We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Oceania Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceania Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our family rented 3 units for July 4th. The location is pretty central to all things, and right on the beach. The units are all individually owned. The first unit my sister in law was in smelled of smoke and was kind if run down, and the bathroom lights kept blowing its fuse. The linens were gross. That owner didn't keep it up. They asked to move units and were accommodated. Their new unit was nice. The other two units we got were nice as well. The maids came by each day and took out trash and gave clean towels. There was a game room for kids with a couple video games and pool table. Also a laundry room (bring quarters). There are 3units with little balconies that have a gate right to the pool. We had one and it was great for hanging out and watching kids swim. If you have kids, I recommend requesting one of these units (the room is soundproof when you shut the glass doors). On a side note, New Smyrna Beach allows cars to drive and park on the beach. The tide was so high each day that we had to set up right by the roadway. Too scary with little ones around. The tide didn't go out until 12-1 each day! Not used to that.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

My family has been going to New Smyrna Beach for more than 20 years. We love the area because it is slow paced and not as commercial as neighboring beaches. Oceania Beach Club is a great spot because like New Smyrna, it is simple, fun and affordable. We rent #305 almost every time we go. A few times we stayed is #507. All of the units are privately owned and thus they differ from one another. 305 is our favorite by far.

Room Tip: Unit 305 is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcsfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have just arrived back from new symrna beach. We were on holiday for 2 weeks on a fly drive. Stayed at Daytona and hated it, had a guide book with us and this resort was highly recommended so had a drive down there and loved it. We checked out a couple of hotels on same road and they came out moe expensive - some were charging 200 dollars a night! We were shown around a suite before we booked it (we knew that wouldn't be the suite but we could see the size and quality of rooms). The one we saw initially was of very high spec - the next day when we came to check in we were offered another suite on the fourth floor. It was still good but not of the same standard.

Would go back - one note since we came back and checked the prices on line we realised we paid more than what is stated, (we knocked the price down)!

Anyway loved new symrna beach and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriseyCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Excellant location. Units were OK. Ours was a little more dated than next door. Right on the beach. One high def TV, the one in the bedroom was sort of functional. The beds in our unit were on wheels with thin mattresses. I was a little put out by the all the rules and agreements checking in. The cons were mitigated by the view, the breeze, and the sound of the surf.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This place is directly on the beach. The room we stayed in was nicely furnished. The pool was great and kept clean. We stayed on the 6th floor and had wonderful views of the ocean and a great breeze blew through our condo. The owner left the place well stocked with towels, dishes, beach chairs and even boogie boards. We could easily walk to Flagler Avenue. I would definately go back, only wish I had my grandkids with me. Only cons were the noise, especially weekends, they can get a little wild and loud, and they didn't have coffee made late enough.

Room Tip: We had room 603, and it was very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhubbard100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Location! Location! Location!

Oceania Beach Club is an oceanfront eight-story all-suite (2 bedrooms/ 2 baths/ Kitchen/ Dining/ Living Room) property. All rooms have private balconies and are non-smoking (although smoking is allowed on the balconies and ocean breezes can carry smoke to a neighboring balcony).

Each unit is individually-owned so decor and amenities can vary from unit-to-unit which results in uneven experiences and reviews for this property. There is a desk onsite to handle check-in/check-out & accept maintenance requests. Daily maid service refreshes towels and linens. If you need more towels for your party, just ask them. An envelope is provided to tip maids upon check-out, which encourages their friendly service.

(Note: We stayed in Unit 803 which was comfortably-furnished and well-maintained. Plus: Balcony opens from both the living room and master; ocean surf lulled us to sleep each night. Minus: Master Bath shower is -uh,- cozy. There is a full-size tub & shower in the adjoining guest suite bath).

Day desk is often staffed by friendly on-site manager; afternoon and evening desk staff are NOT management and can accept guest requests (for maintenance etc) but - depending on the nature of the request - may have to obtain permission to act on it.

Maintenance staff is onsite during the day seeing to the property and are friendly and helpful.

The desk closes overnight, leaving a security person to patrol the grounds.

Pool, common-room (Free TV, WI-FI, Computer Access) & Pay Laundry/Game Room/Billiards Table) closes at 10p each night. Pool is monitored by Surveillance Camera at night; sneaking over the fence for a late-night swim is ill-advised. -These steps keep the noise down outside your room after-hours (unless you happen to visit during July 4th or New Year's Eve -- in which case you have a front-row seat for beachside fireworks).

Free Wi-Fi is generally unavailable in individual rooms but is available in the lobby 24/7 & common rooms until 10p.

Savings can often be had by booking directly from an owner (also the best way to insure you receive a specific room # should you wish) however if there is a problem with your room the desk will not be able to move you to an available "run of house" suite (which is the advantage of booking through the property itself). Walk-ins are accepted when rooms are available.

Location is fantastic: Popular "Toni & Jo's" Beachside Bar/Cafe (see reviews on this site) is next door, Flagler Avenue Shops & Clubs are a very short 2-block walk either by beach or along pedestrian-friendly Buenos Aires Ave (vs busy Atlantic Avenue).

The beach is directly accessible from Oceania's pool area and is well-policed (Beach Patrol HQ is adjacent to the property) with lifeguards during the day and beach patrols at night.

Great value for a great location - we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1-6 (eg #101-106) are oceanfront, Rooms ending in 7-8 (eg #207-208) are oceanview (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Beachapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

PROS:
Nice location, nice pool, wifi in lobby, friendly staff, great view of the beach. Close walk to Flagler avenue.
CONS:
We were put up an 8th floor unit for 3 days by a neighbouring timeshare. From the outside it was promissing but once inside we were a bit taken aback. The floor was old stained mexican tile with 1" wide black grout lines that were extremely dirty. We set our daughter on the floor for 10 minutes and her pants were black. There was no broom provided with the room to keep it clean.
The kitchen has cracked tile and the countertop was peeling back. The master bedroom had a poor bed. The master bedroom had vertical blinds that were missing 3 or 4 pieces, which happened to line up with the morning sun so it was difficult to sleep in. There was a fan in the batroom with a filter which needed cleaning so bad it looked like fur. The furnace closert had a louver below that was broken and out little one could reach into.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jschinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#4 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceania Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Beach Club

Address: 421 S Atlantic Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-2607 (Formerly Oceania Suite New Smyrna Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceania Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceania Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Suite New Smyrna Beach Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Oceania Beach Club New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing