents used to bring me to the Islander when I was very young. I loved it then and love it still today! We visit each March with my parents, but have recently purchased 2 of our own weeks. The staff is fantastic, the kid's programs are great, and being able to sign out 'extras' like crock pots, cribs, highchairs, etc. is so convenient! Each year we find neat and exciting places to check out in the nearby area such as the nature drives, sugar mill, acquariums, Fort in St. Augustine, etc. The beach out front is always clean and great for wave diving, etc. We love this area!

Again, if you're looking for a hopping night life...this is not the place for you! Next door is a little tiki hut...but that's pretty much it. For those with kids, this place is fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Druske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

As usual, the Islander was great. For those people writing a negative review, all of the negatives have the same theme....Its a BEACH FRONT resort...All Beach Front resorts have sand...sand and salt water mist create paint chips, dirty floors, etc. The Islander does a great job keeping up with these issues. Its just a great great resort. Even the kid in the evenings that cleans up around the pool is friendly. The bed was comfy, the hot tub wonderful, the view is 2nd to none, and the pool is great. We love it and we will continue to go year after year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKCATS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

The good news--the view of the ocean from the room is awesome. The staff was friendly.
The bad news--the place itself, especially the bathroom., which you can barely turn around in. It's very old and desperately in need of renovations.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is our 13th vacation to the Islander Beach...we live and work in Chattanooga and love to get away to New Smyrna Beach. There may be newer hotels, but the Islander has the ambience...the view of the ocean, the wonderful staff, the comfortable rooms... We look forward to our trip every year and get excited when we begin to smell the ocean and see "our" home away from home waiting for us. I personally love the water aerobics class that is just one of the many activities available to us during our stay. I have come to know the local members of the class and look forward to seeing them every year...it's like visiting family. My husband and I can not get enough of the ocean and sit on the beach every day, even getting up to watch the sunrise some days....it's just a matter of getting on the elevator, out the door and down to the beach. Well, I'm back to work and starting to plan next year's vacation at the Islander Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogieboarders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Although this place was nothing like a snootie French Riviera flat, it was comfortable and very family oriented. The location was awsome. The Beach, which is out the back door, was clean and Kid Friendly. If you are looking for a reasonably priced resort that gives you Bang for the Buck, this is where you want to stay. The activities kept my kids busy and the surrounding area has the feel of a quaint small beachside village. After my visit to the resort and this area, I am looking at purchasing in this area.

You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theory50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edgewater Inn
1.3 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Beach Resort

Property: Islander Beach Resort
Address: 1601 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3199
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Islander Beach New Smyrna
Islander Beach Resort New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing