We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love this romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Petersburg, FL
18
Reviewed 25 April 2006

My husband and I found the Riverview Hotel 9 years ago and loved it so much we made it our anniversary trip every year for 3 years until I had our first child. Recently, we decided our second child was finally old enough to leave with family so, we decided to go back to our favorite hideaway. I was so nervous that it had changed, and it had... for the better. The rooms are so nice. Small but totally comfortable. The expanded breakfast is light and healthy. If you go and you want to have any services at the adjacent Spa, book early. Our only dissappointment is that we tried to book a massage 3 weeks before our trip and there were no openings. We got put on a waiting list, but because of their strict cancellation policy (the spa only not the hotel) there were no openings. The grounds, room, pool and lobby were white glove clean and the staff was very friendly. The Riverview Grill is right next door, but I would save the money and try the 10 beers on draft at the Flagler Tavern down the street. Very laid back community. One bad: Bring earplugs. Because of the river, there is a drawbridge with a bell that sometimes goes off in the middle of the night. Other than that grab your honey and relax!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2006

I can't say anything bad about this hotel. The service was excellent. We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool which was lovely. Rooms are a bit small but then we had two double beds in the room and most old properties can't accomodate that.Would I return again - sadly no. New Smyrna beach was a huge diasppointment and we spent most of our time at Daytona.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cam405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2006

We had a great time at the Riverview, it's a short walk to many shops and wonderful places to eat. Beach is about 5 blocks away. We spent time riding their bikes all over the area and watching the boats pass by. The hotel was very clean and staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mensing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2006

We stayed at the Riverview for 3 nights and loved it!
Our room was clean and nicely decorated. We were in the last room on the end of the main floor, just off the pool. This room was actually quite nice, and even though the booking staff made comment that it might be noisy with the back door right near the room, we didn't have any complaints. The turndown service and breakfast delivered to our room was a very nice touch. Staff at the front desk was, for the most part, very friendly but our check in person could have had alittle more personality. A little more variety of breakfast choices would have been welcome - the last morning we were becoming alittle bored with the menu but this is not a complaint - just a suggestion. Would highly recommend this place and would definately consider a return trip to New Smyrna.

8  Thank cachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2004

Don`t even bother reading this report, just pick up the phone and book!!, a must for those who enjoy olde worlde charm and hospitality so often lost in the larger chains, this family run hotel is like something from a movie set lovingly restored to original no MDF or plastic to be found. Four poster and half tester beds breakfast of your choice delivered to your room whenever you want it complete with morning paper. Cosy robes and turn down service with chocolates on your pillow unlimited tea coffee and fresh water with a selection of cookies . There is a good gift shop on the ground floor with a superb selection of unusual items. The restaurant is excellent you can dine and watch the dolphins play. the beach is a stones throw away and there is a good selection of shops on your doorstep.

22  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2004

My wonderful wife discovered this place online and surprised me with a visit to this nice little town just south of Daytona. We came to escape the Kentucky Derby crowd (note our hometown). This is a bed and breakfast that really prides itself on taking care of its guests. We had every expectation met and exceeded by every single thing we encountered. The breakfast each morning was included in our room cost. Which also came with complimentary robes and complimentary local paper. They come and turn down the bed for you in the evening. Bicycles were available to take a nice little ride to the beach, even though the beach was within walking distance. Flagler Avenue is also filled with restaurants, bars and little gift shops and surf shops that were of interest. The adjoining spa and restaurant were excellent and we were very glad we decided to try both. The spa offers a reasonably priced couple's retreat with full massage and honey and milk bath. As well as a trip to their outdoor mineral bath (waterfall included!) The weather was so-so but we still managed to come home with great sunburns, I mean tans, and have booked our room for next Derby. This place is only 20 minutes from Daytona and about 45 minutes to Orlando, so for families as well as couples without children (that's us), this is a great place seemingly undiscovered by people who live outside of Florida.

13  Thank Louisvilletraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisville, KY
211
Reviewed 4 May 2004

The Riverview is totally charming and absolutely perfect for a laid-back weekend away! My husband and I were able to check in as soon as we arrived and had a lovely lunch on the restaurant deck overlooking the water. Both dishes recommended by our friendly server were delicious. The secluded, heated pool is surrounded by lush foliage and beautiful flowers- Very romantic! Every member of the staff is gracious and attentive. They supplied free bikes and towels making for a very pleasant bike ride along the beach. We loved the live jazz on Sunday night at Kelsey's. The Macadamia-Crusted grouper was divine! The spa next door is a treat in itself- we melted after our couples retreat (with chocolate covered strawberries!) Other plusses: nightly turn down service, fresh coffee & water available 24/7, adorable arts & crafts gift shop to browse.
To sum up, the Riverview was everything I had hoped it would be and much, much more. It could have rained the entire time and we wouldn't have minded! We decided the first night we'd rebook, and we already have. Highly recommended!!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#7 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nocturne Motel
#9 of 14 in New Smyrna Beach
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Hotel

Address: 103 Flagler Ave, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: £108 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Riverview Hotel. Enjoy a unique historic experience for both romantic getaways and family vacations alike. Established in 1885 the Victorian style Riverview Hotel is a picturesque icon of New Smyrna Beach, Florida. Overlooking the Indian River and lively Flagler Ave., we offer the perfect location for boutique shopping or a day at the beach and a variety of unique bars and restaurants at night. You're visit will include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast brought to your room every morning, mint-chocolates placed on your plush robes at turn down, free Wi-Fi, complimentary bike rentals and access to our tropical pool area. During your stay we invite you to visit our "World Class Spa", The Spa At Riverview, where you can relax and unwind all day. For a romantic meal overlooking the river, delicious food, beautiful sunsets and superb entertainment, there's no place in town better than The Grille At Riverview located adjacent to us.No matter when you visit there's always something fun and exciting to do. One of the trendiest little beach towns in the U.S. through its booming art and surf community, New Smyrna Beach has become a diverse vacation destination hot spot. Both Flagler Ave and Canal Street provide events almost every week for your entertainment. Whether you enjoy wiggling your toes in the sand, boating, fishing, surfing, hiking, kayaking, biking, shopping, dining or just plain relaxing, New Smyrna Beach is the place for your next get-a-way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview New Smyrna Beach
Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach
The Riverview Hotel New Smyrna Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing