We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My family and i recently visited the Riverview Hotel. We loved the staff, the rooms were as expected and the experience of New Smyrna was wonderful. I suggest this area as it isn't the "tourist hangouts" that some of the larger cities in Florida are and it is only 90 minutes from Orlando. We watched a rocket take off on the beach while there since cape Canaveral is close-by. Loved the area and the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer a unique lodging experience not found in typical hotels other than Europe. We do take pride in serving the New Smyrna area and its guests since 1885.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are local so we’re very familiar with the hotel. Working with the hotel and restaurant staff (and 25 others), I was able to pull off a surprise birthday party for my wife. We booked the biggest room and largest balcony and after dinner had everyone meet us upstairs. I must admit we tested the noise policy but the staff couldn’t have been nicer and more helpful. It was the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife has always wanted to stay at the Riverview, so she booked us a weekend getaway. We arrived on Saturday evening and was wonderfully greeted by Adrienne, who worked at the front desk. She was sooooo sweet and took phenominal care of us. She was very helpful with any questions and concerns we might of had. The rest of the staff was also very pleasant and attentive to any of our needs. Every morning we were greeted with a continental breakfast that was included and a newspaper. And of course, plenty of hospitality.

For a hotel that was built in the 1800s, it is very well maintained. Most of the rooms appear to be small, but look very comfortable. We stood in room 317 on the 3rd floor and it was great! It over looked the river, although a tree did block some of our view. The entire room was covered with wood paneling and made us feel like we were staying in a beautiful cabin. Our visit there made us feel like we were visiting with family. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank befit4life7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a smaller hotel where you reserve specific, custom rooms. You can see that on their website. Prices correspond to the custom rooms. I reserved a pool side room months in advance for a 3-day romantic getaway with my wife. We didn't realize it at the time but it was Biketoberfest weekend, which is a huge deal in New Smyrna Beach. When we got to the hotel, they tried to put us in a cheaper room facing the allyway. I told them I reserved a more expensive poolside room and had a copy of the reservation and prepayment. They then asked if I was with the Biketoberfest party that had the week-long reservation. When I said "no, what does that have to do with anything?" they then admitted they screwed up and couldn't put us in any poolside rooms.
So worst case, they intentionally ignored our reserved room, selling us out for a week-long deal...OR, best case, they just made a mistake and overlooked our reservation. Given the conversation I had with them, I know what my bet is. In either case, they marred what was supposed to be a great weekend for us.
To their credit (which accounts for the 1-start rating), they offered us a suite and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The suite was terrible - was facing north - noisy traffic on a bridge. Plus, we had to walk though the public lobby and souvenir shop to get to pool. The suite was also on 3rd floor, so we carted luggage up and down 3 flights of stairs (no elevators). There was no dresser or chest of drawers for our clothes. We called it the cave because even with all the lights on, it was just dark. We found ourselves trying to find things to do just to avoid spending time in "the cave".
Would we stay here again? No. The poolside rooms do look to be charming (but unfortunately we wouldn't know), but we don't trust this organization given their rather cavalier approach to honoring reserved rooms and what a promise means.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dtyner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked a Deluxe room through the tripadvisor site, having seen an example of a Deluxe room on the site. The room we were in was NOTHING like the deluxe room shown on tripadvisor, old furnishings, ancient tv, only 1 chair to sit in. I thought surely they had made an error and inquired at the front desk after being able to see into other rooms while they were either open for cleaning or from outside while drapes and French doors were open. It was very disappointing to have booked ahead and not have a gorgeous room. I guess that is what they use for guests who book via tripadvisor/expedia. After my inquiry, the front desk clerk did take $16 off of my account. I would recommend that you look carefully at the hotel website and book through the hotel and get your room preference guaranteed through them, if having a gorgeous room is important to you. I would have rated the value higher if we had the type of room we expected. There should not be such a disparity between rooms of the same category. Some of the standard and economy rooms on hotel website look nicer!
On the up side, the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful, the room we had was ok, very clean, and overlooked the pool, which was gorgeous at night. There is a shared balcony. (Watch out who you might be "sharing" it with as I was sitting out in my area one morning and an older gentleman wearing only a bathrobe came out and was smoking. I scooted back in quickly) There is a continental breakfast consisting of coffee/tea/juice selections and choices of cold cereals/pastry/muffins, which you order the evening before and it is delivered to your room at the time you specify in the morning. This is a nice touch, although we did not partake as we prefer to start the day with protein. They have coffee, apples and cookies replenished throughout the day available in the lobby. The cookies were my husband's favorite part...his commitment to healthy eating has its limits!
There is a spa next door and also a restaurant on the property that is open for lunch and dinner and overlooks the river.
All things considered, our stay was pleasant, in large part because of the staff. We would probably stay again next year, but carefully specify which room we wanted to book.

Room Tip: Deluxe room poolside or suites pool side are probably preferable as they are quieter than those next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Love the hotel! The staff Was wonderful,very clean rooms! We went for our anniversary it was very romantic. Had breakfast delivered to our room (free) also enjoyed the Complimentary bikes! We were able to ride them to and on the beach! Would love to make this hotel our yearly stop :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smalls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a very romantic and relaxing getaway hotel. Great for couples or a girls friend getaway. The hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (not the cheap stuff either!) as this was our first visit. Their amenities are fantastic. We had our continental breakfast delivered to our room with the morning paper. The heated pool area feels like a private oasis. Items in the gift shop were good quality items at very resaonable prices. We felt so pampered and comfortable during our stay. We also had a private ground floor terrace to sit on and watch the river. We hope to return for a romantic getaway in the future. They even provided bed turn down service with mints and thick bathrobes.

Room Tip: Our room was ground level. However, the rooms on teh second floor are larger if you prefer more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#10 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £108 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing