We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Trip To paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Second Trip To paradise”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Years ago we stumbled upon the Riverview Hotel in New Smyrna Beach, FL. We were in the area again and remembering the Riverside’s Charm and the warmth and helpfulness of the staff of the staff, we went back again. Additionally, the restaurant , "The Riverview Grill” is on a par with the best. We can’t say enough good things about the Riverview and as an aside, there have been upgrades since its birth in 1885.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    87
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
221
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are planning a vacation in New Smyrna Beach you will find that the Riverview Hotel mixes comfort with convenience. Our room was comfortable and clean, decorated in an old fashioned cozy style. The staff was very friendly. Amenities like the free morning paper and free Wi-Fi, and the Friday and Saturday wine and cheese get together for guests were nice extras. The location is excellent, with a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance on Flagler Avenue. The next door Riverview Grill had excellent food and a nice view of the intercoastal. The beach is also just a short distance at the other end of Flagler.

With no elevator and no one to help, getting a heavy suitcase up to the second floor was a bit of a problem. Also, the slats of the shutters in our room did not stay open well.

Room Tip: We found the rooms facing the pool to be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A great location, close to intercostal, beach and bars etc. Nicely decorated rooms and cool pool area. Bikes for rent are great for beach cruising.
The biggest problem is the horrible piped music by the pool...makes it unable to rest on balcony or by the pool. Note to owners: "people now have headphones and access to their own music"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever been on. The rooms were a little small, but beautifully decorated, clean and cosy. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were bikes you could ride for free if you wished to visit Flager Ave shops and restauants. We could see the river from our room, or go out on the porch and sit on a rocker and read the paper if you wanted to. The breakfast was good and the coffee delicious. They had free snacks in the lobby also if you wanted one. We did not go to the restauant or spa because we did not have time. I loved this place and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the standard or above rooms. Better views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Linda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I were on a family vacation in Daytona and decided to sneak away for a night. This was the perfect place! We enjoyed the pool deck which was a true oasis. The room was well appointed and even though the lobby was undergoing a facelift there was no noise or interruption to our stay - and I can't wait to see the final product! The location was great for walking around the shops and restaurants. I enjoyed a pedicure at the Spa while my husband hung out at happy hour at Riverview. My only regret is not going to the Spa earlier to take advantage of the amazing pools! This was a true getaway and we can't wait to sneak away again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The rooms are nice but the carpet is absolutely filthy....as noted in the title the walls are a little thin so you can expect those adjacent to your room to hear your goings on and vice versa. Overall the staff are very accommodating and super friendly doing little extras like laundering a shirt, or letting you use bikes etc to get around. I have been to many B&Bs and the breakfast they offer is disappointing, after the first breakfast i did not order it anymore, because I can go to 7/11 and get the same quality of items served here. I guess I just have a higher expectations than the others who have provided reviews....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ssaxondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I travel a lot and we were very impressed with The Riverview Hotel. In the days leading up to our stay, Judy from the hotel called to confirm and to see if there was anything they could do to make our stay more pleasurable. I have yet to stay at another hotel that calls for future guest request. The hotel was extremely clean and cute, as you would expect from a B&B. The staff was very nice and would do anything for you. Parking and WI-FI is free. You can't beat the location with great restaurants, bars, and beach access within walking distance. I would never stay anywhere else in New Smyrna Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great. They would be happy to help you select one if you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithMatt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfast
Inn On The Avenue Bed & Breakfas...
#1 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Property: The Riverview Hotel
Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing