We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING ROMANTIC GETAWAY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING ROMANTIC GETAWAY!!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I decided it was time to for a romantic getaway, so we chose The Riverview Hotel because of its great reviews. Our stay was amazing. The room had amazing views with our own private balcony. The staff was amazing; everyone was so nice. To top it off we loved the complimentary breakfast that was brought to our room every morning. We will definitely be back!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Briana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    87
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
220
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used The Riverview Hotel as our base during a four day long boy’s weekend trip. Our trip and the Riverview Hotel exceeded all our expectations. It was historic, but updated with modern amenities including a large screen television. The staff was courteous, accommodating and professional. The location was perfect for a short walk to the beach or just on the edge of the nightly entertainment. The area felt very safe to walk late at night to hear music from the many open door bands playing along Flagler Avenue. The pool was the best, heated just right to enjoy evening swims after a long day of playing hard. The beds were super comfy along with two types of pillows. I would recommend this hotel over any chain brand and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Riverview Hotel is a gem. Tucked away in historic New Smyrna Beach, this small boutique hotel exexemlifies the old south. New owners have upgraded the small but lovely rooms with outstanding bedding and large flat screen TVs. Guests are treated like royalty. The pool is lovely and always uncrowded. This is not a place for the raucous vacationer, but it's an oasis of tranquity overlooking the River. The Grille excellent, as is the Spa. Wonderful place and my favorite stop in Florida.

Room Tip: poolside rooms have sitting areas and offer direct access to the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodyreynolds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was in town for a friend's wedding reception. They were going back and forth between two hotels and ended up deciding on another hotel located downtown. I did not get this last memo and booked my room at The Riverview Hotel. What a WONDERFUL mistake! A charming lobby, very friendly staff, down bedding, yummy chocolate on bed and elegant peace and quiet. I appreciated breakfast delivered to the room (might recommend serving larger muffins or noting on the menu their small size. Regardless, tea in bed was just what I needed before I headed off to the reception. I appreciated the use of the beautiful large Mac in the lobby. The rest of the wedding party was up all night as the biker convention partied below them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous time. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Richard the general manager, Dana, and Adrianne were great. The beds are super comfy and the room was spacious for an older historic hotel. My husband loved the flat screen...it was the elite 8 :). We did the spa and hotel package and the spa was great as well. Overall we will be staying again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to have you as our guests. I will be sure to extend your thoughts to Adrienne and Dana. We are happy you too are part of the history of wonderful guests that have visited our historic inn. Thank you. Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
208 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for Bike Week 2014 and it was a beautiful little town away from the hubbub of the Daytona mob. Beautifully decorated and the mattresses were top notch. Great service from the staff and the setting on the river was great!

Room Tip: There are 2 or 3 large suites with significant sized rooms and nice porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. This past Bike Week was a great event combined with great weather. We are happy to hear you made it back to Carolina safely and hopefully ahead of the weather as you had planned. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you for future bike events. We wish you great riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived and were immediately greeted by hotel staff that were friendly and very helpful. We had ordered the Date Night Package which included wine (on arrival), a room and a $50 gift card to the Grille at Riverview (excellent food!). Our room was beautiful and very clean. My wife couldn't get over the lovely decor, the high quality soaps in the bathroom, and our own balcony. As we settled in, the staff told us they were offering a free wine tasting in the lobby and we were welcome to join them. The general manager, Richard Pazmino, was our host and regaled us with stories of the hotel's history and seemed sincerely interested in having a conversation with us. We sat in the lobby for a while which had a complimentary snack bar with coffee, cookies and fresh fruit. We also looked around the quaint gift shop, then were off to the shopping district which shares the strip of Flagler Ave that dead-ends into the New Smryna Beach. There were more than enough dining and shopping options just on that street to occupy an afternoon. We returned that evening and ate at the Grille at Riverview which was outstanding! The night was ended by a walk to the beach and drinks on our balcony. With such comfortable beds it was no problem getting to sleep. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast delivered to our room and a leisurely check out. All in all, we were highly impressed with the friendly and outgoing staff, the charming hotel and it's rich history. After such a wonderful experience, we will make it a point to stay there each visit to Florida.

The Spaun Family
Fort Worth, TX

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was our extreme pleasure to have you as our guests and delighted you too were a part of over 100 years of hospitality in this same building. We are happy that you enjoy the type of unique hotel experience we provide. On behalf of the entire staff, we wish you all the best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing