We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Riverview Hotel oozes charm, comfort, and friendliness. The original building is over 100 years old, but it is well-maintained. The current owners are re-modeling the rooms and common area to give it a European flavor. Each room has a slightly different décor. The beds are comfortable and a nice breakfast is served in your room at the time you specify the night before.

The hotel has a fabulous location – right along the east side of the Indian River next to the North Coastal drawbridge. It is easy walking or biking distance to the beach, restaurants, art and gift shops, boutiques, live music, coffee shops, bars, and more along Flagler Avenue and the nearby vicinity. All rooms have a balcony. Some look over the river and some over the pool. The pool is like a resort, with comfortable lounge chairs, palm trees and music. Also on the site is the Riverview Grille and the Riverview Spa. We ate lunch at the Grille upon our arrival, which was perfect, and checked out the Spa. We couldn’t take advantage of the amenities there because they had a full schedule, but it looked wonderful. When we go again, we’ll check ahead to reserve a couples massage and soak in the mineral pool.

The staff is over-the-top friendly and helpful. We enjoyed getting to know them as much as visiting with our friends. Our group consisted of six couples and we enjoyed the free wine and cheese happy hour on Friday and Saturday night. We took over the small lobby and it was like a party. Also that weekend there was a wedding at the hotel and everything was festive!

Again, this is an old, charming bed and breakfast, not a sleek new chain hotel. You may not find the conveniences you are used to in the big city. There is free wi-fi, but no coffee makers in the room. You have to go down the hall for free coffee, tea and cookies. A nice breakfast is served in your room, but for us it was most convenient to eat out on the balcony, because there was no table in our room. The breakfast items included were not home-made, but a la carte items are available for an additional cost; we did not try them. We did not see an elevator on-site. We never heard a peep from our neighbors, but the traffic noise from the Causeway on the river side might annoy some. The Causeway draw bridge opens on demand for boaters, so the raising and lowering of the bridge happens frequently. Causeway traffic and drawbridge noise decreased significantly at night and did not bother us. New Smyrna Beach is a beach town. The ambiance is casual – no fine dining here. We were there on a great Sunday sunny beach day and the traffic was incredible! Take advantage of the free loaner bikes from the hotel to get around or even better, just walk.

If you need a place to relax and refresh after enjoying the sun and fun of New Smyrna Beach, we highly recommend you check out The Riverview Hotel!

Room Tip: Water or pool view -- hard to decide! Pool side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for for your kind comments. We are pleased to be able to provide a tradition of over 100 years of hospitality to you and all of our guests. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after the Daytona 500. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate, cozy, and quaint. I wish we could have stayed longer! The town was great too! Location is convenient to restaurants, shops, and beach, especially if you borrow a bike. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maderrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to have had the opportunity to have you as our very special guest. Race visitors have found our hotel and surrounding area to be very much to their liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

While visiting my family in Titusville I wanted to have a special day with my mom. A friend recommended the spa at Riverview. It is a charming hotel and restaurant in the village near boutiques and other quaint shops . We both had a facial which was the best I have ever had.
Afterwards we both looked like years were taken off our faces.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Ronda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to have been a small part of your Mother Daughter day. It is our pleasure to have had you as our guests. A little pampering does us all good. We hope "turn back " the clock for you again ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Riverview Hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at all times. We even were given an insider's walking tour of the history of the surrounding area. Our room was on the bottom floor and we walked out onto a patio that was adjacent to the river. A very nice continental breakfast was served on the patio for us in the morning. The free breakfast was ample for us, but there were also extra items you could elect to purchase if you desired. There was a wine and cheese reception in the late afternoon with a nice selection of wines to choice from. The room we were in was not extremely large, but it was big enough for a couple, the bed was wonderful, the toiletry items were first rate and there was a great television. Another bonus was the use of free beach bikes. We biked from the hotel to the beach and had a great time enjoying all that it had to offer. I cannot comment on the fitness center or spa because I did not have the opportunity to visit them but I can only imagine that they are also top-rate. I love all things historic and I really loved the thought of staying in a building that is nearly 150 years old but with the amenities of today. My husband and I are really looking forward to going back and staying a little longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so happy to have had you as our guests. Our hotel is steeped in tradition, history and service to the New Smyrna Beach area. We are delighted to be able to continue the hospitality associated with our historic inn. Generations of visitors have stayed with us, we are so glad you were part of them. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Riverview Hotel. We loved the 'intimate' setting that the hotel provided. We were warmly welcomed at the front desk by the wonderful staff and that service continued throughout our stay. The room that we stayed in had a wonderful view of the Intracoastal Waterway. We were expecting a more elaborate 'bed and breakfast' type breakfast with our stay . . . .it is certainly not a deal breaker, and we look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom132435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you found our hotel to your liking. We hope to see you again in the near future. We are confident you will like some exciting changes we have in store. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Checked in very late due to an event at the Daytona Speedway running long. Staff was very accommodating and stayed up late for us to arrive. It's a very quiet and historic boutique hotel, kind of B&B-like, only without having to socialize with other guests at a breakfast table! The second floor room was very nicely decorated (I caught a glimpse of an all-red room on my way out with amazing wall coverings and decorations. Wow). My room seemed to represent a turn of the century Victorian decor and furnishings. The bedding was very luxurious, but the two double beds in my room seemed kind of short. The bath and shower supplies were the highest quality. I liked the free breakfast delivered to the room consisting of basic Continental items: Assorted cereals, fruit, hard boiled egg, fruit, juice, milk, and coffee. You can get heartier additions for a nominal charge. Good HD Flat-screen TV. Awesome porches with nice views. What a find.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you found our accommodations to your liking. All of our rooms offer a unique experience only found in fine hotels. We are excited of some upcoming changes we know will meet your approval. Thank you again, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a lot of Pros, location, Staff, parking, close to everything, free bike use, Spa, restaurant right next door, and great mattress. Cons, wood window shutters in room were falling apart terribly - no way to keep them open, Bed frame was loose causing post to hit wall every time you moved in bed, so called free breakfast was a joke - they did offer more at a price, Booked the room with 2 queen beds for 4 people - found out later that they charged more per person for anything over 2 people in a 4 person room. I would stay again but would hope their maint. staff would step up their efforts a lot.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review. It is thru input such as yours that helps us in our continued improvement to our facility and guest experience. We are looking forward to your return. We are confident you will approve of the changes made. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Smyrna Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
914 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
241 reviews
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Port Orange-Daytona, FL
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#9 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £108 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing