We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service and ambienence great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We love going to the Riverview. The walk to the beach is short and the shops in between the hotel and beach are very quaint. The breakfast is marginal, I bring my own ceral to make up of it. I need energy for the day a the beach :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 12joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We can all agree with what you have mentioned here. The location, shops and beach are a wonderful part of the activities available in close proximity. Regarding the breakfast we are actually working on updating it with many premium options. Thank you again for the suggestions and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely The Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed after a friend recommended the Hotel as a stop on the ICW. It was our anniversary, so we treated ourselves to a hotel room, as we had been living on our boat for a couple of weeks.

The room was cozy and comfortable, with a nice patio next to the path to the restaurant. (Not exactly private, but great for people-watching!) The concealed bedside table was a neat touch.
The staff were helpful. Coffee and cookies were available in the hallway, and the ice machine was a nice touch. Décor was attractive in the rooms and lobby.

The "marina" is just a few docks for the restaurant, though they can accommodate 30-40' boats in one or two lips. No dock staff or services, though there is water and electricity at the dock.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pete4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to see you had a excellent time at the Riverview Hotel and Marina. Often times word of mouth from friend to friend is how many people find out about us. I am happy you enjoyed people watching from your patio, many people find this to be a big plus as far as location. We also have many different rooms with many different characteristics such as view and location. That being said we've got something for everyone. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely The Riveview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have been visiting The Riverview Hotel for ten years. It is a wonderful, relaxing hotel with a great charm. It overlooks the intercoastal waterway and is located on historic Flagler Avenue.
The Spa is a beautiful and well managed. The hotel and spa staffs are great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for being a long time returning guest to our establishment. As so many have done the same for so long. We know how important The Riverview Hotel is to so many people as both a historical land mark and a place great memories have been created. We only hope to continue to create one of a kind experiences for years to come. Hope to see you soon upon your next visit. Sincerely The Riverview Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The B & B has recently been renovated and it is better than ever. Breakfast was healthy and delivered to the room on time. We love the restaurant and spa on property! I left my phone charger in the room but they found it and returned it. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for this wonderful comment. We have really been working hard over the past year to respond to guest comments and opinions to make the already great Riverview Hotel even greater. We are glad you've notice all of our hard work. Sincerely The Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have visited this hotel a few times and wouldn't stay anywhere else! It's more of a bed and breakfast type feel than the chain hotels that anyone can stay in and personally, we enjoy having a vacation that is more unique and personable. We've traveled here as a couple and as a family and every time it has been great. The bed was so comfortable and I even bought a sheet set to take home on our last stay, since we loved them so much. There's the included (free) option for hot coffee, juice, pastries, and fruit delivered to your room in the morning and nothing nicer than enjoying them on your balcony overlooking the pool or the river while you relax. There's always fresh coffee, tea, and chocolate chip cookies in the cozy lobby too. The staff is friendly and goes out of their way to make sure you're enjoying your stay. You are also a beautiful easy walk to great little shops and the beach isn't far away either. I can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms overlooking the pool are a great option. There was a slight price difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrowdControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We glad there isn't enough good things you can say about us. When we see reviews like this, it really means we are doing our job right. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast brought to your room every morning. We are always looking to make improvements on our breakfast, so we will actually be adding to these selections very soon. We are so happy you chose time and time again for both your romantic getaway and your family outing. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit. If there is anything else we can do for you please let us know. Thanks again Sincerely The Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed at the Riverview twice this year and hope to find time to go back again.
Love the different styles in the various rooms! Also enjoyed getting to pick our own room (though the receptionist made great recommendations). Some are very modern and some very Florida - and I love them all!I
Spent hours on the patio watching the boats on the river, the drawbridge, and the people then walked a few steps to like 10 restaurants.
Heard the pool is getting a new deck, which will be nice.
The complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your deck or patio is a highlight. We especially liked the warm sweet rolls.
Great gift shop, great staff, and great place to stay!

Room Tip: Third floor north side is my favorite! Very quiet, and enormous deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you got a chance to stay in the "Flagler Room." This really is a great room, that people have been enjoying for 128 years! I definitely agree that our location is wonderful. With all of New Smyrna Beach has to offer in walking distance, plus free bike rentals for the things out of reach by walking There really isn't any place better. We look forward to seeing you again. If there is anything else you need please let us know.

Sincerely The Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is gorgeous and romantic. The service was amazing. The hotel has a Spa next to available for customer that we had the opportunity to go and the service was outstanding. The staff in the hotel makes sure the customer are satisfied with their service and they do not hesitate to take the extra mile to please the guess. The location of the hotel is great. You can access the beach and excellent restaurants. Love it !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivecartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for these great remarks. We are so glad you had a good time during your stay. We are also very happy you had a chance to try our spa 'The Spa At Riverview". It truly is a world class spa. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit. Sincerely The Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
867 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £114 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing