We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Riverview Hotel. We loved the 'intimate' setting that the hotel provided. We were warmly welcomed at the front desk by the wonderful staff and that service continued throughout our stay. The room that we stayed in had a wonderful view of the Intracoastal Waterway. We were expecting a more elaborate 'bed and breakfast' type breakfast with our stay . . . .it is certainly not a deal breaker, and we look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom132435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you found our hotel to your liking. We hope to see you again in the near future. We are confident you will like some exciting changes we have in store. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    87
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
222
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Checked in very late due to an event at the Daytona Speedway running long. Staff was very accommodating and stayed up late for us to arrive. It's a very quiet and historic boutique hotel, kind of B&B-like, only without having to socialize with other guests at a breakfast table! The second floor room was very nicely decorated (I caught a glimpse of an all-red room on my way out with amazing wall coverings and decorations. Wow). My room seemed to represent a turn of the century Victorian decor and furnishings. The bedding was very luxurious, but the two double beds in my room seemed kind of short. The bath and shower supplies were the highest quality. I liked the free breakfast delivered to the room consisting of basic Continental items: Assorted cereals, fruit, hard boiled egg, fruit, juice, milk, and coffee. You can get heartier additions for a nominal charge. Good HD Flat-screen TV. Awesome porches with nice views. What a find.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you found our accommodations to your liking. All of our rooms offer a unique experience only found in fine hotels. We are excited of some upcoming changes we know will meet your approval. Thank you again, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a lot of Pros, location, Staff, parking, close to everything, free bike use, Spa, restaurant right next door, and great mattress. Cons, wood window shutters in room were falling apart terribly - no way to keep them open, Bed frame was loose causing post to hit wall every time you moved in bed, so called free breakfast was a joke - they did offer more at a price, Booked the room with 2 queen beds for 4 people - found out later that they charged more per person for anything over 2 people in a 4 person room. I would stay again but would hope their maint. staff would step up their efforts a lot.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It is thru input such as yours that helps us in our continued improvement to our facility and guest experience. We are looking forward to your return. We are confident you will approve of the changes made. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Though listed in hotels for New Smyrna Beach on Tripadvisor, this is more of a bed & breakfast. The only thing holding it back is the limited continental breakfast, which is more to our liking than a full course breakfast any way. However, they gladly serve the continental breakfast in your room or on the patio as you wish -- a truly nice and intimate touch! The staff is superb and the location terrific. You are in walking distance to all the best that New Smyrna Beach has to offer, but complimentary bicycles are available for your use should you prefer to pedal. The fresh baked cookies alone make this a sweet treat :-) Other added bonuses include an onsite waterfront restaurant and bar, water views, a spa, and this is one of the few stops for the water taxi ferry that will take you across the inlet to Ponce or by water to the mainland side of New Smyrna -- a perfect way to travel. So, once you've arrived at The Riverview Hotel you can simply park your car and relax to the greatest extent possible at this intimate inn. Being a former local, we are quite familiar with offerings in this delightful beachside community. The Riverview Hotel is one place that we will definitely return to when in the area!

Room Tip: Room 302 is a bit noisy being on the ground level near the restaurant and adjacent to the community...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBSonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed many of the amenities we offer. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Riverview Hotel, and had a absolutely wonderful time! The staff was friendly, helpful, made us feel very welcome. The room was wonderful, newly renovated. The bed was really, really comfortable. The bed sheets were so nice, I bought a set to take home! The pool and spa were great as well! The restaurant had great food and atmosphere. The location was great, close to everything in town. I would definitely stay there again. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our hotel and surrounding area to your liking. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are committed to providing a delightful hotel experience for our guests. Thank you again. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana,pa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had just gotten off a cruise ship and needed a place for a one night stay. Our pampering was continued! The room was so luxurious and the staff so nice and helpful. The friendly manager hosted a great wine and cheese reception in the lobby. It was nice to meet some new people. Our only disappointment was the rain. We had looked forward to taking the bikes for a ride. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 247Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to have you as our guests. Despite the rain that weekend, there was a bit of romance to it. You made the best of it and still had a great time. We are happy to have been a part of it. We are excited of the upcoming changes we know you will enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The staff and room was awesome. Everything was perfect. Everything was in walking distance and or take a couple of there bikes and go ride the beach. Can't wait to go back. Restaurant and spa where top notch.

Room Tip: Room 318 is the best. Awesome view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are excited of the upcoming improvements we know you will enjoy. As always, we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
807 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing