We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Riverview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$191
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nocturne Motel(New Smyrna Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Atlantic Plaza(New Smyrna Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Inn(New Smyrna Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
261
92
28
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
92
28
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfasthistoric hotelbreakfast deliveredrestaurant next doorturn down servicenew smyrnafree bikesriver viewmodern amenitiesthe bed was super comfortablelarge flat screen tvno elevatorrooms are smallflagler avenuelobby areaevery morningthe inter coastal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Old Florida hospitality still exists, and theRiverview is where it can be found. The staff goes out of their way to make everything perfect.18 rooms, all decorated differently , in a restored 1885 bridgekeeper's home make for a unique experience. The Riverview Grill on the property has great intercoastal waterway views where dolphins are normally sited.The hotel is a quiet oasis in today's busy ,noisy world .
Thanks to the Riverview Hotel and staff for a memorable 4 -day getaway, we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fins_L_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

This place is fine but there is definitely room for improvements. The rooms are nicely appointed but a hairdryer would have been nice. The room was large and another trash bin within the room would have been helpful. Mattresses are also in need of replacement.

Cleanliness is where they can make the greatest improvements. Bathroom floor and shower had hair. Spider webs on ceiling. Our feet were black from walking around the room because the rug was in desperate need of steam cleaning, and the windows could be washed.

There is a very kitchy (sp?) gift shop in the lobby so there really isn't a central common area for guests to use. So you're either in your room, at the pool or out and about in town.

Parking lot was a little confusing and tight. Painting arrows and telling drivers which way to go would help. The lot is an accident waiting to happen.

But you can't beat the location and the view. For what you pay, it was fine but it could be perfect if they put more thought into it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2travelNus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your feed back. As a guest at the Riverview Hotel you deserve the very best level of service. We are Sorry to here about the issues with the cleanliness, common area, hair dryer and parking lot. However now that we have been under new management for almost a year now, we have taken you review very seriously, and solved all of the issues you have mentioned. We have added hair dryers to all the rooms, improved on our house keeping, made more space for a personal common area for our guest in the lobby and have installed a plethora of new signs to improve the experience for our guest. I'm also very happy to say we have many plans for exceeding your expectations through new renovations over the coming months. We would certainly love to have you back so you can see all the new and exciting things going on at the Riverview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

My husband and I decided to add a few days after working a convention in Orlando and escape to the Riverview. Having the reservation in place back in the Fall made all the pre-convention work bearable (gave me something to look forward to). We did a few days at Disney. Then on Friday drove down to NSB, stayed in our favorite room (the Executive Suite) and had a couples massage scheduled for Saturday. Nothing like spending six hours being pampered at the spa. Having an 80 minute massage (will never go back to 50 minutes), after the massages sitting by the pool or being in the pool. Having lunch by the pool. Listening to the birds. It is very relaxing and all the staff at the spa are great!
This was our fourth trip to the Riverview in the past two years. We love it. It is quaint and very relaxing. Great for a quick getaway weekend. The Riverview staff are great and helpful. Also, two thumbs up for JB Fish Camp and The Garlic. Can't wait to schedule our next trip back in October. We have spent our last two anniveraries at the Riverview. Like I said, we love it!

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank myboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2007

We used to live in New Smyrna and would always put family and friends up at Riverview. In November we returned to town for a visit and decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the Riverview Hotel. In three days time we ended up staying in two rooms (due to room availability). Both rooms were filthy. I never heard or saw a vacuum used at the hotel during the three days... they not only need a to vacuum the rooms the bathrooms need to be steam cleaned. We are now back living in New Smyrna... our guests will be put up somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveler007FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
william h, General Manager at The Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience and certainly are paying extra attention to our house keeping staff because of it. I can personally say that we are now under new management and have only the highest standards for our cleanliness, let alone our level of service. We certain would love to have you back so you can see the new improvements. Feel free to contact us if you have any other concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

We recently stayed at the Riverview and strongly recommend a one or two nite stay. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and opened up to heated/ pool patio area on first floor. Pricey but very good restaurant next door. Two or three blocks from beach but within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews