We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Riverview Hotel. It is a nice old hotel. The rooms are small but nicely put together. The balcony off the room is great. I found the room itself to be warm and had a hard time sleeping there is no seperate AC unit for each room. The breakfast served the next morning was just okay. The pool area needs some updating with new chairs and maybe a little updating on the landscape. All in all it was a nice stay, I would like to check it out when it is not so hot outside.
The resturant that is attached we went to the bar for a couple early evening cocktails. The bartenders out there were great and the appetizers we received were good.

Room Tip: I would choose a room downstairs poolside, they actually seem a little more private than teh second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently travelled to the area and decided to extend my stay a few extra days to relax prior to heading home. This bed and breakfast, boutique stylehotel fit the bill perfectly. Very charming, quiet, and friendly. The owners have thought of it all. There are cruising bikes available to take a leisurely ride through town and to the beach. There is both a full service spa and restaurant attached. Even though you sit right under the drawbridge the property is tucked away enough that it feels completely private. Walking distance to the quaint downtown New Smyrna area of Flagler Ave where you can find nice dining and ecletic shopping options. You're only 30 minutes give or take from Daytona and an hour from Orlando but you are miles away from the hustle and bustle. This gem is a hidden treasure as is the town of New Smyrna Beach, FL.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NCmommaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I decided on the Riverview as a surprise 40th birthday trip for my wife. OMG it was better than I had ever dreamed it could be. I got a great deal through their Facebook page for two nights and it was just beautiful. It was built in 1885 and it's just flat out breathtaking. The staff will do anything for you and is there 24 hours a day. We went to an Irish pub down Flager Ave. our last night there and the Riverview staff put our leftovers in their private refrigerator for us. They have a bowl of apples in the lobby to grab as many as you would like and they have fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. The continental breakfast delivered to your room is served wherever you'd like promptly at the time you request. We ate on our patio both mornings, and even the pastry or muffin to go with our cereal was served warm. Most of the 1st day (my wife's actual birthday) was spent either in the room or our patio just relaxing and decompressing from the stresses of life. My wife told me the second day that she couldn't imagine anything else I could have done that she would have liked better, that it was a dream come true. There's a good reason this is ranked as the #1 hotel in New Smyrna Beach. We even saw dolphins in the causeway while having dessert at the restaurant next door on her birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgerzfan1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend live only an hour from New Smynra and decided to get away for two days. We decided just to drive up their and find a hotel without reservations. We went into almost 6 hotels on the ocean and each one was over 150.00 a night. It was raining and going to be this way the whole time we were staying there so I told him it was pointless to stay on the water since we weren't going to the beach plus we live in Florida anyways. I decided to go with tripadvisor using my iphone and found the riverview. I called and she said she had rooms within our budget. We got their and it was a great choice. This hotel makes you feel right at home. Our room was very clean and just what we needed. I love have each room has a little outside area to sit and enjoy the view as well. We had breakfast both days outside on our patio which was so nice and relaxing. We stayed in two different rooms too since we had checked out thinking we were going to go home but decided to stay another night. Don't waste your money staying on the ocean. Stay here. It has a resturant and a spa and is in walking distance of all the things to do. We went to a local bar and was able to just walk back to the hotel. It was amazing. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UCFknight2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This old hotel has been loveingly restored and is just beautiful. They have retained as many of the old fixtures as possible and still make your stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The staff is most pleasant and helpful at all times. When you enter your room there will be a bottle of chilled wine with a cork screw and wine glasses. You can place your order for breakfast in your room the next day. Very nice continental breakfast at the time you request. My wife and I ate ours on the veranda over looking the pool which is heated and very well kept. Another thing that is super nice is central air in all the rooms instead of a noisy window or wall unit that doesn't really do the job. Both the room and the bath are super clean with nice products provided for the bath and shower. Also the towels are nice and thick and soft, not the usual thin sand paper items so often provided at most hotels. And to top off this great stay you can have lunch or dinner right next door on the water at The Grill at Riverview. Beautiful resturant with inside dining or out on the fabulous deck with a great view of the Halifax River and the north causeway draw bridge. If you are so inclined, you can finish your stay with a visit to the spa next door for for a massage or other body treatments. Need I say more. Check it out, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Most rooms are comfortable for two and there are larger rooms and a couple of suites also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Riverview is a clean, comfortable and intimate hotel and spa, somewhat reminiscent of old Florida.
When we revisit New Smyrna we'll stay here without question.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everybodylovesitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Riverview Hotel in New Smyrna Beach and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The building is an historic one so don't expect elevators and enormous spaces. What you will find are cozy rooms with very comfortable beds (and amazingly soft sheets!), lovely wrap around porches, breakfast delivered to your room each morning, and incredible service. As an added bonus, the location of the hotel is perfect! It is located on Flagler Avenue which is lined with cute shops and restaurants and is only a short stroll to the beach. Again, if you're looking for modern and sleek...this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a little nostalgia in a historic mansion with nice amenities and great service, then the Riverview might just be the place for you. I know we definitely will return for another visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 313 and it was perfect for us. It's on the quieter side of the hotel overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
876 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#10 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £108 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing